Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars27
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£40.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2013
From the moment you pick up this weighty book, you instinctively know it's a tour de force.

It feels great to hold, the paper stock is premium quality and the photographs are beautiful. This is a classic book.

It showcases the abilities and incredible imagination of bike builders from all around the world and some designs will leave you breathless. Can people really build machines like this?

You can feel the love that went into every aspect of this book. If you love motorcycles from the beauty of what they are and can be, you have got to buy this book.

A work of art may be an overused term - but to me, this is what it is. Buy it. Now.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
If you follow BikeEXIF through social media or mailing list, this book is a addition to your library.
With many of the same stunning photos of the bikes that you see on the 'net, this book expands that by including many of the words from the builders themselves.
The one and only negative I will give is that the book did not come with a hard slipcover that is apparent in the advertising from BikeEXIF. It is a big heavy book, and really needs the slip cover to avoid damage and to keep it in prime condition.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
Excellent large format coffee table book. Superbly photographed, should give any aspiring custom bike builder plenty of ideas. Could do with a little more technical detail.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
If you want technical detail buy a Haynes manual.
If you want a book crammed from cover to cover with stunning photography of some of the classiest machines on the planet, buy this book.
It gives a fascinating insight into the world of some of today's most respected builders, exploring different ideals and paradigms of the builders and of the the global custom scene as a whole. This is a fantastic piece of advertising for a culture that had for too long given over to the garish and tastless (ie: American Chopper) and that has been revived- largely by people mentioned within- into what it is today.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
My husband doodles pictures of bespoke motorcycles on the napkins whilst waiting for his dinner (I had to start using paper ones!). He buys the 'perfect' motorcycle and then just has to upgrade the suspension (but only to make ME more comfortable on the back), after which comes a new, sexier screen (to shield ME from the wind), upgraded brake calipers (for MY safety) and a new exhaust for more horsepower (to make rides more fun for ME). Invariably, once it's just completely fab he sells it and buys another 'perfect' bike. And there we go again... So I was rather worried about encouraging him with a book full of beautiful custom bikes and thought he might go into some sort of frenzy, pave over the garden and build a large garage. He was delighted with the book and thought it the perfect birthday gift (although he did actually want a Motus MST R). He tells me that the book contains one of the most interesting selections of custom bikes he's seen, that they are beautifully photographed, and that the book is very well presented, well-written, and a pleasure to browse through. A bike mad friend visited for the weekend and the book kept the two of them occupied for hours. So ladies, if you have a bike-mad man this is a great pressie for him, and a treat for you. For it will calm down his bikey mates when they visit with their 'babies' and they will even wash their oily hands before touching it! You can safely go off and do something without fear of parts being dragged in and dismantled on your freshly-polished kitchen table. I must confess, I have had a good look at it myself and have drooled over some of the beauties in this lovely book. It has pride of place on the bookshelf and is highly recommended for bikey guys and girls or just people who like looking at very beautiful works of art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Really awesome book with amazing content. It is fascinating to read how these guys operate. The whole presentation is impressive. Kudos to everyone involved.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I purchased this as a Christmas present for hubby who is a motor bike fanatic and has three bike projects going on. He is very pleased with book, it's excellent quality and hubby says well worth the money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Great book. Good pictures and lot if ideas. Will keep me entertained for a while.

Definitely a modern classic that stays very well in and out of my bookshelf.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
If you are a lover of "Garage bikes & Steam Punk" what is there not to like? An unusual history of a genre fighting against the "Big Guns".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Although very expensive and I wouldn't normally buy this sort of thing My son put it on his Christmas wish list and thinks it is a great book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)