Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars screaming women,torture chambers,haunted castles,its all here!!
now from the team who gave you "black sunday"and "black sabbath"comes"barron blood"in all its glory bavas final nod to the classic horror movies of the fifties and sixties,contained in this collectors item are both the original and american international versions,original colour and picture restorations on both versions,the money has been well...
Published 15 months ago by Wayne Allen

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit of Gothic by Numbers
I'm a big Mario Bava fan, but I'd struggle to rate this film as a masterpiece, especially when compared to his earlier films such as Blood and Black Lace or Black Sabbath. I've probably got two main gripes about the film. Firstly, there just aren't enough stand out scenes in my mind. The best is when Elke Sommer is being chased through the fog filled streets by the Baron...
Published on 20 Mar 2009 by A. B. Kennedy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit of Gothic by Numbers, 20 Mar 2009
This review is from: Baron Blood [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big Mario Bava fan, but I'd struggle to rate this film as a masterpiece, especially when compared to his earlier films such as Blood and Black Lace or Black Sabbath. I've probably got two main gripes about the film. Firstly, there just aren't enough stand out scenes in my mind. The best is when Elke Sommer is being chased through the fog filled streets by the Baron. It's very reminiscent of Vincent Price in the House of Wax, and it creates an excellent sense of suspense and fear. The backdrop of the film, set in an actual Austrian castle, adds a great deal of Gothic weight to the proceedings, and Bava uses his surroundings well. But the formulaic story just lets him down. My second, and probably more significant issue is with the use of Joseph Cotton as the Baron. He just feels too much like a lovable uncle, to be effective as the reanimated face of evil incarnate. (He was great in Dr Phibes when he was the victim of the sinister Vincent Price, and indeed, you could easily imagine Vincent Price making a great Baron Blood.) Here he just doesn't cut the satanic mustard in my book.

If, like me, you're a big Bava fan then this film is certainly worth seeing the once. However it's not one that I'll find myself reaching for again very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mine eyes have seen the glory!, 6 July 2013
By 
Damien Shalley (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baron Blood [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fans of gothic euro-horror (I am a card-carrying member of this fraternity) have regarded the great Mario Bava as an unsung legend for decades, and with this fantastic Arrow release he finally gets his due. This is - hands down - the best this film has ever looked (unless you were the cameraman looking through the viewfinder during principal photography, with Bava approving the shot framing and smoking his cigarettes behind you as you changed f-stops).
I suffered through a cropped, washed-out VHS release of this colourful horror opus back in the day (l still enjoyed the film by the way, thank you Roadshow Home Video), but I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to see this international classic restored to its original glory. Legendary director Dario Argento took some of his cues from Bava (Bava created special effects for Argento's "Inferno"), and I for one will remain permanently indebted to Bava's unique horror film vision (and wonderful personality - if you can find a photograph of this man not comically hamming it up or smiling wonderfully, please send me a copy).
This is a beautiful, collectible and comprehensive release (there are three [yes three!] versions of the film included here, (including the American AIP release with the alternative musical score for completists), and a very rewarding purchase for fans of atmospheric Italian horror from days gone by.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars screaming women,torture chambers,haunted castles,its all here!!, 26 May 2013
By 
Wayne Allen (wa uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baron Blood [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
now from the team who gave you "black sunday"and "black sabbath"comes"barron blood"in all its glory bavas final nod to the classic horror movies of the fifties and sixties,contained in this collectors item are both the original and american international versions,original colour and picture restorations on both versions,the money has been well spent and is up there on the screen for all to see.arrow have spared no expence to produce another great collectors item,included in this set is a very informative booklet with great background information on the stars and the making of the movie,included are trailers for the film.fans will not be disapointed,as with all dvds in arrows mario bava collection the whole package is exeptionaly well done,and a must have.highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly disappointing effort from the master Bava., 22 May 2014
If Baron Blood did not have Bava's name attached to it, I would imagine that the film would be universally forgotten. It is quite a struggle to stay focused, I was struggling after 15 minutes. The plot is cold, yes cold. The film is ultra slow, the dialogue is seeringly close to something that a kid would come up with, and the acting is awful. However the film has been dubbed in places and I know that in original language the acting suddenly becomes all the better for it.

Joseph Cotton a fine actor in his day is underwhelming here. There are no frights and no gore. Notice how at the beginning the scene is played out twice, TWICE!

I'm a huge horror fan and that includes Italian cinema. Bava was one of the best, but in all honesty this is a dull and boring film for his standards. The only bright spark being the use of lightning used in some scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bava's best but a stunning package., 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: Baron Blood [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am a huge fan of Mario Bava but this is a hard watch. Its slow and has very little to keep you interested especially when compared to his other works. There are some fantastic atmospheric scenes like the chase scene through the fog, but its not enough to change this film from being what it is. If Bava was a musician this would be a forgotten album track, nice to visit from time to time but not something you would go out of your way to constantly listen to. The saving grace is the packaging, with stand out extras, 3 versions of the film and an amazing restoration job done. Baron Blood is worth the money especially if like me you collect Italian horror cinema or are a fan of Bavas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrow win again, 6 May 2013
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baron Blood [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Arrow come up trumps again with this edition. 3 versions of the film (Export version, AIP version with alternate score and the Italian version with subs). The extras are good and the HD restoration is just as good. In this day and age is fantastic that someone like Arrow actually cares about the fans considering they are a small outfit. The film itself is not a masterpiece, but is a highly entertaining piece of gothic filmmaking set in a modern period (well 70s!!). Its not up there with Bavas classics Black Sabbath and Black Sunday as to me it suffers from having a slightly Scooby Doo feeling to the script (spooky castle, the disfigured Baron, unravelling the mystery to the final reveal etc) It just feels like its missing the mystery machine, shaggy and a closing statement of "Those pesky kids". Don't let that put you off its still a great ride but just a period of its time and certainly the horror of the early 70s pre Exorcist where the game changed entirely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars similar gothic horror story like the Hammer Horror Productions, 28 Oct 2006
The only three differences are:

A) The director Mario Bava used a bit higher budget production in this movie. During the movieset in 1972 the italian filmproducer Alfredo Leone who had worked with Bava for years, had rent a huge medieval castle in Austria. The huge medieval castle was mainly a set location.

b) The Hammer british horror production often used a miniature Dracula's castle in order to set the film and the production is mostly a low budget.

c) In Baron Blood you can see more gore scenes, bloody tortures and splatter-elements than any other harmless Hammer Horror films.

The similarity is:

The story has a chilling and a suspense summary. The dark living dead Baron von Kleist has risen from the grave. It is very similar to Hammer Horror films.

The only weakest performance is: Elke Sommer made her Horrordebut for a very first time in Baron Blood. Her acting is horrible, because Sommer never did a horrorfilm before. She is not a typical experienced Horroractress to compare to Barbara Steele who worked with Bava for many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baron Blood [DVD] [1972] [US Import]
Baron Blood [DVD] [1972] [US Import] by Mario Bava (DVD - 1999)
66.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews