Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb piece of work , a true tribute of treasured memories.
This book is an absolutely superb piece of work. Packed full of glorious photos , facts and figures , stories and humorous anecdotes that document the life of the Legend that was Colin Steele McRae . This is a book you pick up time and time again and enjoy something different each and every time. It is full of treasured memories for me and is something I will keep , in a...
Published 20 months ago by Captain Cumbrian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good book on colin
Published 5 months ago by Euain Sutherland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb piece of work , a true tribute of treasured memories., 12 Nov. 2013
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
This book is an absolutely superb piece of work. Packed full of glorious photos , facts and figures , stories and humorous anecdotes that document the life of the Legend that was Colin Steele McRae . This is a book you pick up time and time again and enjoy something different each and every time. It is full of treasured memories for me and is something I will keep , in a safe place , forever. Colin McRae was the man who put Rallying back on the map in Britain and made Subaru a Legendary performance car marque. His "If in doubt , Flat Out!" style and skill made him the favourite of many many petrolheads throughout the world and this book reflects that beautifully. Thank You Colin McMaster and David Evans. Just buy it , its a no brainer !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting tribute to a legendary driver, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
G. R. Hill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
This book is a fitting tribute to a rally legend. The authors, Colin McMaster and David Evans, clearly knew Colin well, and have put alot of heart and passion into producing this book.

Colin McMaster is the UK's leading rally photographer, and David Evan's is the UK's leading rally journalist.

The book includes hundreds of great photographs from McKlein's extensive database, many of which were previously unpublished. The book tells the story of Colin's career, year by year, with paragraphs and quotes about key events from leading figures of the sport, who had a unique insight at the time, including his co drivers, Derek Ringer and Nicky Grist, and key team figures from Prodrive and M-Sport including David Richards, David Lapworth, Luis Moya and Malcolm Wilson.

I followed Colin's Career from the early days, and particularly enjoyed the anecdotes and personal insights which had not been published in previously books or publications about Colin.

I would strongly recommend this book for anyone interested in rallying, and who lived through that fantastic era of the 1990's and early millenium when Colin and Richard Burns dominated the sport, winning 6 RAC rallys between them, and two world championships, the likes of which, unfortunately, we are unlikely to witness again.

I now look forward to the authors book on our other British rallying great, Richard Burns.

Hard to believe neither are still with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book giving an accurate insight into Colin's life and adventures, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
Being an avid rallying and Colin McRae Fan for many years this book was a MUST buy.
Colin McMaster and David Evans have captured the life, adventures and career in pictures and words brilliantly.
Even when you have read this book you will still pick it up time and time again to look at the amazing pictures and reread your favourite times and tribulations.
The book covers Colin's whole life and career with stories and information from those closest to him and who had the upmost pleasure in meeting and becoming part of his life. The quotes from people who knew Colin best bring the hairs up on the back of your neck reading them and reminising with them as you get drawn within this masterful publication.
This book 'Just Colin' is the most indepth and accurate documentation of his life and career ever produced and I would recommend any Colin and rally fan read it.
Lucy Owen-Moczadlo
JucyRally Owner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for all rally fans - superb!, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for all rally freaks. It's a fantastic compilation of history, pictures, first hand family and friends memories of a star. The title says it all. If you think you're a rally fan but do not have it on your shelve yet, you're not a rally fan and there was never a petrol in your blood. Great for upcoming christmas or any other occasion.

Book gets highest notes. Amazon not so great though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for rally fans., 9 Nov. 2013
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
I was waiting for this book to come out for months and I must say that I was not disappointed when I finally got my hands on it. The book has obviously been a labour of love for Colin McMaster and David Evans and it has been beautifully compiled and presented.

Colin McMaster is one of the greatest rally photographers who has been following the WRC for a long time and the photographs he has picked for this book really help to tell the story of Colin's life and career.

David Evans is a foremost rally journalist and his words complement the pictures well.

There are interviews with those who knew and worked with Colin throughout his career and even though I thought I knew most of the stories about Colin, I was left with a new understanding and knowledge about Colin the person.

Finally, I would not hesitate to recommend this book to any rally fan, as it really is a must read for anyone who has an interest in the sport. Even those who only heard of Colin through his later exploits at the X games and the computer game which bore his name will enjoy this, as Colin was larger than life and there are some great stories about him, all documented so well in this book.

Go and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Title sums it up, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
Colin had one of the biggest fan clubs in the world because of his never give up style of driving, He was a pleasure to watch and gave his fans so much joy just a shame that he was taken from us so early. RIP Colin we miss you so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing a story about a National Hero, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
Sadly Colin is no longer with us, but this book relives all the highs and lows of his career in an interesting format from those that were close to him throughout his career as a top class Rally Driver on the world stage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read and a Must Have for all McRae fans!, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
Great addition to my Colin McRae memorabilia collection.

Great Pictures.
Well laid out.
Interesting insights.

A complete history on the life of the great Colin McRae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing book, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
A fab book for all rallying fans about the driving icon that is the amazing late Colin McRea. A must for all fans. Fyll of information and photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McRae: Just Colin (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for my son. A nicely done and very informative insight into a man who left this world far too early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

McRae: Just Colin
McRae: Just Colin by David Evans (Hardcover - 30 Sept. 2013)
£35.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews