Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !!!
I, like many other people learning Japanese, am constantly confronted by Romanji (Japanese written in English characters) the problem is that this doesn't allow you to really progress with your learning as it is an 'easier option', if you have learned how to read/write in Japanese then books written in romanji are a step backwards.
Finally, a dictionary written in...
Published on 21 Nov 2004 by E. Coldridge-Holmes

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but with one huge failing
Okay, so... i agree with all the previous reviewers here:
- It's really nicely printed
- Furigana is a blessing, and it's not too small at all
- I'm not far enough in my studies yet to be having too much trouble with the lack of vocabulary.
BUT! Nowhere on this page could i find mention of the following very important fact that you should be aware...
Published on 20 Aug 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !!!, 21 Nov 2004
By 
E. Coldridge-Holmes (Crewe, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary (Paperback)
I, like many other people learning Japanese, am constantly confronted by Romanji (Japanese written in English characters) the problem is that this doesn't allow you to really progress with your learning as it is an 'easier option', if you have learned how to read/write in Japanese then books written in romanji are a step backwards.
Finally, a dictionary written in Furigana (Hiragana/Katakana the small characters written beside or above Kanji characters to help you pronounce them) this gives you great practise in reading Japanese and reinforces your knowledge of Japanese characters and the way that their alphabet is written.
In order to use and make the most of this dictionary, you must be able to read Hiragana/Katakana which is actually REALLY easy even for complete beginners !
Definitely worth buying, I've only had this book for about 2 months and it's already very worn because I reffer to it so often. Learning Japanese ? ~ you NEED this dictionary !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little dictionary!, 8 May 2009
By 
J. Odell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary (Paperback)
This being the first Japanese-English dictionary I have bought so far, i can't really compare to others. I can however recommend this to anyone who is studying the Japanese language, as it is written in furigana, it's great for practicing your hirigana and katakana and boosting your Japanese vocabulary, whilst doing so almost entirely in Japanese (always a huge plus!).

I suppose the downside to this dictionary is the font size, though thats nothing a little reading magnifying glass cant handle, plus it makes the book small enough to take around with you in a bag.

Two thumbs up from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary (Paperback)
I have found this dictionary incredibly useful and easy to use. It contains a broad selection of words. The furigana (kana above the kanji) is particularly helpful and was one of the reasons I purchased it as many dictionaries do not have this.
Was recommended to me by Japanese teacher and School. Good for both japanese students and foreigners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but with one huge failing, 20 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary (Paperback)
Okay, so... i agree with all the previous reviewers here:
- It's really nicely printed
- Furigana is a blessing, and it's not too small at all
- I'm not far enough in my studies yet to be having too much trouble with the lack of vocabulary.
BUT! Nowhere on this page could i find mention of the following very important fact that you should be aware of:
There is no indexes. None. Now, being a relative newbie to the world of Japanese dictionaries i'd just assumed it would have an index by radical and stroke count, at least. But nothing of the sort.
So... most of the times i need a dictionary while *reading*, and for that this dictionary is TOTALLY AND UTTERLY USELESS.
So far the only thing i've used it for, is to look at the examples. I'd look up the kanji in wwwjdic, and then once i know how it's pronounced, i may look it up in this dictionary for some extra info.
If i wasn't too lazy to do so, i would return this book and ask for my money back without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Romanji?, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Ryuto (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary (Paperback)
WARNING! This dictionary is only of any use if you can read hiragana/katakana. It contains no romanji (Western script). So if you hear a Japanese word like 'hana' (flower) you cannot simply go to the 'H' section and look it up-you have to be able to read and understand the Japanese script. The addition of romanji would have made this publication accessible to even the rawest beginner, and this fact is not made explicit by the publishers. In its present form, I'd suggest this publication is designed for intermediate learners who are conversant with hiragana, and not for those just learning Japanese conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary
Kodansha's Furigana Japanese-English Dictionary by Yoshikatsu Nakamura (Paperback - 8 Oct 2001)
Used & New from: 9.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews