Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a picture book!, 15 Jun 2008
By 
Mrs. J. K. Aundrews (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
This has tobe the best book about orangutans ever written. Please don't just look at the amazing photos (some of them will break your heart), but read the text - every word - it will for ever change your perception of these wonderful apes. As it says in the foreword, orangutans are too good for this world. It's up to us to make sure they always remain a part of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on orangutans, 13 Jun 2008
By 
Sean R. Whyte (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
An outstanding book with more superb photos than any other
on this subject. Besides the photos it's coverage of related issues is the most comprehensive you will ever read; thankfully the whole book is written in a journalistic rather than scientific style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply moving, upsetting, wonderful!, 20 Oct 2008
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
This incredible book touches heart and mind and reveals insight into our fellow creatures - the orangutans - a knowledge hitherto concealed or only communicated in a biased way. The author, Gerd Schuster, known for highly sensitive articles covering the entire spectrum of "human being - environment - animal" has mastered the art of giving an emphatic account of life, behaviour and fate of these wonderful animals and presenting all this to the reader - together with for the most part unknown facts, touching and presenting every aspect in total context. He certainly does not miss out on all the facts which form a threat for the life of orangutans: economical and political interests, exploitation of nature, human ignorance and greed .... however, he also offers ways out... All this, in symbiosis with those incredible and stunning photos of Jay Ullal has a lasting effect which keeps readers and beholders captivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinkers of the Jungle, 13 Jun 2008
By 
J. Elford "Jeanie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
A wonderful and poignant book that stays in the mind long after you put it down. Harsh realities and heartbreaking truths are disclosed as the authors refuse to shy away from exposing the cruelties orangutans suffer at human hands. The stunning photos also prove that researchers have only just begun to scratch the surface when it comes to unravelling the complex character of this incredibly intelligent and gentle great ape as it fights for survival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From a thinker in cement-land, 10 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
This book is very moving and at times difficult to read, in fact I am still partway through the "scarey zone" also known as the "logging zone" and one can only be moved for such seemingly helpless mammals. We now in the household have banned all products relating to the palm olive growing. It is one of those books that makes one wonder at the life we have on the planet, that we as humans congest, consume and thoughtlessly monopolise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on Orangutans!, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
This is a must-read for anyone interested in learning more about Orangutans, it is packed full of information on all different subjects about orangutans and includes lovely colourful photographs on nearly every page. It also includes lots of information on The Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation (BOS) - who were in Orangutan Diary, as well as some of the book written by the founder of BOS. I had previously read the WWF book Orangutans: Behaviour, Ecology and Conservation which I enjoyed but I much prefered this book and the way it was written. It includes fasinating chapers on Orangutan behaviour and how similar they are to humans - 97% the same! There are also stories about the lives of specific orangutans and some of the amazing things that they have done as well as stories about some of the orangutans rescued by BOS including photographs of an orangutans swimming which has never before been photographed and never before been seen in the wild. If you enjoyed the Orangutan Diaries series then this book is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my personal Hero, 18 July 2010
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
This book has the most fascinating photography. It is so well done that you not only learn about orangutans and their habitat but after few pages you fall in love with them. It also shows the reality they are enduring, victims of deforestation, poachers, logging con-sessions, abusive human beings, pet traders and so many other not kind people. their survival is on stake, but thanks to people like Willie Smits and his brillaint mind and actions they have hope and a lot of love, take atour with this book through the heart of Borneo, the heart and mind of an orangutan and the heart of Willie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shocking book that still makes you laugh, 18 Jan 2009
By 
K. Kother (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
A book that everyone should read. It really makes you sad how we humans are destroying this planet and killing our fellow creatures, but still the book also portrays a beautiful picture about our cousin in the jungle. This book really reveals the truth and shows the tragedy we are creating, but at the same tells a story that gives some hope. If everyone knew about the tragedy in Borneo and how an intelligent animal the orangutan really is the destruction would stop right away. The book really will open your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book., 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
Recommended reading for anybody with an interest in protection of our environment and an abhorrence of the damage that faux green policies are doing to the world.

Note that I initially, and in haste, made an adverse comment about the supplier for late delivery. However, I later found that the fault was with teh postal company, not the supplier. My adverse comment is therefore withdrawn.

The book is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read this, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinkers of the Jungle (Hardcover)
An eye opening book that gives you some insight in the horrors these amazing animals face these days.
I hope one day I will see them in their natural habitat (which is lost at mind blowing speed to deforestation and palm oil plantations..)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thinkers of the Jungle
Thinkers of the Jungle by Willie Smits (Hardcover - 29 April 2008)
Used & New from: 4.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews