Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime volume of once in a lifetime photographs
I read about Jimmy Nelson on the Telegraph website. His new volume of images being released in a book called ' Before they Pass Away' caught my attention. Travel and Portraiture is my passion in photography and Jimmy nelson is one of the best. Bargain price aside, this is an absolute treat. If you love high level wonderful portrait photography, then buy it. If you know...
Published 6 months ago by Ollie Govett

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars French Dust Cover
May I start this review by declaring an interest and stating that I work for Amazon. I have seen many hundreds of these books go out of the door and thought it would make a great Birthday present for my Dad. It would have done so if he could speak French but unfortunately he can't. The book is absolutely fantastic and in my opinion well worth the money but I'm very...
Published 2 months ago by Moonchester


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
totally stunning work, book is great its massive, the book has an amazing quality, would recommend every looks at this amazing peace of photo journalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of pure art, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
OMG! This book is massive! I did not realise how huge it would be but I absolutely love it and hope my mother will too (Christmas present). It is one of those books you will keep forever and your grand-kids will always want to get out when they pop round. Beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for armchair anthropologists, 24 Nov 2013
By 
barbara frames (ALBUQUERQUE, NM, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. Gorgeous photos of people whose culture probably will no longer exist in a few decades or sooner. For anyone who has any interest in anthropology, this is a must-have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic book, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
Amazing pictures of people and places you only know about after looking through this classic book.I would recommend to everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as nice as I hoped for, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
After seeing Jimmy Nelson on Dutch television I knew I wanted to own this book.
It's everything I hoped it would be, very nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
Beautiful pictures, good description – the only problem is the 3 language, which make the book heavy  - I only need English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Ginny (Martha's Vineyard) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
This books is absolutely stunning. I haven't had a chance to go through it carefully as yet but having majored at university in Cultural Anthropology and having grown up around a group of University professors who where Anthropologists (and who had done field work all over the world in the 1930's to 1970's) I am somewhat acquainted with the necessity to record the details of indigenous lives "before they pass away." This is a lovely but tragic book; like photographs of the polar glaciers...melting away before our very eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, bad condition, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Z Decheva (Sofia, Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
The book is great and I was so excited to have it, but I received it in bad condition, it is not well glued on the side and edges are not quite well, unfortunately. I expected quality.
Apart from that I also found some of the photos staged, which was a bit annoying, as one would expect naturality on first place here. More information for each tribe was also something I expected was a default part from such book. I found the amount of information quite insufficient to help me dive into the story and lives of these people, which was my intended goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great archive, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
it may take a couple of months to finish this book.
photos are large enough to check details of tribes.
i recommend this to all human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before they pass away, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before They Pass Away (Hardcover)
This book is a book of a lifetime,the photographs are magical. I look at it everyday and it never ceases to amaze me
Thankyou
Margaret
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Before They Pass Away
Before They Pass Away by Jimmy Nelson (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2013)
70.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews