Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece
The most definitive catalogue of the works of Caravaggio. This enormous book brings the works as close as possible without seeing the originals. Sumptuously produced and brilliantly organised it is a work of total dedication which takes the breath away with the turning of each lavish page.
Published on 30 Nov 2009 by P. F. Gibbins

versus
82 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ALL THAT GLITTERS IS NOT GOLD
I believe 8 (now 9) straight 5-star reviews must be some kind of record. But as AmazonUK kindly allows anyone to look at readers' previous reviews it appears this is the first book most of them have reviewed. So when one reads "the best art book ever" the most helpful advice one can give to those who are wavering as to spending so much money on a massive folio which...
Published on 15 Jun 2010 by W. BUTLER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 30 Nov 2009
By 
P. F. Gibbins (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
The most definitive catalogue of the works of Caravaggio. This enormous book brings the works as close as possible without seeing the originals. Sumptuously produced and brilliantly organised it is a work of total dedication which takes the breath away with the turning of each lavish page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Without question the best purchase I have made from AMAZON. It is also noteworthy that the price is well below that asked by the original publishers. Outstanding quality and value for money.Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book!, 11 Dec 2009
By 
Peter Mason (Manassas, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
This is a wonderfully illustrated publication of one of the major painters of the whole art hystory. Although the book is meant for all the readers, the text is very accurate. The author is an extremely qualified expert of the 17th century who describes very authoritatively what is known about Caravaggio. The figures are impressive: I often had the feeling that I was touching the paintings. I couldn't find any defect. Moreover, the price is very reasonable for the quality of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ALL THAT GLITTERS IS NOT GOLD, 15 Jun 2010
By 
W. BUTLER "lost in las vegas" (NEVADA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
I believe 8 (now 9) straight 5-star reviews must be some kind of record. But as AmazonUK kindly allows anyone to look at readers' previous reviews it appears this is the first book most of them have reviewed. So when one reads "the best art book ever" the most helpful advice one can give to those who are wavering as to spending so much money on a massive folio which will inevitably end up in a cupboard under the stairs is to switch over to the reviews of this same opus on AmazonUSA.

There you will find what became a very heated serious debate about the merits of this volume. Started off by an art expert using the words "Too Dark". What amounted to a fist fight then broke out between those who agreed with him and an earlier reviewer who said every one of these reproductions was impeccable. Wanting to get at the truth I eventually managed to inspect this monster in a Santa Monica bookshop and its limitations were all too clear. The naysayers were right. Firstly this book too heavy to handle. Then after a sheaf of huge heads (to trap the non-art educated into believing Caravaggio was the baroque eqivalent of Raphael) one gets page after page of black ink obscuring small details which other Caravaggio books show were an integral part of his compositions.

Printing reproductions at a huge scale is beyond the capabilities of "mass-production" printing presses. Despite which Taschen insist on coming out with "eye-candy" volumes every year to cater to those looking for an impressive expensive Christmas gift. In the same bookshop in 2007 there was a 4-foot high pile of gold paint behind which lay that year's offering devoted to "Klimt". Naturally one wondered must I now replace my 2 excellent Abrams books? Luckily refrained, to later read an erudite Amazon reviewer's critique of this flashy gold-plated Taschen biggie titled "Poor in Every Way".

Rather than giving a long lecture I'll upload Italian postcards and artbook reproductions going back 50 years. They say comparisons are odious but in this case it's the only way to explain what's fundamentally wrong with this book. I hope those who already own it can discover for themselves Taschen's innacurate digital images have dealt Caravaggio an unforgivable opportunistic disservice on his 400th anniversary - in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sumptuous art book, 26 Jan 2010
By 
jomutheone "bibliophile10" (Greystones, Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
As a catalogue of Caravaggio's works this is exceptional. The paintings are beautifully rendered on the page and while it is not the same as seeing the original in situ, in some ways it is better as one could not possibly get near enough to the original paintings to discern the details, all practicalities of travel aside. It is like having a personal Caravaggio art collection at the fingertips that can be explored at leisure. It is a luxury purchase but the quality of the reproductions justifies the outlay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on caravaggio money can buy., 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Amazing high quality fold out pictures of all of his work. Obviously this is not a biographical account of his life so look elsewhere if that's what you're after. The main problem you will find is storing this mammoth tome as it will dwarf most bookcases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understandably expensive, 13 Jan 2010
By 
J. E. T. Taylor "FazerJett" (Sutton, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
We bought this book as a Christmas present for my wife's brother, and he is absolutely delighted with it. Everything about the book oozes class and quality. We had some idea of what to expect after looking at the publisher's website, but this could do no justice to such a masterful labour of love. There may be highly knowledgable art expects that could pick holes in things, but I somehow doubt it. Something to treasure for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best book you will ever buy!, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. R. G. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
I received this book for Christmas and I have to say it is simply remarkable. Remarkably well written. Remarkably lavish quality. Remarkably well produced close ups of Merisi's finest works (you can see the brush strokes - it's like having the painting in front of you!) and remarkably large, this is a truly awesome book. If you have pondered whether or not to spend the money, do. You simply won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the most beautiful book, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
I cannot recommend this beautiful book enough .Its simply breathtaking .the book is something to treasured lifelong .Whilst it is considerable amount to invest in a book ,it's simply one of the most spectacular books I have ever seen .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trevor Jota 120, 3 Feb 2010
By 
T. Pirt (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings (Hardcover)
Just received it today. The quality of this book, like others said before, is outstanding. Its a bit expensive, but very good quality for money. Caravaggio is one of my major(#1?)inspirations. This book gives me the details I can only see at the museum, like London. I have several other books on Caravaggio, some very dumb, others quality printing issues. Sabastians history gets round many issues for me that did not make sense, but I've not read all of it yet.
What an inspiration! Oh, and for many of us maybe not religious(C) devout: just like today, they had to have a sponsor for his work, I do not know his thoughts, but my god is it brilliant! Great work Sabastian and all at Taschen. Recognised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings
Caravaggio: The Complete Paintings by Sebastian Schutze (Hardcover - 5 Nov 2009)
99.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews