Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Photography, Two Star Format
As the world's greatest living photographer, any collection by Salgado is not to be missed. This is a massive collection - the book is over 500 pages long. Quality of the reproduction, quality of paper etc is excellent - value for money is outstanding. It goes without saying that there are some truly amazing images here and Salgado is a master of light and 'the moment'...
Published 15 months ago by I. G. Wright

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Injustice to a masterful piece of work
I can only reiterate what others have said.
I went to see this exhibition in London and I have to say it was one of the most awe inspiring piece's of work I have ever had the pleasure of viewing, for that reason I had to purchase the book.

However due to poor layout, I can't begin to explain how much is lost when viewing these images this way.

I...
Published 14 months ago by FearGN


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic photography, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
What can I say about this photographer? just looking at these photographs is spellbinding,Sebastiao has to be one of the greatest photographers ever, his photographic eye is amazing and the quality! out of this world, it is a thick heavy book and that's because of the amount of photographs,I see a lot of reviewers complaining about a lot of the photographs being over two pages, I don't get that, these photographs are in complete register and need to be seen large for impact, the print quality of this book is the best I have ever seen at any price,If you like monochrome photography it doesn't come any better than this, absolutely stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Man, Great photographer, Great Photographs, Great Book!!!!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
This Book is absolutely amazing, the only criticism i could make is when i received it the pages were not really in good shape. The reason is the plastic covering the book supposed to protect it, is too thin and during the transport probably damaged it. hope it is that and they did not send me a damaged book on purpose... Well the pages are damaged on the corner only and it doesn't affect the photographs so its ok. But when you pay that price for a beautiful book you feel a bit robbed and dissapointed when you receive it.
One last thing if you like photographs this book is worth a buy ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Epic and Inspiring, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
Genesis is one of those photographic masterpieces. Sebastiao Salgado shows off his work in an album of awe inspiring photographs. If you are a photographer, film maker or artist then this book will give you ideas and inspirations for your own masterpieces. The story behind the photos is just as engaging as the composition and grandeur of the images themselves.

I highly recommend this book as a worth buying 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring photography!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
Hours of pleasure can be gained by leafing through this fantastic collection of photographs by Sebastiao Salgado. Beautifully produced and excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding !!!, 14 May 2014
By 
Ruben G. Margarit "Raven" (Catalunya) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
If your looking for a GREAT, BIG, DIVERSE book of spectacular large black & white, nature related images, THIS IS A MUST HAVE !
It's a real bargain for the price !!! The only thing I found "cheap" was the images explanation booklet included, covered simply by paper.
Besides, here it is an EXCELLENT WORK, 100% advisable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands down, superb work, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
Salgado is one of the few remaining masters of photography. His technique comes second only to his ability to convey the message clearly, virtually without any noise, a skill rarely demonstrated by photographers. I think this work of his is really monumental in its scope, timespan and diversity of viewpoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A world worth saving, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
Salgado looks with a clear and loving eye on the world as it is, or was, before it succumbs to the impact of human destructiveness on a grand scale. This is a close-up view, comparable in its beauty to the blue world as first seen and photographed from space by the American astronauts. Look, and wonder why we don't immediately ban the plastic bags that are clogging up our clear, blue oceans and the violent greed that cannot, it seems, be prevented from enslaving most of the human race. Look, and wake up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning - but at times frustrating, 12 May 2013
By 
Stewart M (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
This is a truly remarkable set of images. Any attempt by me to describe them, is almost certainly bound to fail. Salgado is well known for the stunning quality of his work - and this volume will add to that reputation.

Basically all of these images were taken in the worlds most remote and isolated areas. This means that they are of unfamiliar places, so no re-working of iconic locations.

However, (there always has to be a however) this is not a perfect set of pictures. Some of the other comments posted here boarder on the hysterical, but its true a number of the landscape format images would look better without the spine of a book through them! This does not destroy the images, but it did leave me wishing it had not been the case.

While there are some stunning landscape and wildlife images in this book, it is the portrait images that are the most remarkable. A number of these types of images are given gate-fold pages and benefit as a result.

This is a splendid book, full of arresting images.

The format of the book may cause you to sigh now and then, but this should not prevent you buying it.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnum Opus, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
A beautiful book full of stunning photographs. It is the culmination of a ten year project and the results make for a thought taking set of images that question the Western world's relationship to the more remote places on our planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my brother and he loved it, the photography really is beautiful. The delivery was quick and the product was wrapped well, great price for a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Genesis
Genesis by Lélia Wanick Salgado (Hardcover - 5 April 2013)
£18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews