Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful presentation case, great simple concept
I went to see the London Saatchi show LBJ by Karl, where the book was also available and it is a fabulous yet simple concept. Karl's photography is often quite simple, this is 100 or over models, celebrities, french cinema stars etc wearing in their own approach (or Carine Roitfield's more likely) the LBJ by Chanel.

One will obviously have some favourites...
Published on 14 Oct. 2012 by FXLXOX

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More narrative needed
A classic piece of Chanel - but would have liked a little more background story included. Having said that really wonderfully evocative pics.
Published on 11 Feb. 2013 by Julie Steed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful presentation case, great simple concept, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
FXLXOX (london, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
I went to see the London Saatchi show LBJ by Karl, where the book was also available and it is a fabulous yet simple concept. Karl's photography is often quite simple, this is 100 or over models, celebrities, french cinema stars etc wearing in their own approach (or Carine Roitfield's more likely) the LBJ by Chanel.

One will obviously have some favourites depending on the celebrity etc. Personally I loved these ones best: DAPHNE G, VANESSA P, CHARLOTTE G& JANE BIRKIN, CHARLOTTE C, spooky twins with long hair, LAETITIA, STELLA, LINDA, CLAUDIA, SJP, UMA, AYMELINE, ROMAIN, Chanel, INES, MAY JAGGER and more...A few males also feature wearing it, it works!!!
The book comes in a beautiful case, well worth the amazon price.
This is a great concept and to me far superior to Chanel latest F/W 2012 CAMPAIGN ironically. Maybe Karl spent a little too much time doing this show as opposed to finding his CHANEL campaign inspiration....His muses are all in the show, but no trace of Kate MOSS...very strange indeed....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a perfect coffee table book, 19 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
just perfect. the graphic, colors, the quality of the black print. so cool!! i didn't visit the exhibition but this book gave me a chance to see the different style of the same jacket on cool people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black & white photography at it's very best, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
I have bought this book for a Christmas present to one of my family. I'm sure she will appreciate the quality of the design and the people modeling the jacket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You need to get this!, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
What an excellent book. So beautiful and amazing. You don't need the words, those pictures will tell everything. I can only recommend to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More narrative needed, 11 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
A classic piece of Chanel - but would have liked a little more background story included. Having said that really wonderfully evocative pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Giftwraping, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
I purchased "The Little Black Jacket" book on Chanel's Classic design and with this I am truly happy and have no complaints.
However I did pay £2.54 for "Gift-wrap" and this is the issue on which I would submit my displeasure.
£2.54 is not a lot of money to pay, however I was extremely disappointed with how my package was presented as a "gift-wrapped" purchase.
The meaningful way I would display my dissatisfaction is that I shall never ask Amazon to include "gift-wrap" as an option on any of my purchases in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pictures look great. Love everything about, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
very stylish. pictures look great. Love everything about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Huge Disappointment!, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
Lilly Ford (Los Angeles , CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
I hate to write negative reviews, but I wholeheartedly disagree with the glaring reviews claiming that this joke-of-a-book is "spectacular"!!!!.

Luckily I didn't buy this book, as I got it as a gift and I don't plan on keeping it, its just a waste of space.

Where do I exactly start? The book is large and very heavy,yet oddly it is a paperback which could easily fall apart, and it's really hard to handle it. The size and binding make it a burden to try browsing the book's contents.

The inside is really lacking any artistic sense. All the photos are b/w, all the shots are taken against one lame grey background without any variations or nice touches to break the boring repetitive mood.

The whole book revolves around one single jacket!!! as if the house of Chanel never created various jacket designs throughout collections. Page after page there is nothing but one boring jacket worn in different styles already exhausted millions of times in different fashion shots, so basically nothing creative or even interesting is going on. Some shots looked ridiculous especially those of the male models. Most of the people chosen to model this single jacket seem random except for few celebrities, thus, making the book even less appealing.

This book has nothing to do with the house of Chanel, but has more to do with Lagerfeld's name, and the contents should have stayed in an exhibition form only. Fashion books should be colorful, creative, and showing a variety of designs and this book fails miserably on all those levels. Save your money and spend on other worthy books. If you want to see those photos, simply Google them, the entire depressing compilation is on display over there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven in a book!, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
Bigger than I had expected, but beautifully presented!
No complaints.
Beautiful paper, fantastic quality print, and it comes with a case to put it into, to keep it from harm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely coffee table book, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited (Hardcover)
I really wanted this as my desire for one of these jackets is huge!

Gorgeous glossy book perfect for flicking through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited
The Little Black Jacket: Chanel's Classic Revisited by Carine Roitfeld (Hardcover - 28 Sept. 2012)
Used & New from: £133.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews