Customer Reviews


17 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional quality, 21 Oct. 2010
This is the book that lovers of Caravaggio's work have been waiting for. Clear and informed art historical and analytical text by an eminent authority on the artist, provides a fascinating background to the paintings without being too long or detailed to deter less avid students of art history. The illustrations are of unrivalled quality and depth of colour. Having just visited Rome to see some of the paintings shown, some only recently cleaned, I can testify to the remarkable trueness of colour, worthy of a book much more expensive than this one. It represents unusual value for money. The format of providing detail a close-up illustration for almost every painting, as well as each painting in full, is the next best thing to being with the painting itself, enabling the reader to get both the overall impact and some appreciation of brushwork and tone too. Complete paintings are never split across a page binding, which is always irritating. I cannot recommend the book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book -Indispensable for Caravaggio devotees, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Champollion (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful book which is absolutely indispensable for those interested in the work of Caravaggio. It is, as the title indicates, the complete works of the artist. There are beautiful reproductions of his paintings combined with a background narrative to each of them. The book is competitively priced, when considering that other similar books ,(the entire works) are much more expensive. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Master of Chiaroscuro, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravaggio (Taschen Basic Art Series) (Hardcover)
This is an impressive book that provides a biography of the artist, explanations to his paintings and of course a large number of excellent colour reproductions of his works. Caravaggio was a bit of a bad lad , getting involved in fights and murders , associating with the lower classes and having to move from town to town (and country to country) after repeatedly falling foul of the authorities. However he had a number of influential patrons and a ready market for his artistic works. Caravaggio paintings are mostly in the chiaroscuro style ; mainly dark works lit up by outside sources of light. I liked most of them. His works on a religious theme were very good and I have actually seen a few of them in real life on my travels to Rome , Paris and Valletta. I generally prefer more modern art, but I enjoyed reading about this colourful artist and looking at his paintings in this good quality ,inexpensive ,Taschen book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good value for money hardback, 31 July 2013
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravaggio (Taschen Basic Art Series) (Hardcover)
The perfect introduction to this painter, a hardback with 96 pages, larger than an A4 sheet, with 47 full page plates and lots of smaller ones. The plates are razor-sharp and the colour very good; a high-quality book with a solid text. Seriously well-produced, and so much more than the basic (and smallish) Taschen basic art edition I bought of Friedrich - I thought Amazon had made a mistake and sent me a much more expensive book!
Only niggles I have is that the cover reproduced here is not the one on my book; I don't mind (it is in fact the same model) and the author is Gilles Lambert - not mentioned in the write-up.
But what a beautiful book for much less than a tenner...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable job, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Christian Nugue "go-between" (Meudon (France)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Caravaggio is undoubtedly one of the most fascinating figures in the history of painting, because of his life and because of his work. After a prolonged stay in the purgatory, he has become a kind of icon for the 21st century.
Rossella Vodret has done a remarkable job selecting the works that can be ascribed to him beyond reasonable doubt, which is a huge responsability. Thanks to her thorough research we have for the first time a complete and reliable list of authentic Caravaggio paintings. A huge achievement. I like the iconography as well because of its high standard.
The written presentation is clear and precise. It refrains from subjective judgments and it gives us the cultural backdrop against which we can shape our own personal appreciation.
Madame Vodret sweeps the issue of homosexuality under the rug, but I can live with that !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Artist, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravaggio (Taschen Basic Art Series) (Hardcover)
To me Caravaggio was the greatest painter that every lived and to see a lot of his painting up close and in detail shows just what an accomplished painter he actually was........... pity he died so early otherwise what else could he have achieved ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Caravaggio lovers, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must-have for anyone who continues to admire the artistry of the master Caravaggio. Beautifully presented, and allows you to relive the experience of these great works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A high quality book,Illustrations first class, text very informative.and readable, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully illustrated, informatve, and a good read. A high quality paper back and for for once an Art book not to heavy to hold so it lie unread on a coffe table. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Caravaggio, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravaggio (Hardcover)
Great to have most of the paintings I saw at the Doria Pamphilli but must now search further for those not included in this publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for a friend, she adores Caravaggio. The book is excellent and she loves it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caravaggio (Taschen Basic Art Series)
Caravaggio (Taschen Basic Art Series) by Gilles Neret (Hardcover - 30 Sept. 2010)
Used & New from: £17.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews