Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Kristijonas Tumas (Klaipeda, Lithuania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Color (New Edition) (Hardcover)
The book is top quality. Wonderful photographs by one of the best street photographers. It is a great addition to photo libruary. Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully put together retrospective, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Color (New Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully put together book looking back at Saul Leiter's early work. His view is close to unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excited that the book arrived!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Color (New Edition) (Hardcover)
Beautiful pictures as I expected but can't read any text as it's in French!
It didn't say that on Amazon description and I just noticed a earlier similar review.
What out which one you get? I'm about to contact Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impeccable, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Color (New Edition) (Hardcover)
I knew I had to get this book at any cost when I first saw it, during a class. Saul Leiter does marvellous things with a camera, and these pictures are specially good because of their strange (yet beautiful) colours. I definitely recommend it to anyone interested in photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely printing quality with plenty of images - but......... in FRENCH, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Color (New Edition) (Hardcover)
I really love the matt printing of these lyrical colour images in this book , it has a real 'feel' to it. The book isn't large but neither is it tiddly and is a nice thickness to satisfy in the hand, the colour images are beautifully printed in matt, which is unusual and really suits these images. The style of the book very much compliments the style of the photography

there's plenty of images too, I was expecting less, they have a lovely soft poetic feel to them, his use of colour is reminiscent of Haas or Egglestone and his compositions reminiscent of Friedlander ( amongst others), some of his images could have been taken by any of those, Im guessing he was from the same generation

Be warned that the essay (only) at the front of the book is in French. Rest of the text is English. So be careful which version you order - it does say French in the descriptor but it was small and is easily overlooked ( as I did). The French version is about HALF the price though of teh English version, and about a quarter the price of the older editions, so for me , Im putting up with the essay being in French to say the money

very much a book Id recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did not get what I ordered !!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Color (New Edition) (Hardcover)
Top photographer and there is much to learn from his photographs. But I ordered an English version of the book and received a French one, extremely disappointing and reading the reviews, I don't seem to be the only one !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great photography but ---, 8 Aug 2013
By 
A. P. Rummery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Color (New Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is a classic and it's easy to see why - imaginative arrangements of colour and shape coupled with a great location at a fascinating point in time. However I bought the English language edition and Amazon sent the French version. C'est la vie - but it shouldn't be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Early Color (New Edition)
Early Color (New Edition) by Saul Leiter (Hardcover - 30 April 2013)
£28.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews