Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic 1400s-1950s stunning
This is fantastic , i wish i had bought it first time around. The book is stunning i really don't have any more to say exept just buy it at this price it is a real bargain.
Published 13 months ago by Edward McColl

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 languages
Good book, but there could have been space for a lot more text if it wasn't provided in 3 different languages. Shame - this spoils it for me. One language per book please Taschen.
Published 13 months ago by Mr. D. L. Fanning


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic 1400s-1950s stunning, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
This is fantastic , i wish i had bought it first time around. The book is stunning i really don't have any more to say exept just buy it at this price it is a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book On Magic, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
A very large book (A3 size) documenting the history of magic It's full of really interesting photographs and beautiful artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic magic, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
lovely book, huge,with wonderful illustrations -an absolute bargain!!!! Buy this now and dont hesitate as its a true find amongst finds. My husband,whos a magician loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The magic book we were missing., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
Taschen pays homage to magic in great style. An incredibly visual book. Lots of visual references of the big magicians of yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Ged Clarke (Woodley, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
Had no idea how big this book and how comprehensive it would be. Highly recommended to any magic or poster fan wonderful graphic artists work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A SUPERDEAL!, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
This is a super deal!
The quality of the book is real magic!
It is real eye candy for anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A world of magic, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
A great edition with photos and posters as well as interesting stories and facts for the magicians. Very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Covers a wide period, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
I chose this book for the time period and was very surprised when it arrived - it's huge and really heavy, too big to fit in any bookcase I have, and I have many bookcases. The only way to read this is to use a table or a desk and that is annoying. I probably should have looked at the dimensions before I bought it, but it didn't even occur to me. One of the reasons is that each chapter is in 3 languages, English, German and French. Having said all that it is beautifully illustrated and is great value for money. Each chapter is written by someone who is clearly an expert in their chosen period and I learned a lot from it. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the subject, just find a very large bookcase to keep it in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do you really need convincing?, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Ca55idy (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
If you are here and looking at this review then you probably don't need me to tell you too much more about the book and why you should buy it. If you're interested in the history of magic and want something of real quality, then at this price, there really is no choice, you should definitely get it....

But a couple of things for me that bring it down to a four star. Primarily, as a number of people have mentioned, the book is in 3 languages. It doesn't detract from the overall appeal, but there is no getting away from the fact that two thirds of the book are completely unreadable to me. You could argue that in this day and age with our country embracing the EU I should get off my preverbially and learn a new language - but at my age that seems like an awful lot of work just to read a book:-)

One other point was that I had to return my first book. The binding was coming away down the spine and it felt as if it could easily start to lose some pages - if I'm honest the replacement isn't 100%, but that's probably just me nit-picking. The returns service from Amazon was excellent (and simple).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Gemma Gamarra "sybil vane" (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic. 1400s-1950s (Hardcover)
Fantastic book, great illustrations and excellent quality. Moreover, if you are fascinated by the world of illusions then the bet is won. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic. 1400s-1950s
Magic. 1400s-1950s by Noel Daniel (Hardcover - 25 May 2013)
29.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews