Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I still know . . . this is an under-rated sequel
I Still Know What You Did Last Summer is a very good sequel to the hit 1997 movie I Know What You Did Last Summer and, in my opinion, is a very under-rated movie. Instead of making this movie almost exactly the same as the origional, as most horror-movie-makers seem to do, this movie has a totally different setting to the first - a holliday resort in the bahamas...
Published on 23 Feb. 2007 by marky77

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pointless & Tireless Sequel
I Still Know What You Did Last Summer (DVD).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Swedish, Turkish
Dubbed: German
Region: 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.35:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 18...
Published 5 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I still know . . . this is an under-rated sequel, 23 Feb. 2007
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I Still Know What You Did Last Summer is a very good sequel to the hit 1997 movie I Know What You Did Last Summer and, in my opinion, is a very under-rated movie. Instead of making this movie almost exactly the same as the origional, as most horror-movie-makers seem to do, this movie has a totally different setting to the first - a holliday resort in the bahamas!

Julie (Jennifer Love Hewitt) and her best friend and roommate Karla (Brandy) win a radio compition and win a holliday for four to the bahamas. Karla takes her boyfriend Tyrell (Mekhi Phifer) and Julie takes her new love interest Will (Matthew Settle). The arrive and check into their hotel (which I admitt, was a bit of an unrealistic point of the film as there are only five or six staff members and seemingly no other guests, however it is the "off-season").

Julie begins to relax, enjoying the luxury and relaxation of the hotel, but, unknown to Julie and her friends, the body count is rising and its not long before those awaited words "I Still Know..." appear and once again Julie must face the wrath of Ben Willis.

Just as good as the orgional, this movie is not one to miss. It is as scary as the orgional and a bit gorier too. This movie also features an appearance from Jack Black and Ray (Freddy Price Jr) is also back.

I would highly reccomend this movie especially if you enjoyed the origional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pointless & Tireless Sequel, 24 Nov. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I Still Know What You Did Last Summer (DVD).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Swedish, Turkish
Dubbed: German
Region: 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.35:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 18
Studio: UCA
Running Time: 96 minutes

Special Features.
Music video "How Do I Deal?" by Jennifer Love Hewitt
Making-of featurette

Cast.
Jennifer Love Hewitt as Julie James
Freddie Prinze, Jr. as Ray Bronson
Brandy Norwood as Karla Wilson
Mekhi Phifer as Tyrell Martin
Matthew Settle as Will Benson
Jennifer Esposito as Nancy
Muse Watson as Ben Willis
Bill Cobbs as Estes
Jeffrey Combs as Mr. Brooks
Benjamin Brown as Darick the Dockhand
Ellerine Harding as Olga
John Hawkes as Dave
Jack Black as Titus Telesco (uncredited)

Trivia.
1)Peter Jackson was asked to direct.
2)E.T star, Henry Thomas auditioned for the role of Will Benson.
3)Danny Cannon directed the 1995 sci-fi adaption of Judge Dredd.

What's The Story.
Two surviving teens, Julie James & Ray Bronson survived the bloody vengeance of Ben Willis & together killed the murderous Fisherman one year ago, but the stress of those events has taken it's toll on Julie who's unable to concentrate on her studies or love life with her boyfriend Ray which is putting a strain on there relationship.

When her best friend Karla Wilson wins a luxury holiday for four to the Bahamas, Julie thinks she can finally put the events of the last year behind her - but fate has other plans in store as murder & mayhem follow Julie to the island in the shape of a murderous fisherman with a hook but Ben Willis is dead isn't he?

Timelord Thoughts.
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" was a decent enough self contained slasher movie & featured a nice revenge-laced storyline about teenagers who had to pay the consequences of their mistakes at the hands of a psychotic fisherman, this sequel is a continuation of the two surviving characters Julie & Ray & set one year later.

I Still Know... is a bloodier gorier movie than the original but resorts to the usual bog standard set of horror cliches & character stupidity that usually feature in this genre & adds nothing really new to the slasher movies.

Danny Cannons direction is solid enough & he manages to capture the tone of a isolated atmospheric creepy hotel were Julie & her friends are staying & does deliver some decent kill sequences but without scriptwriter Kevin Williamson returning input to the genre it's up to writer Trey Callaway's script to deliver the goods & while he injects a fair amount of wit into the storyline he doesn't add anything new, while the plot has so many holes & inconsistencies for instance the scene were Ray & his friend drive down a dark road & stumble upon an accident which is a trap by Ben Willis but how did the murderous fisherman know that Ray & his friend would be coming down that road, at that particular time, tarot cards, a crystal Ball, time Travel? & don't even get me started on the movies dumbest "gotcha!" jump scare ending which actually makes the last 97 minutes utterly meaningless.

Jennifer Love Hewitt is watchable but her character of Julie James is to much of a whinger while Freddie Prinze Jr still can't act & gives another bland performance as Ray Bronson.

Brandy Norwood can't act if her life depended on it who is playing the part of Julies best friend Karla Wilson while Mekhi Phifer plays such an annoying foul mouthed obnoxious character named Tyrell Martin I was praying he'd get bumped off far earlier in the movie as he's as irritating as hell, the only standouts are Jennifer Esposito as hotel worker Nancy & Jeffery Combs bonkers take on hotel manager Mr. Brooks & finally Jack Black plays another dope smoking dude named Titus who is so out there he at least raises a smile when his characters on-screen.

Only hardcore horror enthusiasts will get any sort of enjoyment out of this movie as 'I Still Know What You Did Last Summer' might be a bigger gorier slasher sequel but in no way is it better than the self contained original & delivers nothing we haven't seen before in other slasher flicks & put simply is a very disappointing lacklustre sequel.

Timelord Rating.
5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's all good...., 25 Mar. 2014
Two years after the horrible incident, Julie is back in college and is worse than ever having dreams about the killer.

She gets comfort from a new friend named Will. Julie's other friend Karla tries to hook the two of them up and when she wins a trip to the Bahamas, she knows that it is perfect.

But Ray is still in the picture and Julie only goes as friends. Karla, her boyfriend Tyrell, Julie, and Will take flight right before Ray encounters the fisherman again.

He tries to tell Julie not to leave but it is too late. Now in the Bahamas Julie is starting to lighten up and have fun.

Then suddenly things start going terribly wrong when a storm hits the Island and people start to disappear.

Ray takes a boat to the island to warn Julie but will he make it on time to save Julie again from the fisherman....

Who cares if this is a blatant cash in of a blatant cash in of Scream? The film works in some weird way, and is great to look at.

It makes no sense that Willis has survived the first movie, or why the guy just doesn't sit down with the two leads and say 'look, I know what you did the summer before last, but please just say sorry' but one thinks that title wouldn't work.

It ticks all the boxes for a film like this, you can tell from the moment they land on the island who will get it, but who cares when the film is ridiculous, and we get an early Jack Black trying to be Jamaican.

Deaths are not inventive, and there is a brilliant Scooby Doo ending, but if you love schlock, and a film featuring one of the silliest 'getting to the main place' journeys since The Shining, you are in for a guilty pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST SLASHERS IN RECENT YEARS, 26 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
Well, okay, when this film was released at the box office, it seemed as if horror slashers were coming back into fashion and there were too many of them around. Although most horror sequels are rubbish, this one really was a great one and in my eyes beat films such as 'Scream 2' and 'Urban Legend.' It is based around the same group of teenagers as the original 'Last Summer' film, with the addition of popstar Brandy, who makes a brilliant film debut as the best friend of the haunted Jennifer Love Hewitt character. This time, the plot is simply that the twosome win a journey an island in the Bahamas, which sounds great. What they do not know is that it is the storm season, so there is a limited amount of staff and no other holiday-goers. The director wastes no time in getting the action going and on the first night, the blood starts spilling, people go missing, and typically for a horror film, only the lead (Love Hewitt) knows that the killer is back and her friends will not believe her. This film really is a fabulous horror, with some scenes that are genuinely scary. Although there is no classic black-humour in this, the acting is very good for the genre. Jennifer Love Hewitt plays her role as the emotionally scarred lead with a lot of heart and is a very believable character. Freddie Prinze Jr. returns in great shape as the macho man boyfriend of Love Hewitt and is trying to get to the island, which has no boats or communication to the mainland because of the storm. This film is scary, clever and very well acted with a brilliantly sugar-coated plot that is very believable and sometimes excellently scary. If you are a fan of the horror genre, then get out and buy it - and if not, rent it first, marvel at this feature, then buy it also. Thumbs-up all-round to the cast and crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Scooby Doo is strong in this one,, 29 April 2012
Anyway, imagine for a moment that you are a psychotic fishermen and you've spent the last year or so sitting around in your underpants plotting your blood thirsty revenge.

Do you:
(a) Go old school, chasing your foe down in their own homes utilising your near miraculous ability to withstand seemingly lethal injury and your cool rusty hook/sou'wester combo.
Or
(b) Arrange for a fake competition to play on your intended victim's radio at exactly the right time, hoping that she or the other intended victims don't notice that she won despite answering the question wrongly! And then at great expense send them to stay at a tropical resort you've ensured will stay open in the mean season! Whilst, also managing to predict when an unreported and unexpected hurricane will hit to the exact day!

I still Know What You Did Last Summer is a so full of holes that it goes beyond the outer limits of ridiculous, waves a pair of gigantic glowing cheese covered coconuts in logic's face and then throws in some more nonsensical plot twist just because it can. On top which, the main characters are the human equivalent of beige and the setting looks like something from a bad teen soap. But do you know what, it's actually genuinely entertaining in a crazed "It was old man Willis all along" sort of way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original!, 29 Sept. 2002
I first watched this film prepared to be entertained, and nothing else. I had never prepared myself more wrongly before! I Still Know is a hell of a lot of fun at the worst of times... and at the best you`re on the edge of your seat!
A lot of credit goes to the cast, mainly Jennifer Love Hewitt, for making their roles so believeable. Even the not-so-main characters, like Nancy, are played well. The only character who isn`t quite up to scratch is Ray... but I`ve never got on with Freddie Prinze, Jr anyway.
The story must also get some credit, because it is a lot of fun. Also, the death scenes are pretty great, and shamefully, I enjoyed watching Titus get killed. Unlike the first one, this film has a few laughs, which only adds to the fun.
To sum it up, this film is a thrill-ride that everyone can enjoy. Better than the original, this film has both of my thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first, but still great., 1 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This film is good from beginning to end. The story is good, too.
The characters are all great.
I especially liked Julie James, played by (the stunning) Jennifer Love Hewitt, who makes her unbelieveably believeable.
Brandy was also more than a class act. Ray, Will and Tyrell are also good.
Though this film is great, it is, however, not as good as the first (are sequels ever?). This is mainly because the fact that the director felt a bit of sex on Brandy's part and nudity on Jennifer's was needed to keep the audience interested, which is not true.
Still, this film is very good, and is fun to watch every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy squeal to a great film, 28 Oct. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The only reason I have rated the otherwise excellent 'I Still Know What You Did Last Summer' as four stars is, well, because I can't give it 4.5, and the other reason?, it is isn't quite as good as the brilliant 'I Know What You Did Last Summer', and it wouldn't seem fair to rate it five like the first one.

Squeals can be hit and miss can't they? We look forward to seeing a follow up to a movie we loved only to be very disappointed, and wish we hadn't bothered. Sometimes they seem cobbled together to make a quick buck, or they lack the magic of the first by a change in writers, and using different actors. Luckily, Jennifer Love Hewitt reprised her role in what is faithful follow up to a teen slasher classic.

We are now two years down the line since Julie James (Jennifer Love Hewitt) and her friends ran over the fisherman and dumped his body in the river in a hit and run accident which led to lots more deaths, and high drama. Now at college, she still has nasty nightmares about the innocent, despite trying hard reshaping her life. She receives some good news when her room mate wins a trip for four friends to go to the Bahamas. One of these friends is Ray from the first movie, still portrayed by Freddie Prinze, Jr. Almost as soon as it looks like she'll be able to break free from stress, Julie suddenly receives another letter. She and her chums do manage to get to the Island, but so has somebody else - someone who still knows what she did 'last Summer'.

It's a solid little squeal, with plenty of shocks and scares, and a lot more blood and gore, hence the 18 rating this time. If you enjoyed the first, you'll enjoy the second is the bottom line. Personally though, I can't help but think it would be easier for Julie to just admit what she did to the police, is all her torment really worth it?, not to mention the death rate quickly adding up, including her friends. Then again, if she did come clean, there wouldn't be film.

Oh, and whilst it is isn't essential that you have to have seen the first one before viewing this, I would recommend you do so, because only then will you be able to really understand the full extent of Julie's fear.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm having trouble remembering what you did last summer but i DO remember what you did the summer before that., 10 April 2009
By 
OK so if you're into slashers of the 90's or just the old 'Knock 'em off one by one' plot then you have probably seen 'I Know What You Did Last Summer' and you probably enjoyed it.
I Still know is the sequel to I Know what you did last summer and in this film, Julie (Love Hewitt) returns along with Ray (Prinze Junior). When Julie's friend (Brandy) wins a contest to take some friends to a remote island getaway they jump at the chance and head off for some hard-core 'Forget about the guy who tried to kill you last summer' time and of course, sex.
Unfortunately a mysterious man with a hook for a hand and wearing a slicker is also on holiday and slowly but surely, the islanders are picked off one by one.

I still know is bashed a whole lot more than it deserves. It stands up as a worthy sequel with quite a bit of atmosphere and the obligatory jump-scares along with the fake jump-scares. The gore (something that wasn't too big in the first film) is pumped up and we get hooks in every area of the body plus Jack Black (As a white rasta) gets up close and personal with a pair of garden shears.
This sequel is very underrated and a much better attempt at a sequel than Urban Legends 2 The Final Cut... eugh!
I would highly recommend this if you like to watch horny young teens running about in the rain and getting hacked up by an iconic slasher... or if you just want to see Jack Black getting killed in a horror movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyably cliched, 12 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This film is the most fun I've had for ages. Playing "Spot The Stiff" (pretty much most of the cast), guess when the killer is going to jump out next (just when the character relaxes), & whether it is actually going to be the killer, or some random character who is then going to say "Sorry, didn't mean to make you jump", or "Ooops, wasn't thinking". And when you're not doing that, there's always the clunking great plot contrivances & logic gaps to enjoy, or even just watching characters stupidly wander off by themselves, or walk to the other end of the room by themselves, or maybe say something silly like "Well, I haven't seen any trace of a killer" - Doh!. As if all that isn't enough, there's a hugely fun score by John Frizzell, some fine camera work (the lighting effects are particularly impressive, ..). What more could you possibly want? Except perhaps good plot, characters, etc. etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews