Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In this World, in this Life
Little Buddha is an extremely clever work bringing the realities of current world and life and the timeless relevance the teachings of Buddha together. Essentially portraying the life and struggles of modern living by a young couple and their little son, an ordinary family living in Seattle, USA; the film showed how life can become stuck in a groove, compared to the open...
Published on 23 April 2010 by P. Soe Wynn

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little Buddha
I was expecting great things from this film and sadly I was left disappointed. The direction and cinematography is outstanding and the visual aspect of the film is beautiful. Unfortunately the acting was extremely wooden from all involved, apart from maybe the Lama who searches for the reincarnation, and this detracted from my overall enjoyment of the film (hence the 3...
Published on 8 Mar 2008 by Spider Monkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In this World, in this Life, 23 April 2010
By 
P. Soe Wynn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Buddha [DVD] (DVD)
Little Buddha is an extremely clever work bringing the realities of current world and life and the timeless relevance the teachings of Buddha together. Essentially portraying the life and struggles of modern living by a young couple and their little son, an ordinary family living in Seattle, USA; the film showed how life can become stuck in a groove, compared to the open mind of a child, the young son. When the Tibetan Lamas, in search of the reincarnation of their revered Lama, approached them; the couple were polite, not wanting to offend but obviously reticent. Later, they were taken aback when the Lamas mentioned the possibility that their son might be the reincarnation they are searching. The Lamas introduced the story of the Life of Buddha to the little boy, named Jason. Jason was intrigued. The wife became amused with the idea, while the husband remain dismissive and at one point much annoyed. However, when a tragedy touched them, the husband began to wonder about "Life" and decided to agree to travel to Bhutan with his son to check the possibility. The positions of the wife and the husband changed, although for the wife it wasn't to be dismissive but more being upset of her inability to join in the adventure due to her responsibilities at work. The film portrayed very well the Life of Buddha from his birth, life in the palace, how he discovered the truth about life which his father had done his utmost to prevent him from knowing and seeing, the growing old, the sick and the dying, the death and finally about those in search of emancipation. It took the viewer through Buddha's own search for emancipation, his own struggles with the temptations of life and challenges by the "evils - his own egos" in the form of "Maya" the "Lord of his own ego and the evils of life"; and finally to the attainment of Enlightenment and Buddhahood. Keanu Reeves played his part excellently, as the young Prince Siddharta and then thoughout as the ascetic in search of emancipitationa and then Buddha.As you watch the fil you will agree he was a perfect choice to play the part. Portraying excellently that life as we know it has not changed through the time and reflecting it on the young father and then his eventual understanding and appreciation of the idea, the philosophy, the teachings of the Buddha the film showed the aspects of the Tibetan Buddhism, the Mahayana branch of Buddhism. However, apart from the practical differences which will be clearly understood and appreaiated by the Theravada Buddhist, the essentials of Buddhism is very well protrayed. To both Theravada Buddhists and the Mahayana Buddhists, those who are interested in Buddhism and scholars etc. I would strongly recommed you see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little Buddha, 8 Mar 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Buddha [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting great things from this film and sadly I was left disappointed. The direction and cinematography is outstanding and the visual aspect of the film is beautiful. Unfortunately the acting was extremely wooden from all involved, apart from maybe the Lama who searches for the reincarnation, and this detracted from my overall enjoyment of the film (hence the 3 stars). The inter-cut story of the life of Buddha and the search for a modern Lama reincarnation was very well done and it flowed very easily from one to the other, enhancing each storyline. This film could've delivered so much more and if you can look past the acting, this film has a great deal to offer. It is still worth a viewing.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lived up to my expectations and more! Very informative with the visual impact required to make Buddhism more understandable. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little buddha DVD, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Buddha [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent service from supplier
I like the film, though I prefer the original. Its worth watchin however, and I wasnt disappointed with the service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still good, 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely explanation of Buddhism with the story of the Buddha beautifully told in technicolour. A good film all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. Henderson "Jonboy Geordieguy" (UK North East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was a great gift for Xmas and arrived well in time cant thank you enough for a good DVD many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. Henderson "Jonboy Geordieguy" (UK North East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great product was exactly what i wanted and was sent speedily very happy indeed well recommended some one will be happy this Xmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie works on many levels, 4 Aug 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is a Bertolucci movie so it will naturally have his style. This is a different story so it should be told differently from his other films. In my opinion this is his best. It is based on a true story; this means he did not wake up in the middle of the night with a radical idea. The story is used not only for the individual incident but as an allegory for today's Tibetan (there are many other types) Buddhist way of thought.

These are not two parallel stories in contrast. With out one the other makes no sense. The section in Seattle is filtered in blue; I may have some deeper meaning; I see the blue filtered scenes as the superficial environment. These differences help with the description of impermanence.

The Selection of actors is excellent.. You do not want the actor personalities to overshadow the character. It is too late for me. I will always think of Siddhartha as looking like Keanu Reeves.

Just as with Cecil B. DeMille's "The Ten Commandments ", the film story does not actually follow the written story of Siddhartha. However, as this is the one that I watch, therefore I will always think of this when some one mentions Buddha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A FILM FOR CINEASTES, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From Seattle shot in mystic blues to vibrant India and back again this a truly amazing film.
,Keanu Reeves as The Buddha is amazing,Bridget Fonda under-used but great and the pop singer Chris Isaak a very pleasant
surprise.
See it with an open mind and let your mind be filled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars little buddhism, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Buddha [DVD] (DVD)
not very enlightening but still a good view.
Keanus dedication to Buddhas life story is admirable with his severe weight loss.
Accents are a little to be desired.
But all in all its not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Buddha [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews