Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2008
This book has got to be part of a tattoo enthusiasts library. The photographs are superb and the right up is thorough, covering all the expected aspects of Irezumi. Big book, great price, buy it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2009
Although this book may seem expensive, it is vital for anyone serious about Japanese tattooing!

The quality of the photography is excellent and there is a broad variety of source material. There is little written text in this book, but the text that is included is of a very high standard (with a brief but useful summary of some of the traditional motifs contained in Horimono that is concise and well written).

The book focuses on a range of traditional and modern Japanese tattooists, rather than some of the other books that purely focus on Sensei Horiyoshi III.

I collect books on Japanese tattooing and would seriously recommend this to both collector and tattoo enthusiast alike!!!!

Glorious
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
Ok it maybe expensive you're thinking but this book is fantastic and worth every penny , the photography is crisp and clear and every page is printed on lovely high gloss paper .

The book has a great mix of modern and traditional style tattoos from some of Japans most talented artist including Horiyoshi III , Horiyasu and Ryoki .

If you love Japanese body suits , looking for inspiration for your own next tattoo or hell just like owning great looking books then i can say this books for you as i very much doubt it will disappoint .

Amazon or the publisher edition-reuss should have this book on here with the Look Inside feature .
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
Anyone who is interested in Japanese tattoos will not be disappointed with this stunning book. The quality of the pictures and the diversity of the tattoos is amazing. Expensive but worth it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2009
I already have some other books on japanese tattoos but this one is beautiful. A big hard cover book with plenty of full page colour photos. It's given me some new ideas for my next sleeve!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2010
This was bought for our son who is a professional tattooist. The book has high quality pictures and top quality paper. He was impressed and pleased to have the book as he has a great interest in Japanaese Tattooists. This is a great reference book for the professional
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
I bought this book as a coffee table book after reading some positive comments on the picture quality. Maybe I'm a bit harsh here, but a book with a 99£ price tag I expect top tattoo pictures all the way. I find too many of the close ups out of focus or maybe a little blurred. When you see a full body photo and it looks great, the close up should look even better or at least as good. That's not the case here. The info says it's printed 2008, could be time to lower the price or make a new 2014 version with best camera equipment available and even picture qualities through the whole book. I'll buy "Tattoo in Japan V.2", if you up your game by 20 %.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Wonderful !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2010
Expensive book - very high quality print and photography but too many pictures and not enough written information. Also many of the subjects were trying too hard to be 'trendy' being photographed with their tongues sticking out. Is this a Japanese custom I am not aware of. It made the pictures look a bit childish like holiday snaps. Overall disapointing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)