Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars14
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2010
A truly magnificent book. Beautiful photography throughout and a great collection of interviews and articles taken from various sources which perfectly compliment the photos.

If you're a huge fan of the film, you may have read some of these peices before but the fact that they're collected in one place and accompanied by such lavish pictures means that you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
I am a huge fan of the Godfather films and a huge fan of Taschen books -put the two together and surely you cannot go wrong?
The answer is -you sure can't for this is a fantastic publication with lots of photos, articles and behind the scenes material for all the films.
The information is solid, the phtographs insightful and new ( lots of them I have not seen before) and the book is HUGE.
One of my favourite movie books of all time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
Taschen publishing house have done it again! Like the other fabulous tome on Kubrick they put out, "The Stanley Kubrick Archives", this gorgeous book continues their tradition of extreme good taste conception-wise, excellent overall design of the contents, the finest printing quality available and a knack for picking an extraordinary subject.
Thank God Steve Schapiro is still around and for granting full access to his photographic archives pertaining to the production of the iconic "The Godfather" trilogy! There are a few photos that have previously graced the pages of magazines and some other books, yet the majority of the lot included here is indeed rare. The photos are gorgeous, with many being printed in full pages and several others spread across two pages - an absolute must!! They're complemented by insightful excerpts of diaries and interviews of a lot of the people involved in the making of the films, from Mario Puzo, to producer Al Ruddy, to Al Pacino and, most profusely, Francis Ford Coppola.
While "The Godfather" Parts I and II are extensively illustrated - mainly Part I -, "The Godfather: Part III" is the least covered. That was the only minus I found in the entire volume. There is only a minor magazine report on its production and a run of the mill interview of Coppola during filming, plus far less photographs when compared to the ones from the previous two films. That's an unfortunate trend set regarding Part III, which is to be vastly underrated when compared to two immensely lauded and prestigious cinema masterpieces that Parts I and II admitedly are. My personal favourite is "The Godfather: Part I", for all the rich portrayal of characters and relationships, a dynamic story of epic proportions, with superb acting, photography and direction amongst many other things. Many critics favour "The Godfather: Part II" as being superior to the original. Intellectually and conceptually they may be right, but "Part II" feels too dark and slow moving, whereas "Part I" is so full of emotional content and just riveting to watch - however that's another perspective and I just digress off the main focus of this review.
If you are a hopeless film buff with a tendency to appreciate the very best of film art of the past 100-plus years, then this is a book you cannot refuse to buy - and if you're a "The Godfather" 'aficionado' there's nothing else I need to mention!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
I love this book so much, the value via Amazon is amazing and the content of this book, if you are a Godfather fan, is insightful, interesting and informative. The photos and background information are brilliant and I thoroughly recommend it to any fan of this film. This book is very underrated and should have been promoted far more than it was/is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
Beautiful photos with quotes from the films. There are also photos of deleted scenes and behind-the-scene photos, which give an insight into the filming process. This is a a brilliant book and is a must-have item for any Godfather fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
A really good product, great quality and very informative, a wonderful insight into a different time, full of stars , definitely happy to have purchased and strongly advise you to do the same
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
I haven't opened it up yet, it's a present for someone, but it's heavy and sturdy behind a protective film covering it.
I imagine it's the perfect gift for a true fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
The best book on Godfather and in general about the single film (trilogy) around. The pictures are beautiful and the text fully informative. A perfection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Cant describe how happy I am do receive this.
My Godfather collection is complete now.

Awesome pics and inside in the greatest movie ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
bought this as present and well worth the money looks smart and very informative quality 1st class if you are a fan then this is for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)