Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gustav Klimt's artwork admirers - search no further, this is the single book You'll ever need., 8 Mar 2013
By 
Anatolij Cimarkin (Vilnius, LT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
This is one of the most astonishing books I've ever owned - a piece of art in it's own way. Superbly produced, with fantastic print quality, featuring large fold-out fragments from the "Tree of Life". This was of particular interest, since, as many of You probably know, the access to the original "Tree of Life" mosaic is almost impossible, and even on the Internet You will not find good representations of the original (Palais Stoclet still serves as a home for it's owners, Adolphe Stoclet descendants), only sketches are exhibited in Vienna. I was very surprised to find superb reproductions of the "Tree of Life" in this book - it's worth buying just because of them.
The book features extensive research of all Klimt's artwork, the phenomenon of Vienna Secession Movement and his biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gustav Klimt - The complete Paintings, 27 Dec 2012
By 
L. Pearce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
A huge impressive book. Fantastic large scale reproductions including foldout details of paintings. Marvellous quality reproductions and extensive analysis of Klimt's life and development as an artist. This may look an expensive book but when you see it, it really isn't - great value for money and Taschen quality prints - superb. This will be the defining work on Klimt for years to come. Buy it! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous and definitive, 3 April 2013
By 
Serghiou Const (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
The sumptuous and masterly book was published in 2012 to coincide with the 150th anniversary of the birth of the artist; I could not conceive a better tribute to Gustav Klimt's artistic genius.

The magnificence of the color reproductions is hard to exaggerate while with respect to scholarship the book is destined to become a standard work of reference. The features that characterize Klimt's work appear in the book in all their glory:female beauty and sensuality, the opulence of his female portraiture, the splendor of his friezes, the poetry of his landscapes, and the uniqueness of his drawings.

Early works presented include the ceiling paintings for the staircases of Vienna's Burg theater and mural decorations for the Kunsthistorisches Museum.

After a painful creative crisis, the artist reinvented himself. With the founding of the Vienna Secession in 1897 and his election as its first president, Klimt announced his return as the standard bearer of Modernism. The Secession was the setting of the legendary 'Beethoven Exhibition' with Klimt's celebrated 'Beethoven Frieze', an event that saw efforts to create an integrated work of art that is unifying 'high' and 'applied art'.

We are subsequently presented with magnificent, folded, many paged, color reproductions of the mosaic frieze for the Palais Stoclet in Brussels. In the text we are intimated on the relationship between the frieze and the architecture of the Palais Stoclet and the proposed interpretation of the frieze as an artificial garden at the heart of the house.

The subject of women is central in Klimt's oeuvre, both in his portraiture and in his richly visualized allegories. Be in their reinterpretation of biblical figures such as Judith as 'femmes fatales', or in his classic portrait commissions, starting in 1897 with the portrait of Sonja Knips as the prelude to Klimt's Secessionist works, and leading to the first portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer with its opulent use of gold. Once again, however, we see Klimt reinvent himself and his painting, this time through the power of color in the female portraits and allegories of his late years. Klimt's female sitters - members of the assimilated upper bourgeoisie and often with Jewish roots - belonged with their families to the artist's most important patrons and collectors.

Klimt turned to landscape painting in the second half of his life, when he began taking annual breaks in the region of Lake Attersee. Klimt filtered and transformed seen nature to meet his own artistic requirements. In his landscapes, Nature is reconstituted into a visual poetry.

Drawing was a vital necessity of the artist. Klimt sketched his motifs thousands of times and probed the autonomy and self-sufficiency of drawings, just as he constantly tested the beauty and expressiveness of line.

The book will constitute a rare gem in your Art book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular production, Klimt would have loved it., 11 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Weighing in at nearly eight kilos this is book easier read on the floor. The quality of the reproductions and the paper they are printed on is stunning and since many have never before been available to the general public, Taschen are to be congratulated on producing this record of a truly great artist. The book has inspired me to redouble my efforts in my chosen field of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Gillian Ellis "soulartist" (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
I love this book. The paintings are magical, and the huge size of the book really enhances the prints. I know I am going to enjoy reading about this extraordinary man and his art. Be very careful when lifting this book, I was grateful for the "suitcase" and handle, as it is so heavy! Watch out if you have a bad back, but it's worth it! Wonderful!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful beautiful book, 14 May 2013
By 
Wilfred Gluud (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
The Complete Paintings by Gustav Klimt is a beautiful book. which come with a suitcase of its own due to the weight of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 Jan 2013
By 
K. Catleugh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Taschen have done it again. This is an absolutely wonderful complete collection of all Klimt's work with excellent essays on the various aspects of this great artist's output. The production is superlative, rarely is such fine printing seen. The one (not very serious) drawback is its weight! It comes, very necessarily, in it's own little suitcase. It has to be enjoyed on a big table, and lifted only with circumspection.
A marvellous acquisition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
I'm very satisfied with this purchase particularly as I was concerned that the very heavy book will get damaged in the mail. But the book arrived flawless. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gold everywhere!, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Incredibly heavy, beautifully packed, superbly produced, fabulously illustrated, unbelievable value. Needs a very strong coffee table! Klimt enthusiasts must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 or 5 stars, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Great book. Ordered as a birthday gift, which was well liked but unfortunately did not arrive on time. It was difficult to decided whether I should give 4 or 5 stars for this - so I shall leave others to make up their own mind. Book was ordered but after 10 days had still not arrived, an email to Team Books asking where my order was received a quick response and asking me to check if it was at our sorting office - delivery card may have been lost. Established that it was not. Within 24 hours of letting Team Books know that the book was not there, another book was despatched and received. Can only say that the service I received from Team Books in resolving the issue was 1st class - courteous and helpful. A shame that Royal Mail let them down, otherwise this would definitely have been 5 stars.
If I had one comment to make it is a shame that Team Books do not offer the option of a 24 hour delivery when placing your order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings
Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings by Tobias G. Natter (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2012)
135.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews