Customer Reviews


26 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gustav Klimt's artwork admirers - search no further, this is the single book You'll ever need., 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Anatolij Cimarkin (Vilnius, LT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
This is one of the most astonishing books I've ever owned - a piece of art in it's own way. Superbly produced, with fantastic print quality, featuring large fold-out fragments from the "Tree of Life". This was of particular interest, since, as many of You probably know, the access to the original "Tree of Life" mosaic is almost impossible, and even on the Internet You will not find good representations of the original (Palais Stoclet still serves as a home for it's owners, Adolphe Stoclet descendants), only sketches are exhibited in Vienna. I was very surprised to find superb reproductions of the "Tree of Life" in this book - it's worth buying just because of them.
The book features extensive research of all Klimt's artwork, the phenomenon of Vienna Secession Movement and his biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous and definitive, 3 April 2013
By 
Serghiou Const (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
The sumptuous and masterly book was published in 2012 to coincide with the 150th anniversary of the birth of the artist; I could not conceive a better tribute to Gustav Klimt's artistic genius.

The magnificence of the color reproductions is hard to exaggerate while with respect to scholarship the book is destined to become a standard work of reference. The features that characterize Klimt's work appear in the book in all their glory:female beauty and sensuality, the opulence of his female portraiture, the splendor of his friezes, the poetry of his landscapes, and the uniqueness of his drawings.

Early works presented include the ceiling paintings for the staircases of Vienna's Burg theater and mural decorations for the Kunsthistorisches Museum.

After a painful creative crisis, the artist reinvented himself. With the founding of the Vienna Secession in 1897 and his election as its first president, Klimt announced his return as the standard bearer of Modernism. The Secession was the setting of the legendary 'Beethoven Exhibition' with Klimt's celebrated 'Beethoven Frieze', an event that saw efforts to create an integrated work of art that is unifying 'high' and 'applied art'.

We are subsequently presented with magnificent, folded, many paged, color reproductions of the mosaic frieze for the Palais Stoclet in Brussels. In the text we are intimated on the relationship between the frieze and the architecture of the Palais Stoclet and the proposed interpretation of the frieze as an artificial garden at the heart of the house.

The subject of women is central in Klimt's oeuvre, both in his portraiture and in his richly visualized allegories. Be in their reinterpretation of biblical figures such as Judith as 'femmes fatales', or in his classic portrait commissions, starting in 1897 with the portrait of Sonja Knips as the prelude to Klimt's Secessionist works, and leading to the first portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer with its opulent use of gold. Once again, however, we see Klimt reinvent himself and his painting, this time through the power of color in the female portraits and allegories of his late years. Klimt's female sitters - members of the assimilated upper bourgeoisie and often with Jewish roots - belonged with their families to the artist's most important patrons and collectors.

Klimt turned to landscape painting in the second half of his life, when he began taking annual breaks in the region of Lake Attersee. Klimt filtered and transformed seen nature to meet his own artistic requirements. In his landscapes, Nature is reconstituted into a visual poetry.

Drawing was a vital necessity of the artist. Klimt sketched his motifs thousands of times and probed the autonomy and self-sufficiency of drawings, just as he constantly tested the beauty and expressiveness of line.

The book will constitute a rare gem in your Art book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gustav Klimt - The complete Paintings, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
L. Pearce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
A huge impressive book. Fantastic large scale reproductions including foldout details of paintings. Marvellous quality reproductions and extensive analysis of Klimt's life and development as an artist. This may look an expensive book but when you see it, it really isn't - great value for money and Taschen quality prints - superb. This will be the defining work on Klimt for years to come. Buy it! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular production, Klimt would have loved it., 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Weighing in at nearly eight kilos this is book easier read on the floor. The quality of the reproductions and the paper they are printed on is stunning and since many have never before been available to the general public, Taschen are to be congratulated on producing this record of a truly great artist. The book has inspired me to redouble my efforts in my chosen field of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Gillian Ellis "soulartist" (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
I love this book. The paintings are magical, and the huge size of the book really enhances the prints. I know I am going to enjoy reading about this extraordinary man and his art. Be very careful when lifting this book, I was grateful for the "suitcase" and handle, as it is so heavy! Watch out if you have a bad back, but it's worth it! Wonderful!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful beautiful book, 14 May 2013
By 
Wilfred Gluud (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
The Complete Paintings by Gustav Klimt is a beautiful book. which come with a suitcase of its own due to the weight of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
I'm very satisfied with this purchase particularly as I was concerned that the very heavy book will get damaged in the mail. But the book arrived flawless. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars knockout quality book, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
P. Young "noseyparker" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
beautifully wrapped up and posted, thank you. Super service from the seller!

A splendid book for all completists. it is a big and heavy book. The quality of the images is superb, thank you Taschen.

Worth having to enjoy more of Klimt after you have been to see "The Portrait in Vienna 1900: Facing the Modern" at the National Gallery in London. Then go to Vienna to enjoy even more (and others from Schiele, Kokoschka, Gerstl, Romako etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Bought this as a Christmas present for my partner who loves Klimt. The look on her face was well worth the cost of this amazing book with the fold out pictures and detail of the art of Klimt with detailed narrative to go with the history of his art. Beautifully put together, yes it's big and heavy but if you want something that gives you everything you wanted to know and see about Klimt then you just have to buy this. Even the box it comes in is a piece of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most gorgeous book i shall ever own, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Although sold as used the book arrived unopened in all its original wrappings. The full page reproductions are lovely in the detail they provide, My favourite section is the one devoted to the stoclet frieze.I enjoy collage annd textile work, I will be inspired by this sumptuous book for many years to come. It is a treat to get it out of its box and look at it. It is on such a grand scale that i feel i ought to be wearing protective gloves as they do in a museum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings
Gustav Klimt - The Complete Paintings by Tobias G. Natter (Hardcover - 25 Sept. 2012)
£87.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews