Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern exploration of dandyism
Books on men's wear and particularly the well-dressed man are rare. For those who are looking for a handbook, I suggest Roetzel's "Gentleman" or Flusser's "Dressing the Man".

“I am Dandy” is a different book. In aesthetic photographs by Rose Callahan and interviews by Nate Adams, they charter the modern dandy in samples from the...
Published 8 months ago by Sgt Pepper

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The Fop
Well-photographed, but the author(s) incessantly confuse the dandy with the fop; an expected blunder, sadly.
Published 25 days ago by Chinati O'Stoole ("Caz')


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern exploration of dandyism, 23 July 2014
By 
Sgt Pepper (Cosmopolitan in Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I am Dandy: The Return of the Elegant Gentleman (Hardcover)
Books on men's wear and particularly the well-dressed man are rare. For those who are looking for a handbook, I suggest Roetzel's "Gentleman" or Flusser's "Dressing the Man".

“I am Dandy” is a different book. In aesthetic photographs by Rose Callahan and interviews by Nate Adams, they charter the modern dandy in samples from the mainly the Anglo-Saxon world- Adams is particularly skilful in depicting the variety and difference in philosophy between these dapper dressers. They all have in common that they are well dressed.

Adams and Callahan are particulary sympathetic in the depiction of their subjects; they are open-minded, respectful and capture the essence of the different dandies bon mots. In fact, they do so well, that there a number of people presented in this book I’d invite for dinner to liven up the conversation.

It is quite possible to pick up a few tips on dressing as well. None of the subjects in the book is slave to fashion (though not surprisingly many actually work in the industry); many are retrospective, but all create their own style. This is mostly a book about finding your outward expression – a statement of individuality – than about clothes. Some are well off and have a personal tailor, others are flat broke, but does not succumb to poor dressing in the face of adversity. There are many ties, club collared shirts in contrast fabrics and lively coloured socks, but almost without fail the have excellent colour coordination. The impression after reading this is that dandyism is the daring to be yourself and express it, combined with an immaculate sense of colour and aesthetics that make you dandy. It was an entertain read, and I should like to have more of it. Are there more volumes to come? A sequel about the sprezzatura?

I’d read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am Dandy Review, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I am Dandy: The Return of the Elegant Gentleman (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book, full of wonderful pictures and insights into the minds, wardrobes and homes of some very colourful Dandy characters. I absolutely love this book . a must for artists, eccentrics and aspiring Dandies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Fop, 7 Mar. 2015
This review is from: I am Dandy: The Return of the Elegant Gentleman (Hardcover)
Well-photographed, but the author(s) incessantly confuse the dandy with the fop; an expected blunder, sadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I am Dandy: The Return of the Elegant Gentleman (Hardcover)
I am Dandy is a lovely coffee table book and really enjoyable. If you enjoy reading about stylish characters, this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I am Dandy: The Return of the Elegant Gentleman (Hardcover)
A very good gift if your boyfriend is in to this classy gentlemen look! A nice birthday gift for a fashion lover too..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I am Dandy: The Return of the Elegant Gentleman
I am Dandy: The Return of the Elegant Gentleman by Rose Callahan (Hardcover - 15 Sept. 2013)
£31.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews