Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More complete this time around
This - being Madonna's 2nd music video collection doesn't have any noticeable gaps, and is worth buying for the beautiful 'Bad Girl' video.
Bad Girl
Fever
Rain
Secret
Take A Bow
Bedtime Story
Human Nature
Love Don't Live Here Anymore
Frozen
Ray Of Light
Drowned World
The Power Of Goodbye
Nothing Really...
Published on 25 Feb. 2005 by AyJay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realise this product was from Argentina
The DVD was brand new and perfectly packaged but I didn't realise when purchasing it that it was from Argentina! When it finally arrived it will not play because the DVD is in a different region to my player. I would need to buy a South American DVD player and a compatible voltage transformer just to watch it. Wish it had have been clearly stated in the first place,...
Published on 22 April 2013 by Gemma


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More complete this time around, 25 Feb. 2005
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002] (DVD)
This - being Madonna's 2nd music video collection doesn't have any noticeable gaps, and is worth buying for the beautiful 'Bad Girl' video.
Bad Girl
Fever
Rain
Secret
Take A Bow
Bedtime Story
Human Nature
Love Don't Live Here Anymore
Frozen
Ray Of Light
Drowned World
The Power Of Goodbye
Nothing Really Matters
Beautiful Stranger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Visual Treat!!!!, 3 Mar. 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002] (DVD)
Madonna has been one of the most prolific video artists of the last twenty years, and this 2nd compilation (the first being The Immaculate Collection) shows why.
The best videos on here are the murder mystery of Bad Girl / the Matador love affair in Take A Bow / the poignant and thought provoking Drowned World / the gothic and dark Frozen / the fast paced, image laden visual treat that is Ray Of light / and the incredible / the very surreal Bedtime Story / the beautiful B&W simplicity that is Secret / Rain and Power of Goodbye are so incredibly stylised (never has she looked so incredible) and not forgetting the sheer fun and tom-foolery with Austin Powers in Beautiful Stranger.
The collections weakest moments include Human Nature, a better video than the song, and the poor Love Don’t Live Here Anymore (a cheap 1 shot video, which was filmed on a day off in Buenos Aires).
A bonus though is Fever, a simple dance to camera video which is laden with costume changes and special effects.
There are a couple of omissions though which I personally would have liked on here. The sexy, grainy Erotica (perhaps her most inventive musical moment?), and the 70’s themed Deeper and Deeper (though she has NO eyebrows in this video which may explain its omission!)
With no extras to speak of, this is still an incredible compilation of videos from a woman who is without doubt one of the leaders in her field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars videos do justice to songs, 5 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002] (DVD)
some stylishly crafted videos seem to characterise the music well.Three tracks in particular were great in syncronisation to the video;take a bow, bad girl,which has a story-like structure with a variety of possible interpretations,and possibly best of all,frozen,which is both musically AND visually stunning,(how the hell do you get crows to act like that!)Must have been in critical top gear to do this,and such offbeat subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realise this product was from Argentina, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002] (DVD)
The DVD was brand new and perfectly packaged but I didn't realise when purchasing it that it was from Argentina! When it finally arrived it will not play because the DVD is in a different region to my player. I would need to buy a South American DVD player and a compatible voltage transformer just to watch it. Wish it had have been clearly stated in the first place, then I would not have bothered buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna maintains the standard, 30 Sept. 2011
By 
steven Green (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002] (DVD)
This dvd is the 2nd madonna hits dvd, covering from 93-99. Madonna yet again sets the standard for music videos. All the hits arnt here -they never are,but what is there is quality. Hidden gems like bad girl and secret are there and i would reccomend it to every pop fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The same mistake has Immaculate Collection, 9 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002] (DVD)
Don't get me wrong, everything included on this DVD is good, and the image and sound quality this time are quite better, but ther are still videos missing, and there aren't any single extra, it seems like you are seeing a VHS tape!
This time we have a collection from some music videos from the 90's, you can expect the following videos:
Bad Girl, Fever, Rain, Secret, Take a Bow, Bedtime Story, Human Nature, Love Don't Live Here Anymore, Frozen, Ray of Light, Drowned World/substitute for love, The Power of Good-Bye, Nothing Really Matters and Beautiful Stranger.
One more time, where is Erotica, Deeper and Deeper, I Want You, You'll see, This Used to Be My Playground, I'll Remember, and the Evita singles? (more 4 videos missing)
This time we have 14 videos, but there are 10 videos missing!
One more time, everything included is good, but the lack of videos is a reality...why didn't they included those videos? Sure there is enought space on the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best videos, 17 July 2010
By 
P. E. Pentelow "musicalfreak" (Plymouth England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002] (DVD)
AFTER MIXED OPINION OF THE LAST CONCERT DVD(FIRST HALF GAVE ME A HEADACHE..LOVED THE SECOND HALF)THIS WAS MORE TO MY TASTE. SOME GREAT PRODUCTIONS AND GREAT SONGS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She just gets better and better, 15 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
Even though her singles haven't charted as well post-Immaculate Collection, the standard of her videos has just gone throught the roof.
Madonna is unique in that every video tells a story - from the Spanish Senorita of "Take A Bow", the dreamscape of "Bedime Story", the sexual fantasy/... you all of "Human Nature", the world of the geisha in "Nothing Really Matters", City life in "Ray Of Light", Celebrity in "Drowned World" and Austin powers in "Beautiful Stranger".
Undoubtedly, the best video artist EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome.., 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Michelle Wyatt York (York, NorthYorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002] (DVD)
awesome...there is one seller in argentina but if you get from Europe sellers youll get region 2 dvd & it works fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best gets better :), 13 July 2001
How does she do it? We thought that "Vogue" and "Like a Prayer" were the best ever, but clips like "Bedtime Stories", "Ray of Light" and "Frozen" are just amazing. She continues to produce some of the most original and compelling work in video and music today, testemony to her talent for transforming herself and trend setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madonna - The Video Collection 93-99 [DVD] [1999] [NTSC] [2002]
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews