Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, practical and collective item
I work at Prescott & Mackay, the footwear and fashion accessory design school in London. One of the tutors who teaches bespoke shoemaking likes this book very much and he recommended it to me when I wanted to further my skills in shoemaking.

The book starts from describing the structure of human feet, the material of shoe last, to many, many details and...
Published on 25 Mar 2011 by Florrie

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Documentary
This book is a very detailed documentary on how the elite shoemakers make shoes that sell for 3000. It gives every step of WHAT they do, from foot to last to leather making all the way to vamps and soles and heels, but does not teach you HOW to do it yourself. Thick glossy pages filled with loads of photos, pictures and history. Great for the coffee table but not much...
Published 11 months ago by Epiphiny


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, practical and collective item, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Handmade Shoes for Men (Hardcover)
I work at Prescott & Mackay, the footwear and fashion accessory design school in London. One of the tutors who teaches bespoke shoemaking likes this book very much and he recommended it to me when I wanted to further my skills in shoemaking.

The book starts from describing the structure of human feet, the material of shoe last, to many, many details and wonderful photos of every step of making men's shoes. It's a book so informative to anyone who loves shoes and wants to know how shoes are made, whether he/she is a keen craft hobbyist or a professional footwear designer/maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 21 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Shoes for Men (Hardcover)
if like myself you have developed an interest in shoe making, and grope around trying to find information on the tools and materials and processes involved, then look no further. This book is fabulous. beautiful pictures and illustrations, all aspects of shoe making thoroughly covered in an engrossing way. a real pleasure to read, quality speaks for itself and this book oozes it. excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handmade Shoes for Men, 26 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Shoes for Men (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my daughter who is preparing to study shoe design at uni. It's a thoroughly informative book, the information, photographs and diagrams are really useful - right down to the detailed skeleton of the feet. My daughter has been using it for inspiration and reference, and says she wouldn't be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gylls Review, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Shoes for Men (Hardcover)
Sebastian Tarek, a shoemaker, suggested I buy it when I was on one of the courses he teaches at Prescott & McKay. Although I mainly am only interested in womens's shoes, I found this book fansinating - it is packed with so much useful information and brilliant photographs - It is a truly good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Handmade Shoes for Men (Hardcover)
Everything I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, informative and stylish., 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Shoes for Men (Hardcover)
Lovely book. Not only as a coffee-table decoration, but as a starting point for looking into more basics of cordwainery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Documentary, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: Handmade Shoes for Men (Hardcover)
This book is a very detailed documentary on how the elite shoemakers make shoes that sell for 3000. It gives every step of WHAT they do, from foot to last to leather making all the way to vamps and soles and heels, but does not teach you HOW to do it yourself. Thick glossy pages filled with loads of photos, pictures and history. Great for the coffee table but not much help to the DIY home made shoe maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handmade Shoes for Men
Handmade Shoes for Men by Magda Monar (Hardcover - 28 Jan 2013)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews