Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat
Taschen always produce good product and this is no exception. A massive book packed with amazing photographs, printed full page so they can be examined in great detail. Provides a real visual history of our London, and an informative text.
Treat yourself or drop heavy hints for a Christmas present.
Published on 23 July 2012 by DavidH

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK could have been so much better
its a big lump of book - but it's in 3 languages, come on folks not necessary decent photography some very good but choose 1 language per print and give better information could and should have been brilliant, however for the discounted price its OK
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful photos, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Bibliophile (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
Beautiful photos of bygone London, with text in English , French and German- a perfect gift for that polyglot European friend or relative!

The size of the book does justice to the photos.

Not sure I would class this in the same historical league as "Lost London/Panoramas of LL" as its scope is more general, but the selection of photos is excellently judged and connects us to those who walked our streets before us..

And the price on amazon makes it a bargain (I will make amends at my local bookshop in an attempt to assuage the guilt..)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vibrant view of the most vibrant city in the world, 6 Nov 2012
By 
N. Sheppard "Neil Sheppard" (London, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
A fantastic collection of iconic London scenes, which reminds one of a simpler, but somehow more exciting and characterful age. I'm inspired every time I open it. You will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Taschen, 25 Oct 2012
By 
I. K. Arnell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
As usual Taschen have produced such a beautifully illustrated book. A subject close to my heart and which I never tire of, it is a joy to own such a collection of photo's to loose yourself in for ages.

Bought through Amazon Taschen books are such a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hefty treat, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
A stunning book. Many of the images are simply breath-taking - and they are all beautifully reproduced, including some gorgeous double page spreads, such as a wonderful, Turneresque portrait of a misty Thames from the late 40s. Expertly chosen and with uniformly interesting and informative captions. A treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
The photography is stunning and it is a very interesting read. It is a superb coffee table book where I have already had many comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars London for Londoners., 2 April 2014
By 
La Cage fan (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A compact book (I bought the paperback) which has lots of pictures and information about London from the 1800s onwards. An interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful book, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
I am a great fan of London and try to visit as often as possible.
This book goes further than just everyday touristic information.
I has told me things about its present and past I had never heard about.
It has become a constant coffee-table book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars London Portrait of a city, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
I bought this for my sister and she loved it but said it was very big, when I went to visit her I saw what she meant, you need a table to rest it on, it is not a book for the lap but it is beautiful and full of wonderful fact and old photos as well as modern day ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars London's Calling, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Hamilton Arroyo (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
Amazing photographs from Queen Victoria's reign till the present.I received a copy as a present and love the history and images and seeing how London has transformed over the last 150 years. Great if you love London and will look great too on any coffee table. I want to collect the rest now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a lovely book, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London. Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
I treated my self to this book, and tell ya what it is lovely..
the photos are amazing...

if for your self or a gift, you won't be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London. Portrait of a City
London. Portrait of a City by Reuel Golden (Hardcover - 10 July 2012)
£35.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews