Customer Reviews


287 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Original
As a Harry Potter grown-up reader, I've grown used to criticism in the lines of the recent Byatt review. But I do think that there is a lot of comfort and interest in reading children's books in adulthood. It was lovely reading Artemis Fowl. The ingenuity of the literal and technological inventions of the writer was refreshing. The main characters enjoyable and...
Published on 12 Aug. 2003 by Adi Shtamberger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather a two-dimensional world
I picked up this one in a charity shop because Eoin Colfer (who I had always thought was called Coifer) has been announced as authoring the new H2G2 novel, 'And Another Thing...', and I was interested to see what he was like.

Overall, Colfer's writing ability does show through, but this particular novel did little to excite me. Yes, it is aimed a childrens'...
Published on 18 Jun. 2009 by Jim J-R


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Original, 12 Aug. 2003
By 
Adi Shtamberger "AdiTurbo" (Tel Aviv, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Harry Potter grown-up reader, I've grown used to criticism in the lines of the recent Byatt review. But I do think that there is a lot of comfort and interest in reading children's books in adulthood. It was lovely reading Artemis Fowl. The ingenuity of the literal and technological inventions of the writer was refreshing. The main characters enjoyable and believeable, though a bit Hollywood-streotyped. Self-humour and well-built suspense add to the fun. It was nice to see a children's author choosing characters that are different shades of grey, as in real life, and not all black and white. All in all, for a bit of good, soul-cleansing escapism, a very recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


199 of 218 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new edition of the original Artemis Fowl, 5 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
If you already own a copy of Artemis Fowl don't be fooled into think this is a different book - its a reprint.
On the other hand if you don't own a copy its a must have. A clever story with enough twists to keep anyone entertained. Artemis uses his intelligence to outwit a legion of fairies but manages to capture something more precious than fairy gold in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting twist on Fairies!, 6 Aug. 2011
By 
Jack M (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
Eoin Colfer has brought the idea of fairies right up to date, giving them advanced technology and the troubles of a modern society. Combine this with ancient rules that govern and limit their scope to use magic and you have a fun and highly entertaining book. And for the fairies you have a good deal of frustration! The central characters are all well rounded and likeable. I suppose Artemis Fowl is meant to be the bad guy but in truth he didn't come over as either evil or nasty. Instead he is portrayed as a person trying to get the job done and using his one main advantage, his intelligence, to do so. The supporting characters are also great fun; the indestructible Butler, the determined fairy Holly and the rather flaky Juliet, they all add to an enjoyable story. The plot itself was basic, don't expect anything deep and meaningful here, it is just what it is, a fast and exciting story for young and old alike.

There are quite a few more in this series and I am sure I will read them over time but as much as I liked this it is not one of those books that makes me want to go out and get the rest. Something for when I have a gap between other reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 20 July 2005
By 
canty (chav land england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Audio CD)
i thought this book was the best i ever read. i enjoyed it because it is a fantasy and it is very exiting all the way through.
it is about a 12 year old anti hero who sets out with evil intetions and ends up a better person. thanks to the help of captain holly short and his body gaurd butler.
i would recomend this book to anyone who can read as it is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


123 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Windmills Artemis Fowl, 27 Dec. 2003
This is not a new Artemis Fowl title but a new hardback edition by a different publisher - if you already have the first Artemis Fowl then this book is not for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Primary Teacher's Perspective..., 16 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
Another highly successful collection of books that give a new twist to faeries and all things mythical. Except unlike so many others of its kind, this book focuses upon the rather unlikely and unsavoury young aristocrat criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl. On a quest to steal leprechaun gold, he holds a young faery to ransom but gets more than he bargains for as the winged equivalent of the SAS storm his plush mansion.

Eoin Colfer's genius in this series of books is injecting a somewhat tired premise with a new twist. Particularly with this first novel of the long-running series, the reader is given plenty to think about as faeries have jet-propelled wings and mythical creatures are given a gritty and very tangible edge.

There is no doubt that many more readers of various ages will enjoy Artemis Fowl, and like the other modern heavyweights such as Harry Potter, Colfer's books can quite easily be enjoyed by readers of all ages. However, in a school setting the book is most likely aimed for a gifted Year 4 reader and up. Regarding curriculum links, there is potential for some extravagant and rather ambitious science and maths lessons that can link with events in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stop comparing this to Harry Potter!!, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Hardcover)
Having read the majority of reviews on this book people either seem to love it or hate it - there aren't many "in-betweenies!!"
Artemis Fowl is an unusual book from the point of view that Artemis is the bad guy rather than the Hero. I had heard all the hype too and thought that the book would be disappointing. Was pleasantly surprised to find that this was not the case. The lengthy descriptions we find in the Harry Potter series are not there and the fairy "world" is not as intricately described but the characters do actually all have "character". Each individual has their own personality and it is this, and the banter exchanged between them, that makes this book.
I really enjoyed Artemis Fowl and I don't think it's fair to compare it to Harry Potter simply because it has fantasy elements to it. Artemis will appeal to a teenage audience and I think boys in particular will enjoy it. This book was written with an audience of children in mind - it is not a difficult read and although it may not have the cult appeal amongst adults that Harry Potter has achieved, it will certainly be welcomed amongst children.
Remember this is not another Harry Potter - it is another fantasy story. So whether you like Harry or not, you should try to read this book without any preconceived ideas about it - you might just like it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Die Hard with Fairies!, 14 Aug. 2001
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Hardcover)
Don't expect a simple kids books Eoin Colfer delivers something wickedly enjoyable for children and their parents. A great storyline pared down to the bone with no surplus fat (unlike 500 page Harry Potter books!), this is a great funny and pacy read, full of superb ideas and great set pieces, such as the descriptions of the fairies riding the hot magma currents to the surface. The detail is rich, the gadgets incredible and the action quite violent and gory in places. Defintely one for less sensitive kids!
The movie should be terrific - I can see Cameron Diaz as Captain Holly Short, the plucky heroine. The Troll should be awesome and scary on the big screen. This is such a good read and a real treat. Don't miss out,buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 5 May 2003
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
Irish author, Eoin Colfer, yet again accomplishes writing a successful and incredible book, however this time, featuring the one and only Artemis Fowl. Eoin Colfer, writing such an excellent book, has managed to win many accolades including names such as:
· Short list of the Whitebread Children’s Book of the year;
· Winner of WH Smith “people’s choice” Children’s Book of the year;
· Winner of the British Book Awards Children’s Book of the year.
With the vocabulary and authority of an adult, adolescent Artemis Fowl (aged twelve) is not one to be patronised; Artemis is an extraordinarily intelligent criminal mastermind, causing bemusement in the smartest of people. However, possibly for the first time ever, even Artemis isn’t one hundred percent aware of what he’s up against when he, with his colossal range of capabilities, captures a fairy, Captain Holly Short from LEPrecon, Lower Elements Police. It’s not hard to be attracted to the complex, brilliant character of Artemis with his extraordinary intelligence, witty remarks and without a trace of diffidence. Artemis is one of the most original characters in children’s fiction. This fast-paced, smart, funny, page-turning adventure is an inventive combination of wit, myth, modernity, magic and crime; the traditional theme of good versus evil, but told in a different way.
Occasionally, Eoin Colfer adds humorous, relevant snippets suggesting imaginative possibilities, for instance, saying the word leprechaun originated from the word LEPrecon. It is this combination of aspects (as opposed to other magical, good-versus-evil books) which makes for an exciting atmosphere of unpredictability which lasts throughout the book.
In conclusion, the book was so good that, without a doubt, it effortlessly rises to the ranks of my all-time favourite books. This is a book I recommend for everyone, whether a child or an adult.
- Nathan Seneviratne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 16 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
I've made my children a promise - for a year and a day, I'll only read fiction aimed at young people. Artemis Fowl: what a place to begin!

The novel revokes every stereotype that children's fiction offered me in the seventies and offers instead a modern and sculpted twist on the world of magic and fairies. The concept of a villainous child prodigy is bleak but combined with the weaknesses that Fowl exhibits, every reader will be left willing him to succeed in his most dastardly of plots. Fortunately for the morality of the reader, the heroic fairy world is equipped to the hilt with a world-stopping array of technical gadgets and IT gizmos to stop Fowl in his tracks: almost. The cinematic narrative is easily imagined. This novel is creativity at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl-die Verschwoerung
Artemis Fowl-die Verschwoerung by Eoin Colfer (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews