Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic
Even with an abundance of flares and feather-cuts this this film is timeless. It raises so many issues that are still relevant today. This is one of Robert Redfords finest performances but it is Max Von Sydow as the hitman that steals the picture. Cannot recommend this highly enough plus it includes great footage of inside the twin towers.
Published on 28 Sept. 2008 by Neonlicks

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Dated but watchable.
Published 8 months ago by Hanushka


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, 28 Sept. 2008
Even with an abundance of flares and feather-cuts this this film is timeless. It raises so many issues that are still relevant today. This is one of Robert Redfords finest performances but it is Max Von Sydow as the hitman that steals the picture. Cannot recommend this highly enough plus it includes great footage of inside the twin towers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 4 Oct. 2007
For some reason this film is yet to get a UK release, but I have this Dutch DVD which is R2 and of good quality. Sydney Pollack was too modest to describe his own film as a classic but that's what it is. The only problem with it is Redford's looks which always make him seem out of place in any "ordinary" role. Also, the sexual politics are somewhat dubious. It does have a great ending which bravely concludes on uncertainty, whatever the lead actor's matinee looks may imply.

The Special Features menu has the most annoying interface I've yet encountered. You try pressing the feature you want. Nuts!

But when you eventually succeed, you'll be rewarded with a fascinating documentary on the talented Mr Pollack. What is surprising is how many films you've seen and enjoyed over the years that you didn't realise were directed by him. Oh, and Bobby Dearfield is a favourite of mine too, Mr Pollack, so despair ye not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Days of the Condor, 11 Feb. 2012
This review is from: 3 Days of the Condor (DVD)
This is a favourite film of ours from the past, and we settled down to watch it in anticipation. Just as good as ever....the only problem was we kept getting flashes of foreign sub-titles on the screen - has this DVD been originally sub-titled, and then re-mastered? We bought this as new, so were a bit surprised by this. It was irritating, but other than that,we were satisfied with the purchase..Brilliant film - would recommend this to any Robert Redford fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three Days of the Condor is among the best of the '70s spy thrillers., 7 May 2015
By 
IP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 3 Days of the Condor (DVD)
The perfect companion for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

I first saw Three Days of the Condor (1975), Sydney Pollack's spy extravaganza is one of the smarter '70s thrillers, mixing its anti-government paranoia with a coherent plot, great cast and ace direction.

Pollack and writers Lorenzo Semple Jr. and David Rayfield craft a thriller that flows smoothly, even if its plot threads get a bit tangled. Pollack makes great use of silence and ambient noise in his set pieces: the opening hit, Turner's slug-fest with a Company goon and a tense elevator ride with Joubert. The biggest detriment is Kathy, a useless character clearly shoehorned in as a token love interest. On the other hand, Pollack and Co. can't be blamed for covering all their bases.

Robert Redford is perfect: handsome, a brainy whiz kid and a scrappy fighter, he's more than a match for his perfidious bosses. Faye Dunaway gets a lousy character, developing an acute case of Stockholm Syndrome that makes her jump into bed with Turner within hours of her kidnapping! Cliff Robertson gets one of his best roles as the reptilian spymaster, and Max Von Sydow's amusingly detached hit man makes a delicious villain. John Houseman turns up briefly as a CIA bigwig.

Three Days of the Condor is among the best of the '70s spy thrillers. It maintains the government skepticism of its peers while remaining at least internally plausible, and is plenty entertaining to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oil, 19 Mar. 2015
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 3 Days of the Condor (DVD)
A revisit to an old film I enjoyed. This was filmed shortly after Watergate when conspiracies and hatred of the government was nationwide. Until that time, belief in government and its beaurocracies was strong, however, it soon changed.

Robert Redford plays a CIA operative, a little bit smarter and able to put one and two together. He is a reader for the CIA in a building listed as a Literary and Historical Society. At that time, a secretary sat at the front desk and buzzed people in after looking at a monitor. Security was in a little hidden wall to her right. Not smart, when one day three men, one posed as a mailman, walk in and shoot everyone in the building. All except, Redford's character known as the Condor. He comes back from picking up lunch to find the entire crew dead. He calls central headquarters and is told to meet in an alley in an hour. He runs into a man with a gun, and he knows all is not well.

Condor kidnaps a young woman, steals her car and keeps her captive with him until he can figure things out. Of course, a romance develops, and she ends up assisting him. The woman is a young Faye Dunaway. As the film progresses Condor starts to figure things out, his research has turned up a book translated into just three languages: Spanish, Dutch and Arabic. By the time we figure out those are the languages of major oil-exporting areas, he is on the run. Sharing info with his head cheese gives him a few steps ahead, and to the rescue comes a hitman. This is really an excellent spy thriller, well written, acted well, and the tension remains high. It is a good film to revisit,especially since we have oil nations to blame for a war or two.

Recommended. prisrob 03-18-15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run Condor run, 25 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Condor is the code name for an employee of the CIA. His mission is to read, read everything he can to see if there are any subversive codes being posted in innocuous looking literature.

In the book he discovers that the number of packages shipped to his location do not match the bill of lading. He brings this to the attention of his superiors.

One day he leaves by an un-recorded unauthorized back door for lunch. On returning he finds everyone dead.

Who did this and who can he trust? To survive he must use his wits and what he has learned from his reading.

The movie "Three days of the Condor" is based on this book, which is really first in a series of books, sort of like the James Bond series. Naturally being film media the story needed cutting down to size, hence three days instead of six.

Robert Redford has to squeeze James Grady's "Six Days of the Condor" into the Redford mold. The book plot of drugs and Viet Nam are out. Redford's substitute plot of oil and Arabs is in. Bad guys differ.

Great acting, great actors and a few faux pas, such as if they knew there was a back door to the location, don't you think it would be watched?

Tina Chen (Janice) can be seen again in the movie "Paper Man" (1971) where her computer prints out "DEATH DEATH DEATH"

Now in Blu-ray for those obsesses with technology. I made the switch until something new comes along. This does not change the story or acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CONDOR MAN, 13 Sept. 2008
By 
A.D.M. (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Days of the Condor [DVD] [1975] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A stylish, low-key 70s thriller carried by the man Redford. The first half hour is excellent, setting the scene and presenting Redford as a book-ish, happy go lucky CIA research operative. His co-workers are brutally murdered whilst he's out to lunch and upon discovering their bodies on return he goes on the run. The movie settles into periods of quiet contemplation and sudden bursts of action, as Redford becomes more and more paranoid. He develops a rather unusual relationship with the striking Faye Dunaway (who he takes hostage), and this occupies a lot of the middle period of the film. I got a bit lost around this point, but things start to come together towards the end, with the unsettling hitman Max von Sydow tying up some of the loose ends. I didn't enjoy Three Days of the Condor as much as some of the other crime / thriller movies from this period, but it is certainly enjoyable and if you are able to adapt to the slower pace, this is well worth a look. Redford's character is a little perplexing as at the start of the film he is a genius bookworm, and by the end of it he is wrestling villains, shooting guns and rewiring phone exchanges. Yet Redford is always watchable, charistmatic and frustratingly handsome. Damn him! I should note that the wrapping up of the story is particularly fascinating as it seems to be about 25 years before it's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Condor Soars, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 Days of the Condor (DVD)
Redford's charisma has continued to shine in latter day films such as 'Sneakers' and 'Spy Game' but '3 Days of the Condor' found him at his peak. I originally saw this fine conspiracy thriller on its release in the U.K during the 70's and it made a lasting impression. The character portrayals are exceptional and the basic premise of the movie was ahead of its time. Of course it is slightly dated now, but it is also a classic that should be viewed in the proper spirit if one is to do justice to it. I was very pleased to finally be able to buy it on dvd. If you enjoy Ludlum's work then you'll be glad that you bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1970s Conspiracy thriller ***1/2, 27 Nov. 2008
By 
Purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Robert Redford plays Joe Turner, the type of CIA agent that we can stomach - his job is to come up with possible scenarios from books, magazines and media from around the world. His world in the faux American Literary Society is shattered when he return from picking up a deli lunch to find his colleagues have been gunned down. Post the pacy Bourne trilogy the treatment of the killing and the aftermath seems almost leisurely - Redford's character has time to think and that's enjoyable to watch.

Turner has nobody to trust when it becomes clear his CIA boss is ready to kill him and he kidnaps and then persuades Faye Dunaway's character to help him. His amateurism makes him unpredictable and helps him evade the hitmen as he tries to work out what's gone on.

The musical score is very dated - it's best when there is silence but Pollack's treatment holds up overall. The ending is interesting given the film's post Watergate date. Watch and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy but unhappy., 31 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Days of the Condor [DVD] [1975] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
As the title of this review says happy but unhappy. Happy in the respect that I am able to get a copy of this brilliant film, but unhappy that as someone living in a region 2 zone I can only get a region 1 copy. If I am incorrect & this is available as region 2 then I am quite happy to eat humble pie & I'm sorry to have wasted this space.

To the film it self, this is one of my all time favourite films & upon watching it for the first time in a good few years I still feel the same way about it. It's a film that draws you in & keeps you interested all the way through. If you haven't seen it, treat yourself to a copy,then take the phone of the hook & enjoy!!!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews