Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£29.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2013
Beautiful photos of bygone London, with text in English , French and German- a perfect gift for that polyglot European friend or relative!

The size of the book does justice to the photos.

Not sure I would class this in the same historical league as "Lost London/Panoramas of LL" as its scope is more general, but the selection of photos is excellently judged and connects us to those who walked our streets before us..

And the price on amazon makes it a bargain (I will make amends at my local bookshop in an attempt to assuage the guilt..)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
A stunning book. Many of the images are simply breath-taking - and they are all beautifully reproduced, including some gorgeous double page spreads, such as a wonderful, Turneresque portrait of a misty Thames from the late 40s. Expertly chosen and with uniformly interesting and informative captions. A treat.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
As usual Taschen have produced such a beautifully illustrated book. A subject close to my heart and which I never tire of, it is a joy to own such a collection of photo's to loose yourself in for ages.

Bought through Amazon Taschen books are such a bargain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
A fantastic collection of iconic London scenes, which reminds one of a simpler, but somehow more exciting and characterful age. I'm inspired every time I open it. You will be too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
The photography is stunning and it is a very interesting read. It is a superb coffee table book where I have already had many comments.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This is an absolutely amazing book - devine photographs all on the highest quality paper - an absolute must for your own coffee table or would make the best gift for anyone in London, a friend about to leave London or someone interested in the great City who appreciates great photography. Can't recommend enough. You definitely will not be disappointed if you buy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2012
They say a Picture says a thousand words. If that the case this book has a million words to say. It shows in pictures what words alone cannot say. It reminds us of change , Some good some Bad in fantastic detail. If you like history or care about the past and the future buy this book. it not only a book but a legacy to be handed down to generations to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
It was a great way to spend my free time! the paper used is of great quality and those pictures i guess are very hard to find and put them all together. It will travel you from the past to present presenting some great and historic moments which occured in London. London is one of my favourite towns and i think that book is for sure worth bying!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
I read in a buyer's review that there was a big difference in size between the soft and the hard cover, so I ordered the hard-cover one. It is massive and weights a ton. Exactly the standard you expect of Taschen books. It's great to see pictures at such a large scale and will make a very substantial and special present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Amazing photographs from Queen Victoria's reign till the present.I received a copy as a present and love the history and images and seeing how London has transformed over the last 150 years. Great if you love London and will look great too on any coffee table. I want to collect the rest now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)