Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Photography, Two Star Format
As the world's greatest living photographer, any collection by Salgado is not to be missed. This is a massive collection - the book is over 500 pages long. Quality of the reproduction, quality of paper etc is excellent - value for money is outstanding. It goes without saying that there are some truly amazing images here and Salgado is a master of light and 'the moment'...
Published 20 months ago by I. G. Wright

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great opportunity missed
Who had the ridiculous idea to present such excellent images in this format. Fantastically crafted images ruined because they have been printed across two pages with the spine ruining their viewing and impact. Got so frustrated and annoyed that I considered returning it. Whoever thought presenting images in this way should not be allowed near a photography book again.
Published 11 months ago by Andrew John Harrington


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Photography, Two Star Format, 11 April 2013
By 
I. G. Wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
As the world's greatest living photographer, any collection by Salgado is not to be missed. This is a massive collection - the book is over 500 pages long. Quality of the reproduction, quality of paper etc is excellent - value for money is outstanding. It goes without saying that there are some truly amazing images here and Salgado is a master of light and 'the moment'. This is in effect an elongated essay and ideas behind the seven year project are articulated in the introduction and give much greater weight to the images. This reflects the constant principle which underpins all his is work - his purpose is not to provoke the viewer to admire the beauty of his images but to understand the issues which have provoked them.

For all this, my initial feeling on first opening the book was of disappointment - although I wouldn't wish to get my reservations about the production of this collection out of proportion. Salgado photographs in landscape format in the main and the book format is portrait - so the images are predominantly presented across two pages with the aesthetics of the images completely ruined by the ugly divisions in the middle - made worse by the thickness of the book so that the images don't lay flat. This is avoided in a book like Steve McCurry's Iconic Images by using a landscape format - this book stands on its tall end but images are printed across the pages. This might be a matter of the cost of production of course but that doesn't really add up as there are also quite a lot of complicated fold-out pages in the book which usually display a number of smaller images - this must increase costs of production considerably. Actually printing landscape could have cut the book length considerably as most images would have been one page rather than two and the resulting image size of 30cm x 20cm (at least) is plently large enough.

So - for me - the format does limit the enjoyment of the images, without reflecting at all on the quality of the photography, for which the word inspirational is inadequate. Anyone fortunate to have seen the exhibition of prints at the Natural History Museum in London - or elsewhere - will have seen the images at their most powerful.

There is some excellent background material on the images in a separate booklet that comes with the book and it's a shame that this does not include some photographic details - camera used, some background on the making of a few images outling Salgados thought processes, perhaps an indication of post-processing (perhaps with an acknowledgement to his 'crew'). This sort of context has given a massive new element to the various Attenborough series on TV.

So - a book that will grace any collection - but it could (as an object of beauty in itself) have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great opportunity missed, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
Who had the ridiculous idea to present such excellent images in this format. Fantastically crafted images ruined because they have been printed across two pages with the spine ruining their viewing and impact. Got so frustrated and annoyed that I considered returning it. Whoever thought presenting images in this way should not be allowed near a photography book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Injustice to a masterful piece of work, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
I can only reiterate what others have said.
I went to see this exhibition in London and I have to say it was one of the most awe inspiring piece's of work I have ever had the pleasure of viewing, for that reason I had to purchase the book.

However due to poor layout, I can't begin to explain how much is lost when viewing these images this way.

I revised addition needs to be produced immediately.

The years of hard work and dedication that have gone in to creating GENESIS, deserve more than this.

Taschen have dropped the ball big time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Photos - Atrocious Layout, 26 April 2013
By 
Constantinos Petrinos "UW Protographer" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
Salgado is my favorite photographer and there is no doubt that the photographs in this book are AMAZING. However, I will give one star only to penalize the atrocious layout of this book. It is an insult to the work of one of the world's best photographers. How could Taschen make such a blunder. As others have already said, a portrait size book/ layout is unsuitable for Salgado's landscape format photos. I wont repeat what others have already said. I waited so many years for this book only to be disappointed by the presentation of Salgado's amazing photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ruined by the layout, 24 April 2013
By 
P. Goodwin (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
The long-awaited work has been completely ruined by the atrocious layout of this book. Picture after picture is split in half, landscape, across the two pages, and you can't see them properly. Their impact is lost because key parts are not visible, sucked towards the spine by the sheer number of pages. It's so frustrating. It would have been better to print them smaller. It just doesn't work. It's difficult to believe that the great man, after so many years on the road, would approve of this murdering of his work. The vertical pictures look great, of course. It must have looked amazing on the designer's computer screen. It's shameful as a book of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Photography - Salgado, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
After looking at the work of Salgado at University (I'm a photography student) I fell in love with his work. I felt it was unlikely that I would be able to see this work in exhibition, so I ordered the book instead. It's stunning - the work is superb, with a very interesting introduction to the project, folding pages with many images on, and even an in-depth booklet detailing each photograph. I have seen reviews stating that the book is ruined by images covering two pages - the majority of photography books are like this so I expected it anyway; this fact doesn't detract from the book at all - if this is how Salgado wanted to present his work, that's up to him! Great book, buy if you are passionate about photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual extravaganza, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
I have always been captivated by Salgado's work but this is vision beyond his best. It is not only visually stunning in content and technique and an immediately recognisable style, but it also is shaped by a powerful theme of loss and potential danger to large parts of the world which either are as yet completely untouched by humans at all or, where people are present, they live an entirely integrated and harmonious life within their environment.
It is brilliant in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genesis, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
This very large format book which accompanied the recent exhibition at the V&A is well worth acquiring as it has wonderful reproductions of every photograph in this absorbing exhibition. The size of the book helps to convey to the reader the magnitude of the scenes that Salgado so beautifully captured on film. Buy it..enjoy it..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
I hunted this book down after going to see the exhibition at the Natural History Museum in London. I was delighted to see even more photos than the ones presented in the exhibition, along with the photographer's own story about his journey across the globe whilst putting this collection together. The book is brilliantly printed for photographs of this nature and I thoroughly recommend it as a gift for anyone who is interested in photography, nature or travel. The seller also made sure the book was well-padded for its journey so when I unwrapped it it was still in mint condition-being such a heavy book one has to be careful not to bash the corners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic photography, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS (Hardcover)
What can I say about this photographer? just looking at these photographs is spellbinding,Sebastiao has to be one of the greatest photographers ever, his photographic eye is amazing and the quality! out of this world, it is a thick heavy book and that's because of the amount of photographs,I see a lot of reviewers complaining about a lot of the photographs being over two pages, I don't get that, these photographs are in complete register and need to be seen large for impact, the print quality of this book is the best I have ever seen at any price,If you like monochrome photography it doesn't come any better than this, absolutely stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS
Sebastião Salgado. GENESIS by Lélia Wanick Salgado (Hardcover - 5 April 2013)
£35.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews