Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking and a definite item to own.
As a fan of comics, I've always had a lot of fun reading the latest exploits of a lot of the DC characters, and whilst I am, primarily a Marvel Guy, its great to get a book that details the world of DC from the mid fifties into the seventies which brings some of the more familiar characters to the modern reader.

The book has tons of wonderful illustrations,...
Published 23 months ago by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table Book
A nicely presented coffee table book rather than the hoped for series of insight into a particular period of comic-book history.
Published 4 months ago by Mr. John P. Humphreys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking and a definite item to own., 29 July 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Silver Age of DC Comics (Hardcover)
As a fan of comics, I've always had a lot of fun reading the latest exploits of a lot of the DC characters, and whilst I am, primarily a Marvel Guy, its great to get a book that details the world of DC from the mid fifties into the seventies which brings some of the more familiar characters to the modern reader.

The book has tons of wonderful illustrations, great depth of knowledge and alongside bringing the people behind the characters to the forefront really fired not only my own imagination but gave me something to sit back and enjoy on so many levels.

Add to the mix some characters you may not be quite as familiar with as you should be, a wonderful presentation style that will please the reader and entertain alongside giving the reader a solid historical background (and to be honest I'm taking the authors word for it here rather than knowing too much personally) all round made this a book that I'll be reading quite a few times. I really can't wait to dive into the Bronze Age that is more my own personal history. Cracking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only 400 pages? Boo!, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Age of DC Comics (Hardcover)
This shares the same core faults with the earlier "Golden Age of DC Comics" (essentially, some slightly confusing layouts and an occasionally sloppy attitude towards historical facts), but it gets an emphatic five stars rather than the four I gave to the previous book. This is partly because I like Silver Age comics far more than I do Golden Age comics, but it's also - and more importantly - because Paul Levitz seems to feel the same way. In this book, it feels like Levitz is on more comfortable, and more interesting ground, writing about the comics he grew up with, knows intimately, and loves, rather than those he respects and admires for their historical significance.

Consequently... it's simply gorgeous, a handsomely designed and impeccably produced visual history which, despite its generous size, could be 100 pages longer without sacrificing any interest. The story, told in broadly chronological terms, won't really contain anything new to those already familiar with the tale, though there's probably a lot to interest more casual readers, but that's not really the point. The point is the beautiful selection of artwork and other archival visual material. As you'd expect, there's plenty of attention given to Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman, but, because Julius Schwartz's superhero revivals essentially saved DC and then the entire American comics industry, there's also much to delight fans of the Flash, Green Lantern, the JLA, Hawkman et al. Less familiar characters also get a share of the spotlight too - Levitz gets my eternal gratitude for all the pages devoted to the Doom Patrol and the Inferior Five. Key creators such as Infantino, Kane, Kubert and less heralded artists like Nick Cardy are also highlighted. Result? A beautiful, beautiful book.

The faults don't matter, but here they are anyway. First of all, and most egregious, the history is a bit slippery. You don't expect a detailed overview of DC's frequently-criticised business practices from an official in-house history, but from this book, you'd barely realise that Marvel were whupping DC's ass for most of the '60s, and that DC's very belated acceptance of this led to Infantino being made publisher in 1968, in an attempt to bring about significant change. And you might come away from the book thinking that DC originated the Tower Comics Thunder Agents and the Charlton Comics Action Heroes, rather than acquiring them later. Also, while 1970 is generally accepted as the end of the Silver Age (Kirby leaves Marvel: O'Neill and Adams start cooking at DC; Marvel launches Conan), for DC it really ended in 1968, when Infantino became publisher and initiated a wave of extraordinary creativity that lasted till about 1974. The latter part of this book emphasises the quality that then emerged in the very late sixties, but within the context of DC as a whole, 1970 is an arbitrary break point. It makes more sense to look at a creator like Neal Adams over the whole period he worked regularly for DC, rather than splitting the discussion across two books.

Well, that's what my head tells me. What my heart and my eyes tell me is that the book is too short. Another 100 pages or so and we could do real justice to Infantino and Kane, the Batman TV show, and, in particular, the war, humour and romance genres, which were home to some of the greatest artwork from any sixties comics, but which are woefully under-represented here. I mean: "Angel and the Ape" represented by just one small cover image? What's WRONG with you, Levitz?

But all that said - it's still a beautiful and fascinating book, and anyone who grew up on Silver Age comics will absolutely adore it. It's not cheap, but it's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Year, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Age of DC Comics (Hardcover)
Great for all those silver age fans.........over 50 club who can remember when comics were a great read and the artwork was out of this world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality product from Taschen, 1 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Silver Age of DC Comics (Hardcover)
This is a massive--and I do mean massive--slab of a coffee table book for which you will actually need a very sturdy coffee table to put it on. Not bad for the less than twenty quid I paid for it (from Amazon, but on my daughter's account, which is why it's not marked verified purchase).

The 1960s is, for me, the vortex around which all 20th century popular culture swirls, and rightly or wrongly I have no interest in the later volumes (I may be tempted to buy the Golden Age book for the right price). I like my super-heroes smiley and colourful not dark and mean, so this is my period and it would have been difficult for Taschen to get it wrong. I could quibble about which covers were used, and which were given prominence, but somebody has to make the final choice, and this is a good selection. It was certainly brave--some would say foolhardy--to include several representations of DC's pitiful attempts to be hip and groovy and down with the kids, as well as their embarrassing efforts to imitate Marvel's parodies and bullpen stuff. If I have a complaint, it's that some of the more goofy stuff could have been condensed down (it's right that it was included) to make room for more of the major attractions.

I was pleasantly surprised to see the Batman TV show given attention, given Warners' persistent burying of it, and for me the highlight of the book is around thirty pages devoted to the show's media coverage and merchandise and some very rare images (not unseen, but not the usual stuff), including foreign film posters and reproductions of Norman Saunders trading cards artwork. I have only two gripes: no picture/s of Yvonne Craig as Batgirl, and most glaringly, nothing at all on one of my favourite Silver Age titles, World's Finest, which often featured superb concepts and covers from Curt Swan, my hero. Particularly amusing are the bundles of covers on similar themes, such as weddings, deaths, and the old dumping of the costume and quitting routine, which unfortunately do serve to highlight just how cliched these storylines were. Otherwise, this is recommended without further reservations. Like the other reviewers, I wanted more on the major characters, with perhaps just token references to the comedy, war and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too much Batman (just like too much Superman in the golden age book) - ..., 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Age of DC Comics (Hardcover)
Too much Batman (just like too much Superman in the golden age book) - sent it back - waiting now for the Bronze age book-unfortunately Dc can't understand that their world doesn't only consist of Bats/Supes and wonder woman.That's why their films are so unadventurous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table Book, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Age of DC Comics (Hardcover)
A nicely presented coffee table book rather than the hoped for series of insight into a particular period of comic-book history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Age of DC Comics (Hardcover)
Bought as a present and they enjoyed it very much. Had a look myself and liked it. Now for the others in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DC commics, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Age of DC Comics (Hardcover)
Present for son - he is pleased with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silver Age of DC Comics
The Silver Age of DC Comics by Paul Levitz (Hardcover - 10 Jun. 2013)
£23.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews