Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical trip
This beautiful book goes through in a very comprehensive way all the history of Islamic art, divided into the dynasties that produce it. An excellent companion to someone who wants to travel to these places, or a reference book for whoever wants to explore the Islamic art and architecture.
A 8 pages of references of the Islamic dynasties makes it easy to follow their...
Published on 24 Dec 2008 by Efthymios Karaklas

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled by impossibly small typeface
Everything the previous reviewer said is true - this is a marvellously informative book. It breaks the Islamic world up into culturally and geographically distinct regions and looks at the art and, especially, the architecture in some detail. There are also chapters on calligraphy. There are many beautiful photographs, and a number of plans, maps and tables. I know very...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Pardo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical trip, 24 Dec 2008
By 
Efthymios Karaklas (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This beautiful book goes through in a very comprehensive way all the history of Islamic art, divided into the dynasties that produce it. An excellent companion to someone who wants to travel to these places, or a reference book for whoever wants to explore the Islamic art and architecture.
A 8 pages of references of the Islamic dynasties makes it easy to follow their historical succession, a 8 pages glossary brings you closer to the terms and trivia, and over 1000 pictures make you to want to go to the places this magnificent art have sprang. Konneman is always a provider of reliable and intriguing reference books, 20 expertises contribute to this book.
Excellent value money book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled by impossibly small typeface, 20 July 2009
By 
Pardo (Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Everything the previous reviewer said is true - this is a marvellously informative book. It breaks the Islamic world up into culturally and geographically distinct regions and looks at the art and, especially, the architecture in some detail. There are also chapters on calligraphy. There are many beautiful photographs, and a number of plans, maps and tables. I know very little about the subject so can't vouch for the quality of the text but it seems very good - the illustrations are superb.

The only problem is the typeface. My eyesight isn't perfect but it's not bad. This type is so small, presumably in order to fit all the text into manageable number of pages, that reading it for any length of time is an unpleasant experience. I can't think of any book I've seen with such small type in the main text - it almost looks like one enormous footnote. If your eyesight is up to it, or you don't plan to read the text much, but simply want to enjoy the pictures, then this is a beautiful book. Otherwise it might be worth looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent well illustrated guide, 27 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very pleased with this book . It covers my needs perfectly plenty of excellent photos ,maps.detail drawings of the islamic world from the Maghreb to the Moghuls and everything in between .It might not suit the needs of of a specialist but I was looking for an informative overview and explanation . the book is very well priced and I would recommend it without hesitation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical trip, 25 Mar 2009
By 
Efthymios Karaklas (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This beautiful book goes through in a very comprehensive way all the history of Islamic art, divided into the dynasties that produce it. An excellent companion to someone who wants to travel to these places, or a reference book for whoever wants to explore the Islamic art and architecture.
A 8 pages of references of the Islamic dynasties makes it easy to follow their historical succession, a 8 pages glossary brings you closer to the terms and trivia, and over 1000 pictures make you to want to go to the places this magnificent art have sprang. Konneman is always a provider of reliable and intriguing reference books, 20 expertises contribute to this book.
Excellent value money book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars islam art, 14 July 2008
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
T his impressive tome has been produced by 20 international authorities and covers the art and architecture of Islam from the 6th centuary to modern times. It extends from Morocco in the west to Indonesia in the east and from Central Asia inthe north toIndia in the south.In addition it details the history of dynasties that spread Islam.The pictures, text and maps are excellent.If you have this book you will not need another on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Islam: Art and Architecture, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam: Art and Architecture (Hardcover)
I didn't choose this rating as I wasn't sure how they were graded - upwards or downwards. I think it is a beautiful book, and a good price, but since it is being used for an online course it is unwieldy, very heavy and something you cannot carry around with you - not your fault, of course. It arrived with one corner a bit bashed but has now straightened out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most concise books about Islamic architecture in the world, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Bashar Tabbah "B.T" (Middle East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Islam: Art and Architecture (Hardcover)
I have been traveling the Islamic world for years, perusing all the remnants of empires long gone, this book is usually my first stop in researching different locations and countries. it has an amazing collection of photographs and detailed history for each region.

I would highly recommend this book for every person who is interested in the Islamic world and its history.

in my opinion the only downside is its size. its a huge book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing reference book, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this book gives a comprehensive overview. I think it is an outstanding price for a first class book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Islam: Art and Architecture
Islam: Art and Architecture by Markus Hattstein (Hardcover - 15 May 2013)
31.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews