Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York, N-E-W Y-O-R-K!, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
This lovely book follows the same format as Taschen's Los Angeles (ISBN 978-3836502917): a history of the city based on named photographers though there are many fine images taken by anonymous snappers. The LA book had thirty-nine photographers but as this is New York it takes 124 of them and over 500 photos to expose the city.

All the regulars are here, photographers who have created that special look over the years. Abbott, Bubley, Eisenstadt, Feininger, Klein, Orkin, Riis and a good showing from Weegee but what I found fascinating was the number photos from anonymous sources. Right up to the late Forties unknowns had taken some quite remarkable shots revealing a particular aspect of city. Some of these run over spreads throughout the book and they look stunning. Pages 108-109 have that famous shot of the sunlight streaming through windows at Grand Central Terminus, anonymous from 1929.

The book's five chapters look backwards over 160 years starting in
1850 and though maybe one could fault it by only using historical photos rather than a wider range of graphic images I think it succeeds because of this. The city has a long pedigree of photographic interpretation and some of the best works are in these pages. Nearly all the images are exteriors showing the changing landscape, people (either New Yorkers or personalities) or just out on the street. I thought it was a plus that there are very few celebrity shots here.

Several pages have largish thumbnails of cultural graphic items: book jackets and posters for plays and movies. The back pages have brief artistic listing of suggested reading, listening and viewing. All the named photographers get a hundred or so word biography.

Like Taschen's LA book this is a lovely designed and produced title that takes a different and fresh look at the city. The large page size and huge photos celebrate one of the world's great cities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
Very pleased with this book, great double page photos, and gives great overview of the city and at this price you get alot for your money highly recomended and is the best photo book of nyc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great (big) book for lovers of NYC, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
This is another great big photo book from Taschen which represents excellent value for money.

The photos are in approximate chronological order and the book serves as both a love letter to New York and also an interesting historical document.
I have many books on New York and this one is easily up there with the very best.
Buy this book, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
The pictures in the book are amazing. High quality and it really gets the motion of New York - the good and the bad side of the city. It's not much of a history lesson but it outlines the most important events of the city. The book follows a timeline - from the beginning to the present and the evolution of the city.
The pictures are astonishing, it tells you something.. a history tale or a special atmosphere. The book's quality is great as well.

It's a bit expensive but i highly recommend the book!! especially if you're going to New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 9 Mar 2011
By 
lovemurakami "tooty2" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
Yet again Taschen have produced an excellent photography book, overflowing with images from over 150 years, shows the heart and soul of New York. Wonderful book. Great gift for anyone who loves New York, photography or just nice coffee table books. Also a great gift for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
A wonderful, gorgeous and HUGE book which I ordered for Christmas for my mother who celebrated her 75th birthday in New York. She was absolutely delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
As a fan of coffee table books I was really impressed with this book - a really heavy weight book with some really interesting pictures of New York. I also bought the London book and I am equally impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Book, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
My son bought this book for me as a Christmas present. If you love New York as I do, this book is a must! The pictures are amazing and it is nice to read the history of New York. There is only one problem with this book - it makes me long to go back to New York for a third trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful book!, 30 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
This is a visually stunning book, taking you through the historic highs and lows of one of the greatest cities on Earth.

I received it as a gift and can wholeheartedly recommend it for anyone who is interested in photography, travel, history, or more specifically New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New York, Portrait of a City (Hardcover)
EXCELLENT WELL WORTH EVERY PENNY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New York, Portrait of a City
New York, Portrait of a City by Reuel Golden (Hardcover - 5 Sep 2010)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews