Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just missing the right amount of detail
Bought this before a recent trip to Lake Garda. There are 2 elements to this package - the book and the pull out map. I'll deal with the map first.

On paper, the map looks good. Nice size, fold up and comes with a plastic wallet attached to the back cover of the book. If you are travelling in daytime by rail, boat or train, it's fine. When you are travelling by...
Published on 11 Oct 2012 by Warren Bowman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my kind of guide book
This was one of the few guides specifically about Lake Garda so it seemed like a good idea. However its style is not for me. It seems to me superficial and its style is gushing and simplistic. The joke about Lido della Bionde not being only for blondes is really not funny enough to be included twice.To be told that a certain trip is very popular and that 'on some days,...
Published 5 months ago by Caroline


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just missing the right amount of detail, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Bought this before a recent trip to Lake Garda. There are 2 elements to this package - the book and the pull out map. I'll deal with the map first.

On paper, the map looks good. Nice size, fold up and comes with a plastic wallet attached to the back cover of the book. If you are travelling in daytime by rail, boat or train, it's fine. When you are travelling by car in the dark trying to make sense of random road signs, it is not the best. The main toll road is shown as a prawn coloured line on an orange background. Not easy to pick out under a 3 watt bulb. I bought a map in Gardone for 4 Euros which was much better.

The book itself was good. Insider Tips were in the main well drawn, however I was disappointed with one which stated a back street restaurant was well visited by locals for its pizzas. We went there, were served up a big cheesy affair which was fairly average, and watched other diners tucking into the biggest steaks I had seen in years. Bit of disinformation there.

However, some tips were really useful, like what time to hit the cable car for Monte Baldo, and which ferries went where. The book travelled with us wherever we went and added to the holiday.

I did spot the same book without the inclusion of the map selling for 12 Euros (£10+) in the same tourist shop I bought the map. At under a fiver on Amazon, much better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel guide, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
A good value purchase. Well presented book and is nicely illustrated. The enclosed fold away map and plastic wallet are particularly useful. Contains useful information relevant to this particular area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
A good travel guide, well laid out, easy to use - would recommend if you are travelling to Lake Garda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little guide, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Perfect for first timers to the area like we were - easy to flick through and find great and useful information - not aimed at just those with buckets of money looking for places to spend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my kind of guide book, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This was one of the few guides specifically about Lake Garda so it seemed like a good idea. However its style is not for me. It seems to me superficial and its style is gushing and simplistic. The joke about Lido della Bionde not being only for blondes is really not funny enough to be included twice.To be told that a certain trip is very popular and that 'on some days, (one can) expect to queue for hours!' is not very helpful. On what days? When can I expect not to queue for hours? A church apparently 'considered the finest Baroque church in Trentino' merits 2 short sentences. Do I need to be told that a 10km trip is 'shortish'? Duh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marco Polo Guide Book - Lake Garda, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent book, was very useful guide whilst in Lake Garda ITALY.

With plenty of detail on the italian Lakes region.

Would recommend!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant holiday companion, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
We used this every day of our holiday and found the tips really useful. Insider tips were really good, e.g. where to find best ice cream and go early if you are going up Monte Baldo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lake Garda is gorgeous and this guide was instrumental in ..., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Lake Garda is gorgeous and this guide was instrumental in making our first visit a success. On the shelf read for next time. Ta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ready to Go!, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this prior to holiday. Great overview, full of tips and recommendations. Ideal to bone up on the area prior to a weeks holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!, 9 May 2014
By 
Mr. R. Wilkinson (Lisburn, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I wanted a compact travel guide for our 7 day holiday to Lake Garda. Most travel guides covered all the Italian Lakes, were too bulky, and did not give sufficient information on Lake Garda.

One of the best travel guides I've ever bought. Unfortunately, postage cost me almost as much as the guide. I could have avoided this by buying at my local Waterstones.

The book itself is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lake Garda Marco Polo Guide (Marco Polo Guides) (Marco Polo Travel Guides)
£5.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews