Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, warm, madly funny
This movie is a joy to watch and to watch again. It has, above all, a great heart and tells a moving story. That this story should also be laugh out loud funny is a true delight. Gene Wilder has never been better as the mad, sensitive Dr Frankenstein, but the whole ensemble cast shines. There are no dud moments in this film.
Given that it is a comedy pastiche of...
Published on 3 April 2003 by pottingshed

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Young Frankenstein Blu-ray disappointment
I love Young Frankenstein and as such I had been looking forward to the Blu-ray edition with baited breath, what a disappointment when looking at this version and finding the transfer is done so contrasty that all detail is lost in the shadows, and it being a dark shadowy film this causes a lot of problems. The extras are good with a few more than the DVD has, so I would...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. G. P. Goodall


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, warm, madly funny, 3 April 2003
This movie is a joy to watch and to watch again. It has, above all, a great heart and tells a moving story. That this story should also be laugh out loud funny is a true delight. Gene Wilder has never been better as the mad, sensitive Dr Frankenstein, but the whole ensemble cast shines. There are no dud moments in this film.
Given that it is a comedy pastiche of the great black and white era classics, you might think that it would pall after a viewing or two, and that the jokes would have a short shelf life. Far from it. Knowing what is coming actually helps the movie as you savour the next great joke. There is love in this film for the genre that they are affectionately portraying, there are no "cheap shots" or cynical gags in this film.
Although played for laughs, this is a "real" movie with fantastic scenery and music which lend authenticity and drama, contributing to the telling of the classic Frankenstein tale. The Black and White shots are in many instances beautifully framed and lit. Gene Wilder looks genuinely crazed.
The DVD issue represents good value too. The extras are definitely worth watching, with truly bizarre Mexican publicity material (the cast interviewed in Spanish, which they only partly follow), outtakes, cut scenes, making of documentary and a commentary by Mel Brooks. The evident enjoyment of the cast comes though in the extras, and you will have just as much fun watching the whole package.
In sum, this is a great presentation of a very funny movie, with quality extras, that you will enjoy for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Funny Funny, 19 Sept. 2001
By 
Ms. C. Driver (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not only does the photography add authenticity to this spoof of early horror films, but you have the insane comedy of Mr Brooks, the lovely Gene Wilder, the brilliant Marty Feldman and the under-rated, wonderful Madeline Kahn!
Like everyone else I too can quote lines from this film at whim!
"Frau Blucher!" and the affect that name has on horses, Igor singing "I ain't got no body", Igor's hump, Igor's sarcastic comments to Fronkensteeen on the pronounciation of their names and especially the song and dance routine ("Putting on the Ritz"!).........I could go on and on........this film, although personally I don't feel quite matches "Blazing Saddles", will absolutely have you in stitches, I guarantee it.
"It's twoo, it's TWOOOO!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankenshtein iss vallowing een ees gandfadda's vootshtaps, 19 Jun. 2004
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
People might find other Mel Brooks films to be funnier, pointing to "The Producers" and "Blazzing Saddles," but I still think that "Young Frankenstein" is far and away his best film ever. Of course this might be because a lot of the credit goes to Gene Wilder, who co-wrote the script and plays Dr. Frederick Frankenstein, grandson of the infamous monster maker who finally decides to pick up the family business.
Then there is the first-rate cast, with Peter Boyle as the Monster ("Putting on the Riiittzzzz"), Marty Feldman as Igor ("What hump?"), Madeline Kahn as Elizabeth ("Ah, sweet mystery of life at last you've found me!"), Terri Garr as Inga ("Roll, roll, roll in the hay!", and Cloris Leachman as Frau Blucher (Neeeeiiigghghh!!!!!). I even like the film score by John Morris that sets the right tone from start to finish, including the haunting theme that lures the monster back to the castle where he was born (with a nice French horn part for Igor).
But what I really think makes this film work is that there are several scenes that are played absolutely straight, such as when Frederick reclaims his family name and the Monster is tormented in the jail cell. Then there is the doctor's speech at the moment of creation, which stacks up against anything you will find in any of the classic Universal Frankenstein films: "From that fateful day when stinking bits of slime first crawled from the sea and shouted to the cold stars, "I am man.", our greatest dread has always been the knowledge of our mortality. But tonight, we shall hurl the gauntlet of science into the frightful face of death itself. Tonight, we shall ascend into the heavens. We shall mock the earthquake. We shall command the thunders, and penetrate into the very womb of impervious nature herself!"
Wow. Read that and tell me that Brooks and Wilder did not know what they were doing in this one. Yes, this is a comedy, but it has a strong affection for the films it is spoofing, "Frankenstein" and "The Bride of Frankenstein," that comes through in several excellent homages. The extra material included on the DVD shows that Brooks and Wilder left lots of funny shtick on the cutting room floor, which should not surprise anyone. There is no reason that "Young Frankenstein" and "The Producers" cannot be included on anybody's list of Top 10 Comedy Films of All-Time. They are both are mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The sign of a great Mel Brooks film (on the whole) is one in which he doesn't headline. Both Twelve Chairs and The Producers are excellent examples - Blazing Saddles pretty much leaves him in extended cameo roles and Young Frankenstein is by far one of, if not his best. He's also nowhere in site. Don't get me wrong, I like him and I think he's a funny man in interviews and stand up (Check out an Audience with....) but I don't like his acting (Possibly with the exception of To Be of Not To Be but in that he surrounds himself with some fine performances)

Young Frankenstein is a very funny parody of the Universal 1930's movies Frankenstein and Bride of Frankenstein. It's filmed in Black and White with a musical score replicating the era. All the performances are great, Marty Feldman being a standout. The actors pretty much play it straight even if Feldman gurns at the camera a couple of times (this works on this occassion).

Running gags don't outstay their welcome and the story has a pretty coherent plotline throughout. There are lots of classic scenes with my favourite being Peter Boyle's Monster meeting Gene Hackman's Blind Man.

Mel Brooks films in the UK have not really hit the blu ray market by any strength. The picture is cleaned up but the extras are simply ported over from the DVD. Luckily there are plenty of them to make this a fine package.

If you already have the extras packed DVD, I wouldn't necessarily suggest you buy this unless you MUST have everything on Blu Ray.

I'm tempted to give four stars as it is identical to the DVD but the film is my favourite of the Brook's catalogue so gets the five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mel's Masterpiece, 1 Sept. 2011
By 
M. Joyce (Cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I've just caught up with this movie again after a long time; I loved it when it first came out and, boy, I love it now! Of course, it helps that I am a big fan of "The Son of Frankenstein" which it parodies so lovingly; indeed, the art direction and the black and white photography brilliantly matches that of the original...Mel Brooks might be an old ham (albeit a kosher equivalent thereof), but he certainly knows how to do it with style! His co-writer, Gene Wilder, is on superlative form in the title role, while Peter Boyle manages to be both moving and comic as the monster. Brooks' regulars, Madeline Kahn and Kenneth Mars (hilarious in the old Lionel Atwill part of the Police Chief) are on top form and Teri Garr is a revelation. The comic talents of Marty Feldman are put to good use and the always brilliant Cloris Leachman is, well, brilliant as always, but this is a superb ensemble cast, including a surprise cameo from Gene Hackman, of all people, as the blind hermit. The film is just the right length, no gag is laboured (unlike in some later Brooks' films) and it is beautifully put together. A comic masterpiece, indeed! Extras include an illuminating director's commentary from the irrepressible Mr B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For what we are about to see next, we must enter quietly into the realm of genius., 2 May 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Young Frankenstein is directed by Mel Brooks who also co-writes the screenplay with Gene Wilder. It stars Wilder, Marty Feldman, Peter Boyle, Teri Garr and Madeline Kahn. Music is by John Morris and cinematography by Gerald Hirschfeld.

Filmed in black and white Brook's movie is an affectionate spoof of the Frankenstein movies that came out of Universal Studios back in the 1930s.

There wolf, there castle.

You are either a Mel Brooks fan or not, there doesn't seem to be any middle ground. However, even his most ardent fans admit not all of his productions have paid dividends, but when on song, as he was in 1974 (Blazing Saddles also released), it's justifiable that those fans proclaim him as a spoof maestro. Ineviatbly a bit tame when viewed today, Young Frankenstein is still a picture of high comedy and clinical execution of the film making craft. Everything works, from acting performances, the gags that are both visual and aural delights, to the set design of the Frankenstein castle. It also boasts a smooth storyline, this is not a hodge-podge of ideas lifted from those Universal monster classics, it has a spin on the story and inserts its own memorable scenes along the way (Puttin' on the Ritzzzzzzzz, Oh my!).

Of its time for sure, but still great entertainment for the Mel Brooks fan. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest movie of all time, 21 July 2002
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Both the editorial and the customer reviews are so thorough that one can only list one's personal favorite scenes. First of all, I found it very funny that Dr Frederick Frankenstein takes the TRAIN to Transylvania. Also the scene at the station where he asks the boy, "Pardon me boy, is this the Transylvania station?" Then of course, Inga who asks him from the back of the wagon, "Dr Frankenstein, vould you like a roll in ze hay?" and of course on the way to the castle, when the howl of a wolf is heard and Frederick says rhetorically "werewolf" whereupon Igor responds with some irritation, "There wolf", pointing to the woods, "and there castle", pointing straight ahead. There's also the redoubtable Frau Blucher, who insists on bringing him something to drink before he retires: "Brandy? Visky? Ovaltine? Varm Milk?" and the dramatic scene where the mystery of the violin player starts to unravel and she confesses, hysterically, "Yes! Yes! Yes! He vass my ... boyfriend!" The scene at the Bucharest Academy of Science where Frederick demonstrates the talents of the "monster" is a highlight among highlights, especially when the two of them start to tap dance and sing "Putting on the Ritz." Finally, Frederick's wicked smile when after the wedding ceremony, Inga asks him what he received in return for giving the monster some of his precious brain fluid. One doesn't need to be familiar with all the old classics that this movie sends up, in order to enjoy it on its own merits. I suppose it becomes more funny if you do know the classics, but this one can stand on its own feet very well. I reckon this must be the most hilarious movie ever made and it never fails to reward the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brooks best, 29 July 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Although 'Blazing Saddles' is better remembered and 'The Producers' more critically acclaimed (Mel Brooks won an Oscar for the screenplay), Young Frankenstein is the best and the funniest film he has ever made. Its a wonderful comedic homage to the original James Whale films made back in the 1930's. So this is much more than just a parody. The original sets were recreated, in the same location, and the film is shot in black and white which brings back happy memories of Bride of Frankenstein (itself a black comedy).

Mel Brooks was very lucky to have Gene Wilder as leading actor for his best films. In the 1960's and 1970's Wilder was a comedy actor without peer. Effortlessly funny, and here right from his opening scene, at a teaching Hospital he's brilliant. The classic moment in this scene is his growing anger whilst holding a scalpel. Well you can guess what happens... Wilder does it with brilliant comic timing. Seeing the film again recently it struck me that Wilder would have made a great silent comedy star. Evidence of just how good Wilder was in this era, is that he even out performs the late Marty Feldman. The rest of the cast are nearly as good with Cloris Leachman and Peter Boyle both giving marvellous performances.

Gene Wilder also gets writing credits with Brooks as well and between them they produced a great script with a stream a great one-liners:

Frankenstein: Igor, would you give me a hand with the bags?
Igor: [doing a Groucho Marx] Certainly, you take the blonde and I'll take the one in the turban.

The DVD has some great extras, with the commentry by Mel Brooks being a particular highlight. Its both informative and funny. I haven't watched the documentary on the DVD yet. Overall this is a superb disc and a film that should be in everybodies collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Young Frankenstein" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues On The 'US' Disc..., 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I saw this at the cinema (back in the day) and was amazed. In fact anything Mel Brooks and Woody Allen put out at the time seemed to be dripping in anarchic magic.

But if you're buying on BLU RAY - stick to the UK issue – this may sound obvious but Region Coding rears its ugly head. The American version on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED – so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

The UK variant is cheap too and has a very good print. Stay with that…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You VILL enjoy ziss film!, 26 Sept. 2005
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It is a credit to director Mel Brooks and to Gene Wilder, co-author of the screenplay, that this film has lost none of his comic impact since it was first released almost 30 years ago. Seeing it and The Producers (1968) again recently, I was reminded of the fact that Brooks' best comedies are those in which he does not appear. Also, I was again impressed by Brooks's respectful treatment of the original material (i.e. Mary Godwin Shelley's novel), more so than any of the earlier film versions, notably one starring Boris Karloff as The Monster.

What else to say? The ensemble cast of Brooks regulars (Boyle, Kahn, Leachman, Mars, and Wilder) are all outstanding, joined by Marty Feldman, Terri Garr, and a surprisingly effective Gene Hackman as the Blind Hermit. In only a few other films has Hackman's gift for comedy been utilized. The ones I recall are three of the Superman films, Get Shorty (1995), and The Birdcage (1996): to a lesser extent in Unforgiven (1992) and The Royal Tenenbaums (2001).

Nonetheless, the irrepressible Brooks could not resist the temptation to add some special seasoning of his own such as, for example, the schtick involving the word Blucher. (Frau Blucher finally admits that the late Henry Frankenstein was her "boyfriend"). As Brooks well knew, Gebhard von Blucher was a Prussian field marshal during the Napoleonic wars, infamous for his abuse of horses. (Following retirement from military service, his mental health was questioned when he claimed that he was pregnant with an elephant after being raped by a French grenadier. Such a claim could indeed raise questions.) Igor's shifting hump is also vintage Brooks as are the scenes when Frederick von Frankenstein (Fronk-un-STEEN!) bids farewell to Elizabeth (Kahn) before his train departs and then later when Inga (Garr) is happily "rolling, rolling, rolling in the hay" wagon.

However, Brooks never allows such zaniness to overcome (obliterate?) the flow of the narrative as is sometimes the case in his other comedies. Although it may be difficult to believe, there is great dignity in this film which never serves as a target for ridicule. (That is what I meant earlier when suggesting that Brooks and Wilder are respectful of the original.) Even the slapstick (slapschtick?) such as it is helps to advance the plot.

For these and other reasons, this is my favorite Brooks comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews