Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and amusing
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:16 Mins
This isn't the usual travel guide book that tells you where to go, it's one that Florent Chavouet drew to show you where he went. He's a French guy who's in Japan to accompany his girlfriend because she's working there.

It's a 208-page paperback filled with colour pencil drawn observations on the places he went. There are interesting...
Published on 23 Aug. 2011 by Parka

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like it but . . .
When I first saw 'Tokyo On Foot' I was enthralled by the quirky illustrations done in coloured pencils. I've travelled to Japan many times & love all aspects of Japanese culture. The illustrations are on the most part interesting, but it was all the comments surrounding them (supposedly by the author, but set in a wOnKy FoNt) that annoyed me.
The author is supposed...
Published 19 months ago by Paul85


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and amusing, 23 Aug. 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
Length:: 1:16 Mins

This isn't the usual travel guide book that tells you where to go, it's one that Florent Chavouet drew to show you where he went. He's a French guy who's in Japan to accompany his girlfriend because she's working there.

It's a 208-page paperback filled with colour pencil drawn observations on the places he went. There are interesting notes on the people and culture and his many little adventures.

His beautiful colour pencil illustrations give Tokyo a very different look and feel. It's a light-hearted look at Tokyo as a tourist. I don't know if Tokyo is this colourful, but in the book it is.

The hand drawn maps are nicely drawn with icons and places of interest. On some pages, there are collages from things he collect, like cutout of manga panels and the bicycle parking tickets he got for parking in restricted areas.

It's an amusing book to check out.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight into a crazy world, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
I'm heading to Tokyo in a month and have bought numerous guide books to help me, i saw this and read the reviews and decided to order a copy and was definitely not disappointed!! the book is beautifully drawn and has some very amusing comments, the drawings are both basic and expertly detailed at the same time, showing Tokyo in a almost comic book style. this book will not serve me well as a "guide book" but has given me added excitement for the country I'm about to visit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Pictures, 3 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
This is a really lovely book. I saw the French version ('Tokyo Sanpo : Promenades à Tokyo') in a bookshop in Lille, and wanted it immediately. Unfortunately, my French is far from perfect, but when I looked up the title on Amazon, I found this, the English version (apart from the cover, the two books are identical).

The illustrations are beautiful, the maps are stunning, the character studies charming. The accompanying text is interesting and often funny. I found it very inspiring.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves illustration and/or design, and also to anyone who loves Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like it but . . ., 31 July 2013
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
When I first saw 'Tokyo On Foot' I was enthralled by the quirky illustrations done in coloured pencils. I've travelled to Japan many times & love all aspects of Japanese culture. The illustrations are on the most part interesting, but it was all the comments surrounding them (supposedly by the author, but set in a wOnKy FoNt) that annoyed me.
The author is supposed to be French, and yet the book is entirely in ultra-American English. Aspects of the city and its people are constantly being compared to how things are 'back home'(America?).The book is full of words like 'Moms','City Hall','bucks',etc. His hand-drawn maps always seem to highlight the location of Western Fast-food outlets - as no Japanese food is featured in the drawings.
The author gives the impression of never really understanding (or wanting to understand) the new world around him - despite having the gift of spending six months in Japan. The 'Imperial Palace' is mockingly called 'Emperor Land' on his map of Tokyo. 'Funny-looking' & 'weird' are favourite terms he uses to describe what he sees.
He seems to be complaining all throughout - like how 'far' Machiya is from the centre of Tokyo,compared to Takadanobaba - (Machiya is actually closer). I tired of his whining about being detained by the police - all because he couldn't care less about how to behave in Japan.
This is not a guide book, just a collection of illustrations depicting a self-limited experience of Tokyo.
If the book was reprinted without all the text, It would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Artbook, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
It is really worth buying. Cheap and awesome, my kind of thing xD Very good quality drawings, and really funny comments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hand-drawn Tokyo., 3 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
This book is a must-buy for those who have been or have an interest in Tokyo. The detailed hand-drawn pictures and maps really do remind me of the uniqueness of Tokyo and its people. The book is divided into neighbourhoods and manages to bring back some warm memories for me as it offers a comical look at how things are done in the Japanese capital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "gaijin" down to earth view of Tokyo, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
The books presents and illustrated diary of the author stay in Japan. I love the drawings and the comments of the author.
If you have not been to Japan or lived in Tokyo (my case in both accounts), you would probably fill that you are missing a lot, however the book is word reading. I found in entertaining and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, informative and fun., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
I bought this as a Christmas present for 2 family members planning a trip to Japan. The reviews implied the book was quirky which I thought would appeal to the recipients, and I was right. It was browsed a lot on the day and the attention to detail clearly appreciated, so in this case it was a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
Perfect book, lots of information. Great illuastrations, full of curious things, maps, arquitecture...a lot of information in this book
I will keep it and recomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods (Paperback)
This book has some amazing illustrations which are very detailed. It's an easy flick through coffee table book which is great for browsing through :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods
Tokyo on Foot: Travels in the City's Most Colorful Neighborhoods by Florent Chavouet (Paperback - 30 July 2011)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews