Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
Length:: 2:35 Mins

This book is fabulous and the quality of the images are excellent.

The pages are folded and then bound with beautifully coloured prints. The book's cover seems to be made from silk or another high quality textured material.

The introduction is informative and lasts for the first 28 pages giving information on Edo (Tokyo), wood-block and Hiroshige. This leaves another 119 full page colour plates with a description about the image on the opposite page.

The quality of this book is outstanding and at such a low price I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw-dropping loveliness, 16 April 2011
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
What's this, a facsimile Japanese binding of the the famous Hiroshige? Having thrown away the blingy gold cardboard 30 (OK Taschen have a right to boast), I open up the little clasps and see the book itself, bound by twine on the left, glittering with the cover print of a crane's head, a detail from a print yet to be discovered within. It's obviously paper, but with the effect of painted silk. AAAHH, I'm in for a treat here!

Inside the slip case, there's a significant block of printed paper, which comes free from the case. Each of the pages is a leaf folded double (again referring to traditional book production methods), and the main plates are full page with explanatory material on the left. There's a detailed introduction to Hiroshige and the working methods of the woodblock artisans (particularly nice to see a 15-step breakdown of how the colours are built up). I learnt lots from this introduction, including the vital creative role played by the woodcutters, who are usually uncredited. There's a solid amount of research behind this beautiful volume.

The Edo prints themselves are top quality, taken from originals collected in the Imperial collection in Japan, and of course stunning to look at. The colours are bright but subtle, and we can see the woodgrain of the printing blocks and the sweeps of colour made by the inking process (again, we can read about the technique in detail). Hiroshige's scenes and drawings are varied, subtle, playful and all those things he's famous for. Just glancing at them is enjoyable enough, but they reward patient study as well. Delightful!

All in all, I can't believe I've obtained this for what seems like half of its value! A triumph of ancient art and modern production technology. What a prize!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, product!!", 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
I saw this book in Waterstone's and the cover immediately grabbed my attention; I have studied Japanese art for my exams and have always loved traditional wood block prints so I thought that this book would be ideal. I ended up purchasing this book from Amazon because the price was cheaper compared to the £30.00 that it cost in Waterstone's. The quality of this book in unbelievable, it is bound and has a wonderful silk like cover. The whole book come in a hard back case with toggles, and inside the images are very authentic looking and emphasise the simplicity and effortless beauty of the prints. The book contains descriptions of the printmaking processes and the individual prints themselves. This book is a true homage to such an important artist and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is interested in Japanese art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unbelievably good value for an unbelievably beautiful book, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Thomas Moore "Russian translator" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
One drifts through life, vaguely satisfied or dissatisfied by serendipitous discoveries ... and then, wham! you risk a few bob (or bucks, if you will) because of a good or just decent review in a newspaper. This is unqualifiedly the most astonishing and beautiful (and beautifully presented) book on art that I have ever known ... the only reaction of mine that I can compare it to is when I first clapped eyes on the hardback version of Jung's Man and His Symbols. Melanie Trede and Lorenz Bichler, the author/compilers, are to be congratulated for accomplishing this miracle. The person for whom I purchased this as a Christmas present considers herself changed for the better ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning presentation, 29 Jan 2012
By 
Joseph Devine (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
I'm going to utilise brevity in this review and say simply, that this is a stunning book, and whether or not you are a fan of Hiroshige, it's the sort of book you will always cherish. From the silken fabric binding to the exquisite design and presentation, it truly does justice to the amazing artwork contained within. Breathtaking. One of the most beautiful books I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exquisite bargain, 3 Nov 2014
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
A superb book which does justice to the work it contains. Reproduction quality is excellent, text is highly informative and as an object in its own right it is really rather wonderful. And all at a price which makes it accessible to a very wide readership. The prints themselves are wonderful: stunning colours, brilliance of composition which exploits foreground and background space with the mastery of a cinematographer of genius, social observation with touches of humour and expressions of extraordinary craftsmanship. Probably the best value art book I have ever seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Beautiful, Awesome book, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
This is the most wonderful book, one to be stroked and nurtured, amazing quality, I couldnt put it down, it is a joy to own. Just about to order another one for my Japanese friends birthday. It has toggle fastenings to close it,the paper is like parchment,quality of the prints are phenomenal. Its like no other book I have owned. A thing of beauty indeed.Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
As this is an art book, I had expected good reproductions of Hiroshige's prints, but the design & quality of this book is outstanding. Lovely paper & traditional Japanese book binding techniques really add to the enjoyment of the pictures. A beautiful book for an amazing price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great quality, great price, 26 April 2011
By 
Mr. P. Arpino - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
Amazed at the quality of this book and the content for the price. Have many japanese books and tattoo art and this is one of the best for value for money and quality of build, with great pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Japanese art lovers, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) (Hardcover)
Given as a gift - fantastic images, great information with them, really nice presentation. The quality of the prints in the Introduction isn't as impressive (but maybe they're faithful - I wouldn't know) but the colours in the 100 images are great and the book has certainly been really well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go)
Hiroshige: One Hundred Famous Views of Edo (Go) by Lorenz Bichler (Hardcover - 25 Aug 2010)
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews