Customer Reviews
USA


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace - buy it
The Lonely Planet guides are always, I find, so reliable. (This being said, I've only bought them USA destinations.) Now that I'm planning a four week road trip next year, I had to buy this.

Each state has it's own guide, with the typical list of recommended sites, places to eat and of course accommodation for varied budgets.

There's a hand full of...
Published on 1 Mar 2009 by Russtafarian

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive but irritating style
I've used Lonely Planet guides for years and been very impressed by the detail and accuracy. This book certainly has these but I am annoyed by the writing in many of the newest Lonely Planets. Informality is fine, but they are now using more and more teen-speak and flippancy; 'cool' 'vibe' ' most happening' etc. and seeming worried if a destination doesn't fit those...
Published on 9 Mar 2011 by hardtruth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, easy to read, 29 Sep 2010
this is a great book for anyone wanting to know more about the states or visitors. easy to read as it has a contents in the front with the different states divided into chapters. if you want to visit certain places then just read the parts for you. full of information on almost every town in America this book is good for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. A. Zivic "zivvy" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Any big trips need a lonely planet and this one was a bargain, do yourself a favour!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good as usual, 9 Aug 2009
By 
M. Bagarella (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
as always with lonely planet, it's a very practical guide, even if (of course, otherwise it would be thousands of pages) information is more concise that on guides dedicated to a specific region
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely planet guide USA, 4 Jan 2012
By 
S. Staincliffe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Product arrived very quickly and it was at a great price. It has already been well used by my son. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 20 July 2011
By 
S. L. Mccormick "sesmac" (colchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have used lonely planet guides before when travelling and found them very useful. This is a present but the maps, especially the pull out road map, are very good. it gives great detail, honest reveiws and very handy places to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really great book, 3 Mar 2011
Like all lonely planets, a good detailed overview of all the places you'll want to go to... thorough, including a littel history behond each area, details on where to sleep/ eat/ visit. i'd reccomend this to anyone who wants to travel anywhere in the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything is bigger in the U S of A, 12 April 2010
Well, this is the thickest LP book I have ever had. Such a comprehensive review it's hard to know where to start!

Crossing USA over 6 weeks on a road trip in June so this will be a vital companion. May have to cut out the sections for states we won't be visiting or leave behind some clothes to make room for this tome!

Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loney Planet Guide, 6 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what I expected. My fault! it is a very good guide to America, and has loads of fascinating and very useful information, very helpful if you are going to tour America. However, I bought it for use in the classroom, not so good, in fact pretty useless, but as I said that is my fault!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

USA
USA by Sara Benson (Perfect Paperback - Aug 2010)
Used & New from: £38.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews