Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars newton who they?
the newton boys where bank robbers and safe crackers from about 1916 to late 1920s everyone herd of jesse james butch and sundance so watch this film and find out all about the it stars are not that well known at the time but are more well known now matthaw mc conaughty ethan hawke skeet ulrich and vincent d,onofrio he is now the main man in law and order s.v.u and this...
Published on 18 Jan 2009 by Mr. Nicholas R. Muller

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can't trust everything you read...
For me this was a very slow, watching paint dry film. I have no doubt that it's factual and the times in which it happened were very well depicted. It simply made no sense in its laborious story telling process of a handful of thieves who robbed banks in the 1920's. I purchased it on the strength of the other reviews... I wish I hadn't.
Published 3 months ago by Monk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars newton who they?, 18 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Nicholas R. Muller (london england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Newton Boys [DVD] (DVD)
the newton boys where bank robbers and safe crackers from about 1916 to late 1920s everyone herd of jesse james butch and sundance so watch this film and find out all about the it stars are not that well known at the time but are more well known now matthaw mc conaughty ethan hawke skeet ulrich and vincent d,onofrio he is now the main man in law and order s.v.u and this film also stars the country singer DWIGHT YOAKAM also the end credits you get to see two of the real newton boys being interview by johnny carson on his show late 1970s i think. so this movie is in liveing memory for some a fine film i recommded to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can't trust everything you read..., 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Newton Boys [DVD] (DVD)
For me this was a very slow, watching paint dry film. I have no doubt that it's factual and the times in which it happened were very well depicted. It simply made no sense in its laborious story telling process of a handful of thieves who robbed banks in the 1920's. I purchased it on the strength of the other reviews... I wish I hadn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 10 May 2014
This review is from: Newton Boys (Amazon Instant Video)
this is a simple easy to watch entertaining movie loved it five stars acting good storyline good say no more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cowboys meet gangsters., 6 April 2014
This review is from: Newton Boys (Amazon Instant Video)
Good fun. Based on true story but doesn't over glamourise - seem a bit lucky overall !.... Sure it was not quite as pretty in real life but it doesn't claim to be documentary..And theme that banks rob their customers holds very true given last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Newton did not discover gravitation, 29 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Newton Boys [DVD] (DVD)
The film is very banal. Bank robbers and postal train robbers, déjà vu, blasé, passé. Nothing particularly interesting or exciting. Yet the film has a slight flaw that makes it maybe of some interest. These bank robbers and postal train robbers survived the whole business in 1924, got through the trial with rather light sentences and they most of them died of old age fifty or so years later after giving, for some of them, some TV interviews about that profession of their young age. Then that was not a film but a fictionalized documentary.

Shucks!

Those who got the heaviest sentences were the few real profiteers who were the real organizers behind those young cowboys who got misled, by their own dream, into getting by force the money they desired to have. But the worst part in all that story is that they got caught on their last venture, the postal train robbery, because one of the gang of brothers shot another member of that brotherly gang because he did not stick to what he was supposed to do, went on the other side of the train and got frightened by someone who did not have the identifying hat they were all supposed to wear.

A mistake, another mistake and the whole venture came to a stop, though they apparently did not recuperate all the money, neither the authorities, not the Newton Boys, because the part that was hidden away by one of them was done so under the influence of alcohol, not the money of course, but the Newton Boy who was supposed to bury it and he could never, so he says at least, remember where it was. If you are not afraid of the strong cowboy Texan accent of these boys, you can watch it and entertain yourself with the dream of what you could do with three million 1924 dollars.

I guess you would favor buying a new hybrid car to be economical and nice with the planet.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This DVD was on a Christmas present wish list, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Newton Boys [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as a Christmas gift for my daughter in law. I have not seen the film myself but as she specifically asked for it, I can only assume that it is worthy of at least 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Newton Boys [DVD] [1998] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£10.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews