Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die schreckliche Deutsche Sprache/ The awful german language
Whether you know anything about the german language or not this book will have you crying with laughter! And if you have ever struggled with - or ARE struggling, the more you will fall about. Enlish on odd pages German on the opposite even pages, so that you can even learn something through the tears. Recommended.
Published on 27 Feb 2010 by Stewart Conway

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Awful German Language by Mark Twain
Not a good purchase this book; Maybe funny if one had knowledge of the language. I consider myself fairly well read but I just didnt get it. J.Ryan
Published on 30 Aug 2011 by Diz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die schreckliche Deutsche Sprache/ The awful german language, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Stewart Conway (nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
Whether you know anything about the german language or not this book will have you crying with laughter! And if you have ever struggled with - or ARE struggling, the more you will fall about. Enlish on odd pages German on the opposite even pages, so that you can even learn something through the tears. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made me laugh out loud, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Mouse (Aberdeen United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
I read this years ago when living in Germany (it was given to me by a German friend), and it made me laugh out loud at the time, and I just bought it for a friend who has a passing acquaintance with the language. If you have ever struggled with trying to learn German I think you will find it entertaining. Without that personal experience I am not sure it would mean much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The awful German language, 29 Nov 2013
By 
M. Stonitsch (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
As a near native speaker of German, born in Britain, I can understand Mark Twain's perception of learning and experiencing the German language. Bi-lingual versions of books can help language students to read original works with the help of their mother tongue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing book, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
Quite an amusing book for the student of German. Perhaps for someone who's fluent with the language, the 'funny' aspects seem completely normal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great dual language book for English/German, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
Each page shows the corresponding English / German text, which is great for somebody learning either language.
An entertaining look at the German language, I'd highly recommend it if that subject area is of interest to you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars laughed so hard other people on the train turned to see, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
This is so, so funny and a blessed relief to anyone who has been optimistic, foolish, or unfortunate enough to struggle with learning German. (Probably not worth the bother, though, if you've not attempted this process, because it focuses--hilariously-- on the despair of such a daunting undertaking.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mark twain, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
its what I expected. a book is a book is a book arrived after a suitable time,and postage cost was fair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Awful German Language by Mark Twain, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Diz (Southport UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
Not a good purchase this book; Maybe funny if one had knowledge of the language. I consider myself fairly well read but I just didnt get it. J.Ryan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. P. A. Watson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language (Hardcover)
I love Mark Twain's writing, but this is just a heavy-handed humorous paragraph, expanded into a book by the addition of a German translation. It may be of use to those studying German, but my knowledge of that language is insufficient to judge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Die schreckliche deutsche Sprache /The Awful German Language
£3.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews