Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the Best Book on Go in English, 20 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books) (Paperback)
This book is ideal for anyone interested in go who has got beyond the basics. It is particularly suited to anyone who has got stuck in a rut with his/her game and no amount of studying or playing the game seems to make any difference. It's certainly the best book I've ever read on go and it improved my game by 4 stones (8 kyu UK to 4 kyu UK). Though you should be slightly beyond the mere beginner stage, this book is aimed at anyone weak or strong. Don't be misled by the 'Fundamentals' in the title. This is not really a book that someone who has just learnt the rules should be reading. What Kageyama means by 'fundamentals' is the simple things that professional players take for granted but which amateurs often mishandle or get confused about. Just as a successful rugby team will always get the fundamentals of passing, handling and tackling right, a successful go player will habitually be strong at the fundamentals of reading, cutting, connecting, getting ahead, counting and so on.
What makes this a classic is Kageyama's delightful, conversational style constantly challenging you to review your weaknesses and work at strengthening your grasp of the fundamentals. This is written by someone who's been through the mill himself and knows what it's like to struggle at improving one's game. An amateur for many years, Kageyama eventually turned professional and developed into a strong if not brilliant player, never actually emulating the top players. The book is full of amusing anecdotes chronicling his career as professional player and teacher.
A must for every go player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on go in English, 6 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books) (Paperback)
This book is ideal for anyone interested in go who has got beyond the basics. It is particularly suited to anyone who has got stuck in a rut with his/her game and no amount of studying or playing the game seems to make any difference. It's certainly the best book I've ever read on go and it improved my game by 4 stones (8 kyu UK to 4 kyu UK).
Though you should be slightly beyond the mere beginner stage, this book is aimed at anyone weak or strong. Don't be misled by the 'Fundamentals' in the title. This is not really a book that someone who has just learnt the rules should be reading. What Kageyama means by 'fundamentals' is the simple things that professional players take for granted but which amateurs often mishandle or get confused about. Just as a successful rugby team will always get the fundamentals of passing, handling and tackling right, a successful go player will habitually be strong at the fundamentals of reading, cutting, connecting, getting ahead, counting and so on.
What makes this a classic is Kageyama's delightful, conversational style constantly challenging you to review your weaknesses and work at strengthening your grasp of the fundamentals. This is written by someone who's been through the mill himself and knows what it's like to struggle at improving one's game. An amateur for many years, Kageyama eventually turned professional and developed into a strong if not brilliant player, never actually emulating the top players. The book is full of amusing anecdotes chronicling his career as professional player and teacher.
A must for every go player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, but mandates multiple readings, 24 April 2009
By 
Mr. N. Moffatt (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books) (Paperback)
I have been playing Go since 1990, and have acquired a plethora of bad habits. My play is a hybrid of snippets from here, there and everywhere. This, I suspect, is not so uncommon - learning by example.

This book arrests such tendancies. Nips them in the bud, and roots you back in the very basics of sound play. But all is not apparent from the first reading. I strongly suspect that each re-reading enhances the message.

And such rereading is very much in accord with the principle message of the book. Namely that the fundamentals should be so heavily ingrained that they are second nature, allowing you to play effortlessly.

My only real concern is that for kyu players, there is sometimes an assumption that a resultanting position is obviously superior, but without much investigation into rebuffing typical kyu player responses.

However, such omissions do not really detract from the value of the book. Indeed, digressing to discuss the handling of kyu play variations would make the book more of a labour, and re-expose us to failing playing styles.

Buy and read it slowly 5 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, more so at each rereading., 6 April 2010
By 
Dr. John Caldwell (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books) (Paperback)
This is simply the best English language Go book I've seen.

It has a light, conversational style but gently teaches the mode of thought of the author, an impressively credentialled professional player.

Strongly recommended- a must for players of every strength from about 20 kyu upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crucial reading to improve your game, 10 Feb 2010
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books) (Paperback)
First of all the book is readable. This isn't always true of Go books. The wisdom is mixed in with anecdote which kept me there as I struggled with the topic.

The book is credible - the author does a very good job of "been there made that mistake" which also helped me stay engaged.

Uniquely, in my experience, this book also spends a reasonable amount of time discussing stupid moves and why they are so, which I found to be invaluable. Further I was pleased to get advice on what not to do, e.g., (slightly exagerated for effect) "don't bother studying Joseki, get the principles right" which validated my inability to read even two pages of "38 Joseki".

Before I even finished it the first I think I improved by one stone. Definitely value for money there, then.

It will require re-reading, it is a book to keep by your side, to dip into, gleaning a bit more each time. It's the best book I've ever bought since Iwamoto (which is a great place to start)

Of course, anyone that has previously bought any book called "Fundamentals of <subject matter>" will realise this isn't a beginners book. However, as a self taught player, this one has definitely improved my understanding.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you read one book on Go, make sure it's this one., 7 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books) (Paperback)
This is THE book. For kyu players, it will instantly improve your strength by at least one stone, and over time many more. It did wonders for my game when I was first learning the fundamentals. I'm looking forward to reading this book again - currently it's on loan to a friend, then he finished it and lent it to someone else. It's one of those books that's just a pure classic that everyone should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for the GO improver, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books) (Paperback)
A systematic look at GO for the improver, very well regarded by amateur go players.

Worth reading once you are out of beginner stage, and worth re-reading after that to get a push to the next level. Some commentators have claimed that reading this book made them 2 stones stronger.

For beginners who want to improve quickly, Graded Go Problems for Beginners: 1 (Beginner & Elementary Go Bks.) is an excellent first problem book that starts very gently, and ramps up gradually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is the one, 18 Oct 2007
By 
R. Mayne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books) (Paperback)
if you can only buy 1 go book, this is the one! A must for go players of all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go (Beginner and Elementary Go Books)
Used & New from: £21.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews