Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just missing the right amount of detail
Bought this before a recent trip to Lake Garda. There are 2 elements to this package - the book and the pull out map. I'll deal with the map first.

On paper, the map looks good. Nice size, fold up and comes with a plastic wallet attached to the back cover of the book. If you are travelling in daytime by rail, boat or train, it's fine. When you are travelling by...
Published on 11 Oct. 2012 by Warren Bowman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless
This book contains very little useful information, the only handy thing was the map. I did not want to carry the Rough Guide around since I only wanted Corfu, but this was a waste of money. All the information was very cursory. None of the detail I would have expected.
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by Jago


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just missing the right amount of detail, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this before a recent trip to Lake Garda. There are 2 elements to this package - the book and the pull out map. I'll deal with the map first.

On paper, the map looks good. Nice size, fold up and comes with a plastic wallet attached to the back cover of the book. If you are travelling in daytime by rail, boat or train, it's fine. When you are travelling by car in the dark trying to make sense of random road signs, it is not the best. The main toll road is shown as a prawn coloured line on an orange background. Not easy to pick out under a 3 watt bulb. I bought a map in Gardone for 4 Euros which was much better.

The book itself was good. Insider Tips were in the main well drawn, however I was disappointed with one which stated a back street restaurant was well visited by locals for its pizzas. We went there, were served up a big cheesy affair which was fairly average, and watched other diners tucking into the biggest steaks I had seen in years. Bit of disinformation there.

However, some tips were really useful, like what time to hit the cable car for Monte Baldo, and which ferries went where. The book travelled with us wherever we went and added to the holiday.

I did spot the same book without the inclusion of the map selling for 12 Euros (£10+) in the same tourist shop I bought the map. At under a fiver on Amazon, much better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thailand Marco Polo Guide Book, 19 April 2012
The all new Marco Polo Guide books represent excellent value for money.

140 pages with full colour throughout and a pull-out map.

The Thailand book starts with 15 top insider tips as suggested by the Marco Polo team. There is then a section on the "best of" including great places for free.

This is followed by a comprehensive introduction to Thailand, food and drink, shopping, suggestions for touring and much more.
The book then has details on each area of the country, the East Coast including Pattaya, Central Thailand, The North, North East and The South of the country.
The Marco Polo Guide to Thailand will help you plan a fantastic holiday with key information for all travellers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some books are great for planning a trip but this one is also useful to take with you, 17 April 2012
This guide is really useful. Not only does it gives you a full overview of the country, it's history and detail about all the different regions and areas, as you would expect from a guide book, but it also features a layout that actually makes it easy and useful to reference while you're out and about. Such as;
* a load of bullet pointed lists at the front to give you a quick guide of the highlights in various categories. There are page number references for where these highlights are explained in more detail if you want to find out more
* a list of "Dos and Don'ts" at the back.
* Travel tips
* a recommended route to explore the country
* an extensive collection of maps, including a pull out road atlas.

In the more detailed section of the book, each region/area is broken down into sections such as "where to stay" "food and drink" and "sightseeing". All these features make it a really easy read and great to glance at /reference while you're actually away to remind yourself of where to go etc, as well as when you're planning the trip. It's also compact enough to carry around with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Travel Guide, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malta & Gozo Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I recently recieved my copy of Malta Marco Polo Guide before i travel to Malta in a few weeks and the guide looks very good and one of the best travel guides i have picked up and i would definatley recomend this. it is recently published so all up to date. well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel guide, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good value purchase. Well presented book and is nicely illustrated. The enclosed fold away map and plastic wallet are particularly useful. Contains useful information relevant to this particular area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Mark G (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malta & Gozo Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I found this a really useful guide and would look out for Marco Polo again when going somewhere new. Without this guide I wouldn't have known about the Hypogeum and the need to pre-book it as they can only allow 80 people in per day. It was well worth seeing and just this made it worth having the guide. I drove to Gozo and the guide took me to some fascinating places. I would totally recommend it. I also bout the Insight flexi map which I would recommend too as it also got a lot of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains very little useful information, the only handy thing was the map. I did not want to carry the Rough Guide around since I only wanted Corfu, but this was a waste of money. All the information was very cursory. None of the detail I would have expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malta Guide, 3 May 2013
By 
A. P. Sanders (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malta & Gozo Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Very comprehensive guide to lovely Malta. Used it a great deal whilst on holiday & would recommend it for travellers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good travel guide, well laid out, easy to use - would recommend if you are travelling to Lake Garda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little guidebook, 11 Mar. 2013
This great little guidebook has everything you need for a holiday to Thailand. It's small, lightweight and in full colour. It also has free maps and it can be carried around - in a guys' day pack or a handbag. It can be taken out with ease and is easier on the wrists compared to the more traditional guidebooks. Having used Lonely planet and Rough guide for years it is quite refreshing to find different sections,chapters and tips such as 'free things to do' or 'when it's raining'. A little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Malta & Gozo Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Travel Guides)
Malta & Gozo Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Travel Guides) by Marco Polo (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2012)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews