Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Albertus Seba, 13 July 2012
By 
Mrs. S. M. Wells "maymay" (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
This book is SOO beautiful! I first saw a copy in the library and couldn't wait to get one for myself. It's big (around A3) size with gorgeous and colourful pictures of animals and plants on every page. Some of them aren't scientifically accurate but this just adds to their charm. Particularly suitable for snake enthusiasts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Fascinating Wonderfulness, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
I loved this so much, I've bought 2 copies! I've used one book for decorative purposes and the other because I felt really bad about dismantling the first. The images and details are unbelievable wonderful, from a time when this type of book was for the seriously upper classes, the awe-someness is amazing! Mr Seba with the help of his colleagues did the most wonderful job! I would recommend this book for anyone with a curiosity as the images will be much looked at and loved!! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful Taschen facsimile, 6 Sep 2014
By 
K. K. Jakubczyk "Sofa King" (Subversive Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
At this price there is little to fault this superb facsimile. The content is essentially a very colourful reproduction of an eighteenth century private publication that in modern parlance would be described as a museum catalogue.

Seba's private collection of natural wonders must have been vast - as the helpful, and relatively comprehensive introductory text to this tome explains. The colour reproductions of his exhibits are of a good facsimile standard - clearly coming from an original source. In all honesty at this price the paper and the reproduction quality is not the best but I'm not about to let that become an issue. The content is outstanding and is likely to continue to reward the casual reader for many years. Sure this is a coffee table book but is one of the highest quality because of its wonderful content. Buy it in the confidence that you will actually enjoy it and keep coming back to it. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous book, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
This is an amazing work of art and research - as an artist I shall be able to find much to learn from and inspire in any one of these beautiful images.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
Clear and large-format illustrations, essential but complete texts, an extremely beautiful volume at an affordable price. As usual, a Taschen masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 25 Oct 2011
By 
M Bayley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
I love scientific drawings and have built up quite a collection, however this book trumps the lot. Firstly the book is huge, just less than A3, 415 pages long (not all of this is the drawing however, there is a huge introduction and substantial blurb at the rear, however the drawings easily cover 300 pages. Truly splendid, although this book may not be the most accurate out there as some of the specimens are drawn from descriptions / dead / emaciated examples... non the less, I am very very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'wow' factor, 17 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
A book that any naturalist is bound to fall in love with. Beautifully illustrated colour plates with a wide range of topics. Snakes (many!) and other reptiles, spiders, insects, metamorphosis, birds, primates, fish and sea creatures, botany, minerals. Even a few wierd creatures! A bit of treasure for everyone. Truly an investment with a very small price tag. As with many Taschen books, there is a brief and succint overview of the contents of the book in the beginning, and its context and significance historically. More notes at the end of the book. The illustrations are labelled at the bottom of each page in different languages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unbelievably good value, I would expect to see a book ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
A really stunning book, unbelievably good value, I would expect to see a book of this size and quality in a bookshop for £40. The illustrations are beautifully reproduced. A feast for the eyes, and could probably be used to identify some natural history specimens as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really splendid Wunderkammer, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) (Hardcover)
Unbelievable quality of book for the price- full colour plates fill the whole thing, and it is a splendid book to peruse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25)
Albertus Seba, Cabinet of Natural Curiosities (25) by Rainer Willmann (Hardcover - Jan 2011)
£22.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews