Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars22
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2008
Got this book for Christmas and was impressed as soon as I opened it. The designs are ranged from fundamental models, simple models, intermediate and then complex models. All designs appear to be unique and are very well diagrammed. The author also includes a lot of text information about geometry and the crease patterns resulting from the folding of these designs.

I probably would not recommend this book to absolute beginners as even the fundamental models can be tricky to fold without a good understanding of origami techniques.

Anyone with an interest in this absorbing hobby should consider this book as it is so well laid out and very well produced.

Models include a Mouse, Squirrel, Partitioned Box (from a Bird Base, this is clever design), Wild Boar, Human Figure, A Devil Mask and a Tiger Mask (nice 3d designs) and many others. Instructions are also included for the designs shown on the front cover, something that does not always happen with some books on the art.

Highly recommended.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
I have a lot of origami books and consider this an exceptionally fine work. First off, its nicely printed. A convenient size in water semi-resistant paper; colour photos of every model; and clearly coloured folding instructions. Dover could learn a lot from the presentation.

The model instructions are accompagnied with far more text than is usual, but this is discussion of origami theory as particularly exemplified by the model rather than a supplement to the instructions. Though in poorly expressed English, these text panels are fully understandable, interesting, and can profoundly add to ones understanding of the model in particular and origami in general.

The models themselves are excellent, varying from beginner to complex. But Maekawa's style, though unique and surprising in some ways, is also clean and logical, with far fewer forced and ungainly folds than Lang. Think Montroll with recursion.

I recommend this book for both the origami novice and the seasoned folder. Its a delight.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
This is by far my favourite origami book. All of the models are fun and interesting to fold, and the author has included some fairly detailed comments on nearly every model - the origins of the model, or the maths behind how the folds combine together, for instance. The models themselves are fairly impressive; they're not always the best looking, but there are plenty of great ones and I enjoyed making them so much that it doesn't bother me.

It's not quite for beginners; there are some simple models at the beginning, but I'd recommend looking up some free tutorials as a bare minimum before buying this. But, to anyone who has folded before, this is a brilliant book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
This review comes from my son aged 11:
This book contains some of the most detailed diagrammed instructions you will ever see, incredibly beautiful models of marked complexity and some amazing mathematical theories for each model to be experimented on. If you are an origami designer, it gives you loads of new bases, folds and ideas for new designs. But just a word of warning; the models in this book are of high complexity, so I recommend not buying it until you have been folding for at least two-and-a-half years. If you want a beginner's origami book, you'd best go for Everything Origami by Matthew Gardener, or one that specifically says "for beginners" in some sort of way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I really love this book. The best thing about it is that the diagrams are good. The author incorporates at theme (folding related) for each model, and the book i gives you a progression from what the author classifies as elementary models to the hard ones. I haven't been folding for more than a year myself, but the "elementary" and "easy" models are not for beginners in my opinion. The book has diagrams and instructions for a lot of great models, and I'm looking forward to being able to fold the peacock for example myself!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
This book contains a very wide array of models of varying levels of complexity, most of them extremely good, with a couple of odd choices. What is most impressive though is the theory behind how the models are constructed. In reading the theory sections during the construction of the models themselves, the reader will pick up on many concepts which can be useful in designing your own models.

The instructions themselves are extremely well diagrammed as well and in full colour. There has been real care taken on that front.

The models within as I have said vary considerably in complexity. None of them will trouble a serious folder, although some of them such as the devil shown on the front cover are fairly time consuming. There are models that novices will easily be able to complete.

All in all, there isn't really anything that I can fault this book on. It's a fantastic book, and I can only recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
This book has many very nice origami models ranging from simple to complex. Apart on how to fold the models, there is a lot of additional information on geometric/mathematical aspects of the models. I also found the indication of which size of paper to use for each model convenient.

Although I like the book on the whole, there are some things that could have done better. The complex models are definitely complex, but not all of the simple models are simple. For example, the Japanese Macaque is a simple model, but the crease pattern fold that is required is explained so badly that I simply fail to make it. I have encountered similar problems with some of the other models too. On the other hand I find some of the intermediate models quite simple.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Bought this as a gift and the person has made some of the things from the book with no problems so instructions work
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
I have been involved with Origami for 40 years and this is quite the best technical book on the subject I have found. It tries to show the mathematical basis and application for every stage and technique of the craft from very simple starter models through to the most complex (and terrifyingly complex some of them are!) with wit, enthusiasm and a firm belief in the power of geometry and mathematics. Absolutely fascinating; a great addition to the books about Origami!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
Yes this book does contain full instuctions for the devil!! It also has -Eastern Dragon & Samurai Helmet Beetle in the complex model section. some of the diagrams require a good imagination, but most are easily understood.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.