Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet replacements!
Having recently moved from a property with a kitchen fully fitted with soft close doors, I was fed up at the new place with the occasional door banging! These hinges are a direct replacement for the majority of kitchen unit hinges and they work very well indeed. They are excellent value and of good quality. I would recommend them unreservedly!
Published on 15 Dec 2012 by Mikey

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HAFELE hinges okay, but BLUM better.
These are soft close HAFELE hinges.

The problem with this advert is that different sellers seem to be selling different combinations of the mounts (the bit that goes on the inside of the cabinet) and the hinges (the arm that attaches to the door in the 35mm hole).

The photos for example shows door hinges with the holes centered and offset. The mounts...
Published 3 months ago by OceanMix


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet replacements!, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
Having recently moved from a property with a kitchen fully fitted with soft close doors, I was fed up at the new place with the occasional door banging! These hinges are a direct replacement for the majority of kitchen unit hinges and they work very well indeed. They are excellent value and of good quality. I would recommend them unreservedly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HAFELE hinges okay, but BLUM better., 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
These are soft close HAFELE hinges.

The problem with this advert is that different sellers seem to be selling different combinations of the mounts (the bit that goes on the inside of the cabinet) and the hinges (the arm that attaches to the door in the 35mm hole).

The photos for example shows door hinges with the holes centered and offset. The mounts also come in different versions which might use thin self tapping screws or the thicker euro screws for pre-drilled holes.

If you are replacing existing hinges you should not have to drill or fill in holes *if* you get the correct combination of mount and hinges to match your existing ones. The problem is the lack of details in this advert and sellers not knowing what combinations they are selling.

On to the hinges themselves.

The dampening mechanism is hidden in the hinge body which looks tidy. However I think the dampening action starts far too early. When you close a door it starts to dampen at about 45 degrees or half way in. Hence the door takes a long time to close.... it is kind of overly dramatic if you know what I mean.

When you open a door with these hinges there seems to be more resistance and the door springs/ bounces open which I think over time might weaken the hinges, mounts or screw holes.

The quality of the hinges are okay but I had a few where the U pins where not pressed into the hinges properly making the whole hinge less rigid.

Personally I will not get these HAFELE hinges again. I will stick with BLUM hinges which I think are better in terms of quality and dampening action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good product, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
I ordered these hinges wondering if they would work considering the price,but they are brilliant.You do need to use 2 hinges per door whereas on the more expensive ones you only need 1. I would recomend these hinges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work really well and excellent value!, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
These soft close hinges work really well and stop those annoying banging kitchen cupboard doors. They are a simple fit replacement for standard hinges. The soft close piston is built into the hinge so there are no additional bits sticking out all over the place. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such smoothly closing doors, 22 Jun 2013
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
I ordered these to replace broken damper buffers, but these hinges work so much better than the previous damper buffers - the damping starts so much further out. I've now ordered a second pack for all doors, not just the ones with broken dampers.

I must say also that cabinetsforbathrooms gave me excellent service when I mistakenly ordered the 'inset' version (stay away from those unless you know you really need them!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great hinges, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
I replaced all the hinges in the kitchen and what an improvement from the doors banging that we had just got used to. Should have done this sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
Very Good Quality, very easy to fit, and does exactly what they say, I have been trying to find some like this for a reasonable price for ages, so was pleased with this price. Would Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Hinges - easy to fit and adjust, 4 Oct 2014
By 
Rock Ape (St James SE, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent hinges suitable for replacement or for new work.

The design makes fitting and adjusting about as easy as it could get. Firstly the two parts can be fixed to the frame and door respectively. Then the door part simply clips and latches onto the frame part for an almost instant and secure attachment.

There are then two screw heads visible for door alignment. One screw moves the hinge away/towards the frame and the other screw moves the hinge away/towards the back of the cabinet - this allows both axes to be independently adjusted without the need to undo or move the fixings. If up/down adjustment is needed, then this is done by releasing the frame fixing slightly and pushing up/down as needed, then re-tightening (like all these type of hinges do). This sounds more complicated when trying to explain it in writing, but in practice it really is straightforward.

In my case I've used them to replace old hinges and found that one type were an exact replacement with all screw holes exactly aligned, whereas another type needed the two small door fixing holes to be drilled about 3mm away from the old holes. This was easily accomplished by plugging the old holes with some wood (matchstick!) and drilling new pilot holes. One minor point to mention is that the door fixing holes, on the hinges I received, were not as shown in the main photo - they were about 3mm more towards the edge of the door. Had they been as shown in the main photo, then my set of doors that needed pilot holes wouldn't have and the others would! As different manufacturers appear to have no standard for the location of these fixing screws, then it'll be a matter of luck if they match or not those to be replaced. I've now noticed that the second photo shows where the fixing screw holes are but, perversely, this is a different model of hinge with different adjustment screws!

The cushioning effect works well, pulling the door gently shut without a sound. There is a minor issue with the cushioning effect in that the door needs to be at least half open to "re-charge" the damper - in practice this isn't too much bother.

Please note that the small screws for fixing to the door were not supplied nor were any instructions.

Time will tell if they are reliable and have a good lifetime.

All in all very satisfied and will probably buy more.

Post script: I ordered another set, but this time they were supplied by "warm-smile" and they were not the same type; the depth adjustment was the more conventional screw clamp that doesn't allow very fine adjustment. The first set were supplied by Suki Hardware and, in my view, are superior and worth the extra 49p (Suki price £13.49). Note that they both show identical photos for their hinges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really well engineered, but..., 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
Impressive engineering. Works well on standard kitchen cupboard doors. However, the spring is not powerful enough to shut the door of my built-in fridge. This has a normal door covering the fridge door and unfortunately the the spring is not quite powerful enough to pull the door closed. I'd welcome any recommendations for a model with a more powerful spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt service, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE (Kitchen & Home)
The product is very good and it does te job very efficiently, I would definitely recommend to my friends who want to upgrade old kitchen cabinets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE
10X SOFT CLOSE KITCHEN DOOR HINGE by 35MM SOFT CLOSE HINGE FOR KITCHEN,BEDROOM AND BATH
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews