Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great print of an often-overlooked classic!
I've been after a pristine print of this film for years, ever since I picked up a fairly shonky region 0 copy half a decade ago for what was (back then) the bargain price of 7.99. My head had been turned by the hard-to-get Criterion Collection region 1 release, but frankly, spending the best part of 20 on a single film is quite an indulgence nowadays, so when I saw this...
Published on 19 Aug 2008 by DL

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, horrible DVD ...
This is a great film, one of my favourites. Since at least 10 years I've had a copy on VHS, which is now showing its age. The quality of the tape is very poor. I was therefore looking forward to a brandnew version on DVD.
But unfortunately this DVD is not what I had expected. There are no other languages but English, the menu only contains a short scene selection...
Published on 6 Mar 2004 by wov53


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great print of an often-overlooked classic!, 19 Aug 2008
By 
DL (from in front of the biggest screen in the village) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charade [DVD] (DVD)
I've been after a pristine print of this film for years, ever since I picked up a fairly shonky region 0 copy half a decade ago for what was (back then) the bargain price of 7.99. My head had been turned by the hard-to-get Criterion Collection region 1 release, but frankly, spending the best part of 20 on a single film is quite an indulgence nowadays, so when I saw this studio-sanctioned release for less than a fiver, I snapped it up.

Well, I wasn't disappointed. The anamorphic print is clean and bright, and looks like it was filmed yesterday - aside from the fact that every frame oozes 1960's-era class. I'm lucky enough to be able to project my DVDs, and at 10ft wide and 6ft tall, this print of the film positively shines! As for the film itself, well, in my opinion Cary Grant overdoes the whole "Cary Grant thing" a little, but Audrey Hepburn is luminescant, and the supporting cast (Walter Matthau and a very mod-like James Coburn among them) don't put a foot wrong. No extras on this disc, but completists will be glad to hear that Hepburn's reference in one scene to "assassination" (not a good word to use in a major film script in 1963) has been seamlessly restored.

Due to an oversight, the film's copyright notice wasn't included in the credits, so the film went into the public domain, which is why there are so many budget DVD releases of it. Don't be tempted to save 1 or so on an inferior copy, THIS is the one to go with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Charade, 31 Aug 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Charade [DVD] (1963) (DVD)
Cary Grant. Audrey Hepburn. A hidden megafortune. Three nasty pursuers. A slick, chic thriller with a Hitchcockian edge.

With that kind of formula, it's not surprising that "Charade" deserves every shred of praise it receives -- and over the years, this classic has received a lot. Director Stanlet Donen had his finest moment when he created this funny, witty, tightly-plotted little thriller, where you're left with questions right up to the final scene.

While on vacation at a ski lodge, Regina Lampert (Hepburn) decides to get a divorce. But when she returns home, she finds that her husband has been tossed off a train -- and even stranger, she finds that he was mixed up in a gold robbery many years ago. To get her mind off her problems, Reggie goes out on the town with Peter Joshua (Grant), a guy she met at the resort.

But during her outing, she's cornered by three strange, creepy men -- and the worst part is, she finds that Joshua may be in on their plot. Unsure whom to trust, Reggie starts digging to find out where the gold is -- and then her pursuers are murdered one by one. Will she be the next target?

It's a sharp, taut little thriller, reminiscent of the more commercial thrillers by Hitchcock, though set in a chic 1960s Paris setting, and with a New Wave edge. Stanlet Donen did mostly comedies in his career, which makes the tight plot and wry wit of this movie stand out even more.

The movie moving along at a fairly steady pace, with one or two dead spots, but mostly just following the twisted plot threads. There are some really harrowing moments, like Regina being attacked by the Hook-man. By the tense finale, a lot of the odd little clues suddenly fall into place, especially the murder of the three thugs. It's a brilliant piece of scripting, even if the storyline is a bit unreal.

Fortunately it's not all spy-thrills and revenge. Donen could change from action to horror to comedy in a moment, and he keeps the quieter moments lively with funny dialogue and some sophisticated slapstick, like Grant showering fully-clad. The witty dialogue is full of glorious one-liners. "You won't be able to lie on your back for awhile," Reggie quips, "but then you can lie from any position."

Though Grant wasn't wholly comfortable playing opposite Hepburn, the two actors have kinetic chemistry. Whether they're goofing off, or chasing a kiss in a nightclub, they feel entirely real and romantic. Better yet, nobody knows who Grant really is or what he's doing, so there's an added element of danger to their relationship.

This tightly-plotted, fast-moving thriller deserves to be as well-loved as it is, and cinephiles should be ashamed of themselves if they haven't yet seen it. A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How's it compare to Criterion?, 27 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Charade" Blu-ray + DVD (Park Circus). Well, I've only compared the new DVD R2 by Park Circus and the the DVD R1 by Criterion, but, at least, they are a different transfer. The grain is less intrusive in the Park Circus, but apparently this is not due to DNR but to a different color coding and generally brighter image, which masks some of the grain. So, the Criterion DVD looks darker. Unfortunately, the Park Circus brightness also masks some of the detail in the faces: Audrey's pinkish glow, witch bothered some people in the resent "Breakfast at Tiffany's" Blu-ray, gets enchanced (the clothes, however, have fine detail). This is partly due to the source material and the original style of the period - "soft focus" was used to compliment the actors star quality.

In my opinion the Criterion DVD looks more natural than the Park Circus DVD, so perhaps Criterions Blu-ray (region A only) is just a little bit stronger, too? Notice also, that if you already own the Criterion standard definition DVD, the upgrade to high definition is not a great leap. However, if you have only seen "Charade" on tv or on one of those horrible public domain DVDs, you will be simply delighted with the Park Circus Blu-ray. So, nice work from the British company with good image presentation. Minus points for the lack of substancial extras or any subs. At least English subs would be welcomed in the European market, as many of us understand written English better than spoken English and are not used to following lenghty dialoque-scenes without some support from subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic gem, 12 Jan 2006
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charade [DVD] (1963) (DVD)
At last we have a high quality DVD of this excellent classic film. Hepburn and Grant sparkle as one might expect, and James Coburn and Walter Matthau are suitably villanous. This original version is vastly superior to the recent remake, much more subtle, much better acting, much better script.
After buying and returning two different very poor previous versions, this Universal edition is a worthwile addition to any movie buff's collection. It is only the basic film, no extras other than the usual scene selection languages and subtitles, but who needs extras when the film delights the heart and mind as much as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, horrible DVD ..., 6 Mar 2004
This review is from: Charade [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film, one of my favourites. Since at least 10 years I've had a copy on VHS, which is now showing its age. The quality of the tape is very poor. I was therefore looking forward to a brandnew version on DVD.
But unfortunately this DVD is not what I had expected. There are no other languages but English, the menu only contains a short scene selection and the quality is horrible. The film appeares blurred and far too dark, the audio quality is lousy. In comparison my 10 year old VHS tape looks and sounds much better.
I recommend this film to everyone who likes this mix of murder mystery and comedy, the great cast and the flair of 60s Paris. But avoid the version on this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Awful DVD Copy, 3 Feb 2004
This review is from: Charade [DVD] (DVD)
This is a charming, witty and sophisticated piece of entertainment with two stars at their best. Just do not watch this copy. It is unwatchable! It appears to be the worst old VHS copy transferred on to DVD. Picture and sound abysmal! I couldn't bear more than 5 minutes. It has been returned and I'm seeking a better copy elsewhere. Beware!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly an all time classic, 12 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Charade (Wide Screen) (DVD) (DVD)
This file is one of my all time favourites, and having only seen it on TV in pan & scan, to see it at the correct aspect ratio was a real bonus. For a film of its age, there are visual problems, but overall it seems to have transfered to DVD without too much of a problem.
The film is excellent, but there isn't much else on the disk - which is a shame, and the quality of the extras is very poor - very dirty and grainy trailers for example.
However, extras aside, it's an excellent film, which is still enjoyable today, and the DVD transfer is perfectly acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slick and stylish romantic comedy-thriller, 8 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charade (Wide Screen) (DVD) (DVD)
Charade was perhaps made towards the end of the heyday of the romantic comedy-thriller. Although directed by Stanley Donen, it has the feel of Hitchcock about it, and this was in the days when they still worried about plot, good looking stars and dialogue rather than relying on special effects.
The basic story involves a search for CIA money stolen in the last days of World War 2 by a group of GI's. Audrey Hepburn's husband is murdered in France (in 1963) for reasons unknown to her. Cary Grant becomes involved as a (supposed) innocent but sympathetic bystander, as Hepburn is threatened by her husband's ex-associates (including James Coburn and George Kennedy). Walter Matthau seems to be from the CIA and on her side, but is determined to recover the funds. everyone is sure Hepburn has the money, but she is convinced she does not. Characters are despatched one by one in suspicious and sometimes ludicrous circumstance, much to the annoyance of the local French police. (One man is found "drowned in his pyjamas and in his bed" for example).
The dialogue is witty; the plot has some good twists and turns; Hepburn is as beautiful as ever; and anyone who tells you the ending is no friend.
Minor irritations are not important - one of the support actors is very weak and they could have made more of the Paris locations. However, in general, very enjoyable and one you can watch several times. I didn't find the transfer to DVD to be particularly bad - don't let this put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Terrible dvd., 11 Feb 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charade [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favorite Cary Grant films and I agree with Dave , this copy is completely unwatchable. The print is like the worst video (with poor tracking and sound) which has been transferred to DVD. There is no excuse for this kind of poor quality with todays Hi-tech equipment. Im sending my copy back today and hopefully can get another copy elsewhere. Dont let this put you off the film, its a brill film made my a master crasftman, Stanly Donen, known for his style and flair. Its worth watching, just dont buy this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent BluRay of a Great Movie!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having already bought a DVD of CHARADE some years ago, which was very poor quality, apparently because the movie was in the Public Domain which meant that anybody could legally copy it, I was delighted with this BluRay edition - the film is now available in this beautiful High Definition version restored to it's full glory. You will be very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charade [DVD] [1963] [US Import]
Charade [DVD] [1963] [US Import] by Stanley Donen (DVD - 1997)
Used & New from: 7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews