Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, avoid misunderstanding
This is a book obviously created with great care. Very nice essays, useful for the understanding of the perception of the world and its images through time.
It is very inclusive, you will find images such as the umbrella or the car, which takes it further than tradition.
But beware! This is NOT a book where you will read about the meaning of ouroboros, or the...
Published on 25 Jun. 2012 by Zoe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a dissappointment
The essays are a bit wordy. I would have liked more concrete information. I am not sure the modern art is at all helpful.
Published 11 months ago by Raq


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, avoid misunderstanding, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
This is a book obviously created with great care. Very nice essays, useful for the understanding of the perception of the world and its images through time.
It is very inclusive, you will find images such as the umbrella or the car, which takes it further than tradition.
But beware! This is NOT a book where you will read about the meaning of ouroboros, or the ankh, or the celtic cross, etc., etc. The word archetypal in the subtitle is of great importance. If this is what you're looking for, than I would suggest:
The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What everyone is getting for Christmas, 11 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
Wow, what an amazing book. The publishers succeed fully in collecting archetypal images, some ancient and some surprisingly modern, and guiding the reader on to further research through reference, poetry and art.

Some reviewers have criticized the small pictures and "insufficient" writing, but if the publishers had given us all the detail available the book would be so heavy you would have needed a trolley to carry it around and weight-lifter's arms just to open it. Plus which this is a book about symbols, which resonate on an unconscious level, so excess writing is not necessary.

A book to keep on your bedside table and randomly flick through before sleep, or to read from page one to the end. Can't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Symbols is sublime..., 28 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
This is an outstanding book - from content, to cover and how the book is put together and with the materials it is crafted from. A beautiful volume to be well loved and well thumbed for many, many years to come. In my opinion, the best book of symbols I've seen so far. I'm very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic, beautiful and interesting book to add to any bookshelf, 22 July 2014
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
I am a glass artist and I bought this book because I often find myself looking at symbols when designing. I absolutely love this book, it's so well organised and takes you right through the world : from creation and the cosmos, the plant world, animal world, human world and spirit world. Full page images coupled with a full page narrative. Highly informative and extremely useful. As I flicked through it, ideas for design and interesting facts were jumping out at me. If you're at all interested in symbols and their origins, don't hesitate to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, 28 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
The book is well organised and has loads of colour illustrations. Of all my books this has to be the most sophisticated and interesting. The sheer size and content is well worth the money. Compared to similar symbol books, if symbols are your thing, this book exceeds all expectations and has my recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Symbols, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful and well written book. It's a genuine pleasure to sit with this book, even for just a short period of time and look at the illustrations.

well done Taschen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
a really great reference book -really well presented, detailed information, good pictures. This makes a great reference book for artists, writers and anyone else interested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating with so beautiful images, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
S. Brain "Bookworm" (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
This book is a gem and a pleasure to own. I've been interested in symbols and their deeper psychological meaning since being introduced to Jung by a student friend. I find myself constantly dipping into this book e.g. after watching films, having had vivid dreams etc. The images chosen to accompany the short essays are sources of inspiration in themselves. I'd recommend this book to anyone interested in symbolism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hrenzen, 22 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
This is a book to have at home. Just going through it, and looking the selected images is beautiful. Essays are written with poetic erudition and can serve for both, information and inspiration. The book does not cover so many symbols as some other books of the sort. However the ones covered are well chosen and, as I already wrote, beautifully presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars almost there...., 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) (Hardcover)
nice book - useful reference and good breadth, slightly disappointing size, nice layout and really like the finger cut outs to find each section. Bigger and glossier would've nailed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism)
The Book of Symbols: Reflections on Archetypal Images (The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism) by Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism (Hardcover - 13 Nov. 2010)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews