Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A BIG book, that strays from the beaten path
This book is great value. It is BIG. If you're looking for a collection of current Urban Art favourites (ie. Banksy, Obey..etc), this is NOT that book. This is a collection of photographs of work and artists that are not the usual suspects. Loads of interesting stuff from the last 40 years, that I'm fairly sure won't be familiar to most people. While 'Beyond the Street'...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by D. Mackay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview
'Trespass' is a good overview of the history of street art - graffiti, stencil art, performance, etcetera. Lotsa great photos, though the essays are rather arid. Bit too academic, there's no stories there. And that's what I'm after when I read stuff like this: stories. But quit nagging: it's still a good buy.
Published on 2 April 2011 by K-Trane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A BIG book, that strays from the beaten path, 16 Oct 2010
By 
D. Mackay "Big D" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trespass: A History of Uncommissioned Urban Art (Hardcover)
This book is great value. It is BIG. If you're looking for a collection of current Urban Art favourites (ie. Banksy, Obey..etc), this is NOT that book. This is a collection of photographs of work and artists that are not the usual suspects. Loads of interesting stuff from the last 40 years, that I'm fairly sure won't be familiar to most people. While 'Beyond the Street' is a great overview of the current StreetArt scene, this is more of a historical overview. Definitely worth adding to your book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Trespass: A History of Uncommissioned Urban Art (Hardcover)
I recently had the pleasure of meeting one of the artists whose work is featured in this book, and I absolutely loved looking through it with him and him explaining to me his take on urban art. It's a brilliant book for anyone who appreciates art or is looking for inspiration, and doesn't just focus on the usual names that pop into your mind when you think of urban art. I love it and would most definitely reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Art and Ideas, 18 Sep 2011
This review is from: Trespass: A History of Uncommissioned Urban Art (Hardcover)
Trespass is much more than a book about graffiti and posters; it's a book full of all kinds of interesting urban art projects involving sculpture, photography, performance art, happenings, interventions and plenty of urban visual subversion.

These artists are reaching out to the mass of people who never set foot in a gallery, to surprise, delight and challenge their ideas about art, and their beliefs in general.
The artists believe in free speech and in expressing their political views in the public realm, potentially face arrest and a criminal record, this adds to the impact of the works shown.

The book covers artwork from around the world, most coming from New York, London and Brazil. Each chapter has a written introduction, some of which are rather dry and academic.
I would have liked to have read more stories by the artists themselves about how and why they created the artworks.

A visually striking survey of the wide-ranging field that is urban art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, 2 April 2011
This review is from: Trespass: A History of Uncommissioned Urban Art (Hardcover)
'Trespass' is a good overview of the history of street art - graffiti, stencil art, performance, etcetera. Lotsa great photos, though the essays are rather arid. Bit too academic, there's no stories there. And that's what I'm after when I read stuff like this: stories. But quit nagging: it's still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting.., 31 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trespass: A History of Uncommissioned Urban Art (Hardcover)
This book is a lot BIGGER than I expected but packed full of interesting imagaes to me as a novice in urban art (I prefer photography) Exellent price for a what you get, could do with some more info on artists/images thou.. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trespass: A History of Uncommissioned Urban Art
Trespass: A History of Uncommissioned Urban Art by Carlo McCormick (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2010)
Used & New from: £9.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews