Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£28.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2014
The book is top quality. Wonderful photographs by one of the best street photographers. It is a great addition to photo libruary. Recommended!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
This is a beautifully put together book looking back at Saul Leiter's early work. His view is close to unique.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Beautiful pictures as I expected but can't read any text as it's in French!
It didn't say that on Amazon description and I just noticed a earlier similar review.
What out which one you get? I'm about to contact Amazon
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I knew I had to get this book at any cost when I first saw it, during a class. Saul Leiter does marvellous things with a camera, and these pictures are specially good because of their strange (yet beautiful) colours. I definitely recommend it to anyone interested in photography.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I really love the matt printing of these lyrical colour images in this book , it has a real 'feel' to it. The book isn't large but neither is it tiddly and is a nice thickness to satisfy in the hand, the colour images are beautifully printed in matt, which is unusual and really suits these images. The style of the book very much compliments the style of the photography

there's plenty of images too, I was expecting less, they have a lovely soft poetic feel to them, his use of colour is reminiscent of Haas or Egglestone and his compositions reminiscent of Friedlander ( amongst others), some of his images could have been taken by any of those, Im guessing he was from the same generation

Be warned that the essay (only) at the front of the book is in French. Rest of the text is English. So be careful which version you order - it does say French in the descriptor but it was small and is easily overlooked ( as I did). The French version is about HALF the price though of teh English version, and about a quarter the price of the older editions, so for me , Im putting up with the essay being in French to say the money

very much a book Id recommend
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
A great companion to Saul's early black and white. The images and compositions are very different in this colour work to the black and white work. The colour images are more layered and complex, and fascinating. Another powerful reference tool showing a master's work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
excellent book , just shows you don't have to be a 'big' 'celebrity' name to produce stunning photgraphs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Very pleased with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Top photographer and there is much to learn from his photographs. But I ordered an English version of the book and received a French one, extremely disappointing and reading the reviews, I don't seem to be the only one !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
This book is a classic and it's easy to see why - imaginative arrangements of colour and shape coupled with a great location at a fascinating point in time. However I bought the English language edition and Amazon sent the French version. C'est la vie - but it shouldn't be!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)