Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only a biography, explores her art too
This is a brilliant slim, easily portable book about Frida (not a coffee table tome!), which contains beautiful, high-quality glossy full-colour pictures on every page; not just her paintings but photos from her life and her amazing sketches too.

The written part, I found, contains enough detail and depth that as someone relatively new to Frida I learnt a LOT...
Published on 27 May 2012 by beccalikesbooks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
OK
Published 2 months ago by Bella


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only a biography, explores her art too, 27 May 2012
This is a brilliant slim, easily portable book about Frida (not a coffee table tome!), which contains beautiful, high-quality glossy full-colour pictures on every page; not just her paintings but photos from her life and her amazing sketches too.

The written part, I found, contains enough detail and depth that as someone relatively new to Frida I learnt a LOT about her, without being a full-on academic text on her life. It covers her entire life and is great overall picture - it will probably inspire you to read a more detailed biography or her diaries.

Even if you're familiar with her biography, what is amazing and different about this book is that it discusses her art in great detail too - which when talking about an artist's life is very important! You see her artistic development and it explains the symbolism in her pictures and how they relate to her life.

For example, there's a full-page spread of 'What I Saw in the Water / What the Water Gave Me' (the picture of her feet in the bath, with all the surreal objects, people and skyscrapers floating in there too), which is annotated with pictures and notes showing what each part of the image came from - there are references in there to her other pictres, even a bird from a Hieronymus Bosch painting, and to see it visually represented like that is so interesting and you learn so much.

So, if you want not only a bigraphy but an exploration of her art too, this book is absolutely perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kahlo (25 years specisl edition), 26 Sep 2009
By 
C. A. Karr "echota" (Merseyside, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kahlo (Taschen 25 Years Special Editon) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book. With great Pictures. Tells the story of her life and gives an insight into the world of a free thinker. Fantastic price will make a lovely present. One could actually buy two one to keep and one to give away to an appreciative person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Kahlo with excellent reproductions, 25 May 2013
It's hard to appreciate Frida Kahlo's paintings if you don't understand them and you can't understand them if you don't know about her life. As an introduction to the life, times and art of one of Mexico's most famous and controversial paintings, Andrea Kettenmann's book is a great place to start.

In this slim volume you'll find plenty of information about Kahlo's life, the physical pain that tortured her and inspired her work, her relationship with husband Diego Rivera and both their affairs with plenty of other people, her political activism and her friendships with many fascinating people. These details are not just fluff and filling because Kettermann uses them to explain the paintings which they inspired. I can think of few artists whose work is so intrinsically linked to their own life, their beliefs and their suffering.

Taschen art books almost always contain excellent reproductions of the artist's work and this volume is no exception. In total the book offers colour pictures of more than 70 of her works which probably add up to around half of the total body of her work. There are also many photographs and sketches and some examples of Diego's murals. The author clearly explains the different phases of Frida's artistic life and the evolution of her work from rather naive and simplistic portraits in her early days, through the shocking blood-spattered work of her painful years of miscarriages and medically enforced abortions, through her surreal almost Dali-esque phase and back to the rather more heavy handed, simplistic pictures of her final painful years. If I have to make one small gripe, it would be that the text and the photographs are often many pages apart so that a painting is being descibed long before it actually appears and you need to keep flicking back and forth between the text and the painting. It's not a big deal but it may annoy some readers.

Reading 'Frida Kahlo, Pain and Passion' set me up to look again at her photographs with more knowledge and to see her paintings with greater clarity. I am left wanting more and determined to track down a more in-depth biography than this slim volume of just 96 pages can provide but I recommend it highly as a beginners guide to the life and work of a remarkable woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning taster - now I just want to read more, 5 April 2001
By A Customer
Easy to read with just enough detail to give a taster of her unusual and magic approach to life and art. She triumphed over adversity, was before her time and is an inspiration to the untrained artist. You cannot help but want to reach for a paintbrush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good well written book, 21 Jun 2009
A good and well written book. Illustrations are good as well, even though the booksize is a bit on the small side to show the pictures in a good way.
Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kahlo (Taschen 25 Years Special Editon) (Hardcover)
It is a really great book.The perfect gift for each and every Frida's fan.Really interesting photos of her and her family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kahlo, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kahlo (Taschen 25 Years Special Editon) (Hardcover)
Very good book, well illustrated.an ideal book if you want to know all about Freda Kahlo"s life.I will be buying another as a present .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! For the art lover and the art novice!, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kahlo (Taschen 25 Years Special Editon) (Hardcover)
Frida Kahlo has been an interest of mine since I was in school and studied her as part of my art course. She is such a fascinating woman and her work evokes such passion and feeling. If you are interested in learning more about her turbulent personal life, her involvement in politics and her art work, this is the book for you. Even if you have a good knowledge of her and her work, this book is so wonderfully detailed and laid out and even though I have been a huge fan of hers for years, I learned a lot. It provides a beautiful insight into her life. A perfect Sunday afternoon read. 100% recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Eyebrow as Art!, 4 July 2014
By 
Richard Newbold (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A brief guide and thankfully down-to-earth critique of the wonderful painting sof Frida Kahlo, The paper quality and production are excellent and even the modest dimensions of the book do not detract from the vibrancy of the painting, The self-portraits of this beautiful and intense woman are my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kahlo paintings, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good reproductions of her painting. An interesting life. One of the more recent artists who has produced very different work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kahlo (Taschen 25 Years Special Editon)
Kahlo (Taschen 25 Years Special Editon) by Andrea Kettenmann (Hardcover - 25 Feb 2009)
£8.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews