Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Photography, Two Star Format
As the world's greatest living photographer, any collection by Salgado is not to be missed. This is a massive collection - the book is over 500 pages long. Quality of the reproduction, quality of paper etc is excellent - value for money is outstanding. It goes without saying that there are some truly amazing images here and Salgado is a master of light and 'the moment'...
Published 20 months ago by I. G. Wright

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great opportunity missed
Who had the ridiculous idea to present such excellent images in this format. Fantastically crafted images ruined because they have been printed across two pages with the spine ruining their viewing and impact. Got so frustrated and annoyed that I considered returning it. Whoever thought presenting images in this way should not be allowed near a photography book again.
Published 10 months ago by Andrew John Harrington


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius photography at its best., 19 May 2013
By 
Howler (HYDE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
I see the despatch time for this book is now 1-3 weeks - so glad I got in there with a quick buy. It's true, it's not ideal splitting images across two pages, but I have to give this 5 stars fir the photography. Salgado is one of the world's greatest living photographers and you will need to browse this book many many times for the immensity of his work to sink in. The scale is grand and the quality undeniable. Also great value for money for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exaggerated, 26 April 2013
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
Damn! Purchased this at the exhibition at full price. Should have checked out Amazon first! I think the downside of printing landscape formatted photographs across two pages is exaggerated in the other reviews. Many say that the format completely ruins the pictures. Come on; it's not ideal but the quality of the prints is good and it does lie pretty flat. Amazing photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a beautiful book !, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
Beautiful, moving photographs taken by a great photographer. The book was very well packaged and arrived in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
Salgado is a master photographer. This is a must buy for anyone interested in the photo documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Salgardo, so buy it!, 19 Nov 2014
By 
R. L. Davies (somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
Love this book almost as much as the workers book. An education to anyone with a camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars magnificent Book, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Photofox" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
This is a big book in every way. For a start, it's dimensions are large and the weight is massive! You will need very firm book shelves or a sturdy coffee table to display it.
Take for granted that the photos are magnificent, as you'd expect from this man. Some people moaned about the double page spreads and it did concern me before I ordered it. However, they do not distract me too much and I can live with it. Looking through other photography books, I see that many have this double page spread which bends the photos into the middle spine but I apparently hadn't bothered about them then.
Lovely book, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You need this book!, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
Stunning book by a highly talented photographer, quite remarkable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., 19 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
Much hyped and fabulous images, but poor quality printing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
An exceptional series of photographs, stands along side his other great works. Salgado is among a small number of great photographers, will look forward to an exhibition of this recent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
I went to the exhibition, which was just wonderful. Unfortunately the price of the book in the exhibition shop was a little outside the budget. Glad to have purchased the book for a fair price online. Beautiful pictures and the quality of the prints are superb. A very large bulky book, it doesn't fit on my bookshelf, but nice to have out in the living room for people to flick through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS
Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS by Lélia Wanick Salgado (Hardcover - 5 April 2013)
£44.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews