Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy family - one hand clap...
Taschen is an outstanding publishing house,continuously bringing works of popular culture to its readers.
Opening up new worlds to its admirers.
Richard Kern is a photographer - a photographer that shoots stills - makes movies.
Some might say that in this part of his life he is an artist - some may say a pornographer.
I will say that to me he is...
Published on 23 Mar 2007 by bohobozo

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars damp and small
Not quite sure about this, simply because it did so little for me. On reflection I connect to images and pictures that are gateways to other worlds. This however is a depiction of the real one, albeit spiced up with some girl on girl action. It reminds me of the rolls of porno books I used to find on the local golf course in the 1970's. The ones where women in various...
Published on 7 Oct 2011 by Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars damp and small, 7 Oct 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Hardcover)
Not quite sure about this, simply because it did so little for me. On reflection I connect to images and pictures that are gateways to other worlds. This however is a depiction of the real one, albeit spiced up with some girl on girl action. It reminds me of the rolls of porno books I used to find on the local golf course in the 1970's. The ones where women in various states of undressed adornment are penetrated by studs with various contours of burgery grips, hairy chests and bouncing with medallions. Wow, at the time, but in retrospect not something I would cross the road to see nowadays. I am not sure what the market is for this book, because you can get so much porn on the internet. This is't really art, like his previous books. It's just pictures of young women naked in bland sterile motels and apartments.

These are the girls next door, the Fiesta babes as opposed to the glitz of Men Only and Penthouse. I flicked through it and put it to one side and then returned to make my mind up. If my daughter saw it I would be embarrased, as it would be difficult to argue it is art, because clearly it isn't. It doesn't light my fire. The pictures are well composed, but if the spark is not ignited, it comes over as all too damp and small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mild Disappointment, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Keith Dymock "Admirer" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Taschen 25 Special Edition) (Hardcover)
This a book showing erotic photographs of young women.

While some of the photography is quite good, I did not appreciate some of the rest...but I am not an expert on erotic photography. Therefore I found the book a little disappointing.

It is strange too that there are a few photographs displaying girls urinating into drinking glasses or the toilet. If you think that you will enjoy seeing such photographs, here is your opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy family - one hand clap..., 23 Mar 2007
By 
bohobozo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Hardcover)
Taschen is an outstanding publishing house,continuously bringing works of popular culture to its readers.
Opening up new worlds to its admirers.
Richard Kern is a photographer - a photographer that shoots stills - makes movies.
Some might say that in this part of his life he is an artist - some may say a pornographer.
I will say that to me he is neither - he is just an ordinary guy intrigued by the private lives and intimate deeds and desires of his women and then takes the extra-ordinary action of trying to capture their private lives on film.
A voyuer who wants to share his work with the world (or at least with like-minded individuals).
He is a mature adolescent - retaining his boy-like fascination in the opposite sex - a real curiousity.
He likes to record his women - his girls - exploring their sexuality - discovering their preferences - teasing out their otherwise private responses.
Whether he is teasing out his subject's own honest action or just their reaction to the camera - only he and they know for sure - either way it looks pretty good to me.
This book shows a progression from his original (somewhat contrived) hipness, recorded in other publications elsewhere, to a purer, truer more honest simplicity - an honesty I find sometimes lacking in other photographer's work of a similar genre.
And this book is further enhanced by the surprize inclusion of a DVD compilation of his women in action (hence the publication's title, I guess)- with a soundtrack by another of eternal youth persuasion - Thurston Moore.
Now I am led to believe Mr. Kern wanted this edition to be a little closer to the edge and published under the title 'Hard' but his publisher talked him out of it - so this book may not be exactly what he originally envisaged - but it sure hits the right spot for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Richard Kern Erotica, 8 May 2007
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Hardcover)
The evolution of Richard Kern continues. His new book, Action possesses that quintessential pizzazz that runs throughout all of his work, but it nonetheless has its own unique and wonderful flavor too. Kern has always been attracted to the atypical model - he was photographing girls from the "suicide" genre long before it became fashionable - and his affinity for sexy, young ladies continues.

Within the 280 pages of Action there is a subtle yet piercing element of fetishistic sexuality. Panty clad young sirens drop their bottoms, there's toe-sucking, spread shots, and other forms of tainted affection. All presented in that infamous Richard Kern style. Fan's of Kern's work will find numerous reasons to fall in love with his breathtaking vision all over again. And there's an hour-long DVD too. Action is a can't miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tried hard to find some photographic merit in this but couldn't find it anywhere, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Taschen 25 Special Edition) (Hardcover)
I'll confess I was not familiar at all with Richard Kern or his work, but I am now. It's not my kind of thing. I just didn't get what was supposed to be good enough about the images to warrant a book full of them. Just not for me, this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not amazing., 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Taschen 25 Special Edition) (Hardcover)
To be honnest, it really is more porn than art. If your objective is a book that you can look at again and again and enjoy the way the pictures are shot as well as the beauty of the models, then stay away. If a crafty knuckle shuffle is your goal ... I wouldn't both either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kern at his best, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Taschen 25 Special Edition) (Hardcover)
Exactly what I expected from Kern in his book
Plus the added DVD is a real bonus
Well worth a purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watered down action..., 31 Mar 2007
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Hardcover)
As a follow up purchase to Richard Kern's 'Model Release', I was really looking forward to getting my mitts on this book. However, apart from the remarkably quick delivery (thanks Amazon!), there wasn't an awful lot to be impressed by.

Anybody who is familiar with Kern's work knows what to expect, but for those who don't then, briefly, this is more of Kern's speciality: photos of waif-like (and not-so-waif-like) models in various states of undress. Basically, Kern likes his models slightly dirty - they all give off the air of being the girl-next-door, or the slightly kooky girl you fancied at school.

As far as this goes, then fine. However, 'Model Release' raised the bar for Kern's work; it was more of the porno-chic art that Kern specialises in, but done in such a way that it was an almost acceptable coffee-table work of art. In contrast, 'Action' dumbs down from porno-chic to just porno, and in doing so it takes away from the creativity and originality that Kern was approaching with his earlier work. Effectively, 'Action' seems to demonstrate that, in the ever climbing technical and artistic merit of his publications, 'Model Release' was the pinnacle - making 'Action' either an unexpected blip on ascent or, as I fear, the beginning of a decline in Kern's standards. I hope for the former.

On the plus side, the inclusion of a behind-the-scenes DVD adds a novel dimension to Kern's artistic process. This follows on from the DVD included with another one of Kern's Taschen stable-mates, Roy Stuart's 'The Fourth Body', and if so it provides a welcome direction from the German publishers.

Overall, if this is the type of work you are looking for, Kern's earlier work (especially the glorious 'Model Release') would make a better start or, alternatively, Roy Stuart's work (after vol. 2) or anything by Peter Gorman. For myself, I think that I might wait for Richard Kern's future work with hopeful patience, but I'll certainly have lower expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars richard kern nudes, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Taschen 25 Special Edition) (Hardcover)
This is essentially a "nudie" book, but transcends the usual pornography because of the freshness of the models and interesting settings, both inside and outdoors. It is more of a series of artistic poses. A D.V.D. comes with it on which you can watch the young ladies walking about etc.-just grand. Edited by Diane Hanson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheeky stocking filler for hubby!, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Kern: Action (Taschen 25 Special Edition) (Hardcover)
He 'reads' this and has turned over the dust jacket to show the other side which is some Roman History book!
It would work if it wasn't for the fact that I got him it so I know what he is really looking at.....silly fool!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard Kern: Action (Taschen 25 Special Edition)
Richard Kern: Action (Taschen 25 Special Edition) by Dian Hanson (Hardcover - 25 Mar 2011)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews