Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Includes A Poster Map....
I'm in agreement with the content of the other reviews, although I tend to read the relevant sections after I've completed the tasks/missions, just out of further interest....

The only thing I will add is this volume DOES include an A3 double sided poster map with all Zones and places marked on it, which I have found to be very useful. This is not clear on the...
Published on 26 Nov 2008 by J. Collins

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Precise... perhaps too precise
This is one of those "go to X kill the mutant on the left, pick up the item on the right, hack the waterfountain to gain access to...." guides. Because it's full details of what foes are at what location and what rewards you will recieve for kiling them it takes away much of the sense of surprise that makes the game enjoyable. If you are like me and just wanted some (ok...
Published on 16 Nov 2008 by Shamblesmaybe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Includes A Poster Map...., 26 Nov 2008
By 
J. Collins "Jono" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I'm in agreement with the content of the other reviews, although I tend to read the relevant sections after I've completed the tasks/missions, just out of further interest....

The only thing I will add is this volume DOES include an A3 double sided poster map with all Zones and places marked on it, which I have found to be very useful. This is not clear on the product information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware inadvertant spoilers, 1 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. A. R. Snape "a_snape" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide to an excellent game and will no doubt add to your enjoyment of the game in finding all the items and achieving success in the quests.

However, there is one completely stupid thing in the guide. The Achievements section is in an Appendix with the location of the Bobble-Head figures that boost skills/Stats. On the facing page to this appendix is the various outcomes for the Game Ending!!!! It is extremely easy for a wayward glance during a scan of the appendix to see a game-breaking spoiler> Such a decision and not leaving a blank facing page has made me dock this guide a point.

So, caveat emptor. Enjoy the guide but take care it doesn't blow the whole game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to know but couldn't be bothered to find out yourself, 6 Jan 2009
By 
B. Bell "Gubs" (Ayr, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
An excellent companion to an excellent game.

Having played Fallout 3 for 20+ hours prior to receiving this companion as a gift, I had a lot of questions about the game and this gude didn't disappoint! As the game is HUGE and jam packed with content, the guide is (fortunately) hefty and well written. It answers just about every question you could ask from the locations of all weapons caches/stimpack locations/bobbleheads/enemies (play the game if you don't now what I'm talking about) to the various outcomes of the game when played from different angles (i.e. whether you're a good or evil character and what you specialise in - shooting, stealing, sneaking, etc). The guide also presents and describes all map locations in a logical manner although the accompanying map itself can be a little confusing. It's far better than nothing though as the capital wasteland is vast!

Although the game can be played in many ways and begs to be replayed several times just to experience the various outcomes, the guide can be as useful or as useless as you want it to be. Yes it contains all plot spoilers and will lead you by the hand through the game if you let it but that's the point of it - it wouldn't be much of a companion if you couldn't rely on it to get you out of a sticky situation or help overcome a frustrating enemy.

Yes you can complete the game without it but the guide lets you replay several times over with a different character twist or without wasting time wandering around the wasteland aimlessly. The only reason it's not getting five stars is because I'm spending far more time replaying the game than I should - dammit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide To An Excellent Game, 13 Feb 2009
By 
T. Moran (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This guide is perfect for navigating through the huge game that is Fallout 3, it coveres all the platforms so it make no odds if you are playing on the X-BOX, PC or PS3.

The guide is broken down into different sections so you can always find the information that you need quickly. The layout means that you can find information without spoiling the plot and ruining the game.

I don't use guides to cheat and always play a game through blind first, but on playing this a second time I decided that I wanted to find all the bobbleheads and the is a section that simply tells you the locations - but without specifics. You could then go to the relevant information on the loaction in the massive "Wasteland Guide" section and that will pinpoint the exaxct position.

I would rate this a a guide rather than a cheats book and think that it was well worth the money. It enchanced my game play rather than detracting from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have purchase, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. T. Knott "sodablower" (Lincolnshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I always like to use a strategy guide whenever possible when attacking a new game and this one was superb. Not only do you get a full deatiled run-through of the main story line but it lists the following too -
1. All side quests
2. Every district in detail
3. All bobblehead locations
4. All acheivements
5. All xp upgrades
6. Rare weapon locations
7. Mini nuke locations
8. Nuka Cola Quantum locations
9. And a complete map of the entire wasteland both above and below ground.

Believe me, if you want to get EVERYTHING out of this game (which is alot!) then this guide is a must-have purchase. I have never spent so much time on a single game ever before - i started in February and completed it 100% around July! This time-frame does include all DLC content too.
Speaking of which, the DLC is the only thing that the guide doesn't cater for. Whether Bethesda will release an updated guide or not i don't know but even if they don't, you can get full guides for the DLC off of IGN.

So in conclusion i'll just say that while some guides are somewhat naff and un-helpful, this one is an absolute cracker! Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detail extreme!, 7 Feb 2009
By 
F. Dirkes "tailgunna" (Berlin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
They must have put hundreds of hours into researching this guide, so kudos to the team. The amount of detail is amazing, so it's no wonder that it may take a while to come to grips with the many maps and appendices. I believe they did the best they could mapping out the possibilities that lie within the various quests - depending upon how you decide to act - though the charts can be a bit confusing at times. Of course, the best way to play any game is to ignore the guide and simply let it flow, but this guide is very helpful if you want to know where certain items are hidden, where to go to get things done, and how to let your character realize its full potential. And besides, with Fallout 3 you don't face the same problem with the guide "spoiling" the game for you. True, Fallout 3 is most fun when you just walk out the door and explore on your own, but this guide is simply too helpful in helping you get through what is an extremely complex gaming experience. The guide isn't an absolute must have, but i'd recommend it to anyone seriously interested in discovering what the Capital Wasteland really has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cheater's best friend, 10 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Liam Edward Sharratt "Olmecius" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I began to play Fallout 3 a couple of weeks before getting this guide, and I have to say that playing with the guide isn't just easier, it's more enjoyable. You're able to delve deeper and range wider than you probably would be able to on your own. Recommended for both Newbies and Veterans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Precise... perhaps too precise, 16 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This is one of those "go to X kill the mutant on the left, pick up the item on the right, hack the waterfountain to gain access to...." guides. Because it's full details of what foes are at what location and what rewards you will recieve for kiling them it takes away much of the sense of surprise that makes the game enjoyable. If you are like me and just wanted some (ok lots of) handy tips about the game rather than a walk through you might want to look else where, probably some forums. That said if you want to know every nuance of the game then this is as complete a guide as you will find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fallout 3; The Official Strategy Guide..., 23 Feb 2009
By 
A. Thatcher (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This guide is for all you gamers out there that want to get your money's worth out of this excellent title, without it you will miss a good half of this game. If you just want to do the main quest then you are done in a few days, but there is so much more and this guide will help you all the way. It has a double sided fold out map of the entire wasteland. Do you want to know where the crashed alien spacecraft is and the occupants blaster? Then look no further.

Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War and Peace for the Fallout 3 World., 16 Mar 2009
By 
C. Ellis (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
As soon as this book arrived, I deleated everything saved on my Ps3 regarding Fallout 3. This is a massive book covering loads of things i had already missed playing the early stages of the game. No one says you have to follow the book 100% but in a game of varying ways to play this book may guide you in so many directions. Great quality and pictures. Top guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide
Fallout 3: The Official Strategy Guide by Future Press (Paperback - 31 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: £17.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews