Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great variation on his usual books
This is a story without words, good for encouraging interaction in autism, great on understanding the idea of friendship, naming, colours and everything else that Carle does so well.
Published on 24 July 2009 by Love2Read

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars beautiful illustrations... lack of words
I bought this for my autistic son hoping that it might help him as a social story... he loves all of the eric carle books that we have so far, i have found that the other ones that we have do help him see how he "ought" to behave. however, this book only has pictures and so i feel it would be better for a much younger child than him, he prefers to read along as we go, if...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by joanna69


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great variation on his usual books, 24 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a story without words, good for encouraging interaction in autism, great on understanding the idea of friendship, naming, colours and everything else that Carle does so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story without words, 11 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife and I work extensively with children's groups and often find it hard to explain to parents the difference between 'reading' and 'telling' a story. This book makes the distinction quite clear: there are no written words, so the story has to be 'told'. The pictures are delightful, with every page hinting at the next one, and lots of wild animals to guess. Should prove a favourite with any child able to recognise an elephant, giraffe, lion and so on. This bok should be in every pre-schooler's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do you want another Eric Carle picture?, 8 April 2013
By 
Ms. Kayleigh J. Nisbet "kay769" (Derbyshire, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes we do, once again a very simplified, easy book for the youngest children. It allows them to build the confidence to talk about their thoughts and feelings and express their own ideas about stories with particular themes and characters. The size, weight and material of the book also allows them to develop physical confidence and ownership in handling storybooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has he ever written a bad book????, 5 April 2013
By 
J. Lynch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Eric Carle has proved to be a big hit with my 4 year old Grand-daughter, she knows most of the books she has of his by heart and loves to tell me the story as I turn the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children love Elmer, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book for younger children, but mostly picures,not enough actual reading for my grandson who is 6yrs old, but nevertheless
he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars beautiful illustrations... lack of words, 2 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my autistic son hoping that it might help him as a social story... he loves all of the eric carle books that we have so far, i have found that the other ones that we have do help him see how he "ought" to behave. however, this book only has pictures and so i feel it would be better for a much younger child than him, he prefers to read along as we go, if we were to make up the words to go with the pictures then it just would not hold his interest... lovely lovely illustrations as you would expect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do you want to be my friend, 31 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an unusual book, you can make every story you tell your child a little differently when you use this book to tell a tale
Use the pictures, and if you are prepared to use your imagination, children will love it.
I think a must have in any collection of books for your child
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book that allows you to add your own story telling, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You need this in your child's book collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do You Want To Be My Frien
Do You Want To Be My Frien by Eric Carle (Hardcover - 1 May 1991)
Used & New from: £6.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews