Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars11
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2012
I don't know why the reviews are so negative, this is one of the nicest produced books I've seen in some time. The paper and photo quality is excellent trough-out and the plastic dustcover a very classy and nice though.
From what I understand this is an abridged version of a 700-1100 usd book with twice the page count, which is no longer for sale. I don't have that one so I bought this instead. For the price you can't go wrong, the photo's are beautiful and so is the lay-out.
Highly recommended ! Thanks Taschen for a well done 'second' printing !!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
First, let me say that both Mailer's text and, particularly, the sublime images of Bert Stern, taken just six weeks before her death, are established classics. However, there is no excuse whatever for these two already published items to be collected together and sold for a king's ransom at a time when the world is nosediving into recession. I was also a fan of Taschen as a publishing house but this is a nasty exploitative compilation of the very sort that so abused Marilyn throughout her life and continues to pursue her in death. Do yourself a favour and find copies of Stern's 'The Last Sitting' and Mailer's 'Marilyn' instead and let the vultures go hungry.
33 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
The Special Edition of this book, at around 1'000$ price, is a collector's item if you want it. As for it being a good or bad project, to extort money from fans and use the Marilyn myth, is up to you.

This "commercial" hardcover edition, come out a few months after the original, is still quite big, has a fancy sturdy transparent pvc dustjacket.
The book itself is (probably) Mailer's whole book (haven't read either yet) and a selection of Bert Stern's famous last shoot with Marilyn.
Considering that Stern's The Complete Last Sitting (the picture book used as basis for this one) features around 2500 pictures of Monroe over 464 pages, and this one has less than half, is a clear indication that only some pictures have been used. Granted, many of the pictures in The Complete Last Sitting were very small and only a selection were given the full-page treatement. Here the pictures are mostly full-page. As usual, the quality of the prints is Taschen's high standard, and maybe that might be the sole reason to purchase these books.

So, do you want to shell out the money for ANOTHER selection of full-page Stern pictures? Up to you.
You can google for several reviews on the net ranging from purely picture appreciation to the nastyness of putting Mailer's candid words next to Marilyn's most revealing pictures.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
I won't get into politics here. The photos are simply wow. Engrossing text. Pictures are incredible. Not seedy or provocative as such. She's not standing there with bosoms thrusted out in every page. There's an amazing innocent playfulness about the pics, as though nudity is a totally natural, normal healthy thing. Lovely. Marilyn looks incredible and slim and healthy. Worth the money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This is an excellent combination of two fine books and a must for Marilyn fans. Stunning photos in large format.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Great great book. The late Marilyn, sad eyes but she stands like a goddess, Get it and love it, you can't never have enough pics of Marilyn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
great book, lovely photos of the late Marilyn Monroe. all in all a lovely book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
As both a fan of Mailer and Monroe, I thought this book would be one of the best combinations I could wish for; instead it parades everything infuriating about Miller - it's very much a book about him as well as the subject. He clearly loved her, and this comes across in the text, but the rambling moments take away from the more factual aspects of the story that you'd like to see. Wonderful pictures, however. And if you're after a different kind of autobiography, then consider this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Perfect gift! Excellent quality and delivered very quickly. Would recommend. The book is not only the complete storey of Marilyn but full of unseen pictures. Any Marilyn fan would be chuffed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
The book is beautiful but not as good as I thought it would be. There wern't enough of the pictures I hoped there would be (the front ocver sitting)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)