Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars xoom - does exactly what it says on the tin- with help!
just a quick note. this program does indeed not allow you to transfer copy protected dvds to your psp - kind of pointless therfore you might think. However there's a way round. There's a nifty little program called "AnyDVD" (search in google) that basically sits in the background and completely disables the copy protection of any dvd inserted into your computer. This...
Published on 27 Sep 2005

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling software
It converts the visual movie fine but the sound quality of the end result is shocking. Do not buy this product but instead spend your money on 'PSP Movie Creator' or 'PSP Video 9' as its free and does the job!
Published on 16 Feb 2006 by Muzz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars xoom - does exactly what it says on the tin- with help!, 27 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
just a quick note. this program does indeed not allow you to transfer copy protected dvds to your psp - kind of pointless therfore you might think. However there's a way round. There's a nifty little program called "AnyDVD" (search in google) that basically sits in the background and completely disables the copy protection of any dvd inserted into your computer. This makes it look to Xoom like you've put in a completely non copy-protected dvd and hey presto, its on your PSP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 120 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Product Works, 2 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
This product does what it says. I have a 1GB memory stick and 4 feature films of good quality on it and as I spend a major amount of time on airplanes and I want to watch my choices of viewing, this has become a superb addition to my PSP. The other reviews about technical difficulty and getting out of sync voice to the picture are things that I cannot duplicate and this product only got 4 out of 5 due to the fact that it can't do protected DVDs. What did I learn?
1. It doesn't break copyright protected DVDs, so you will have to decrypt the DVD first (Google for this software and you are all set)
2. Your machine needs to have ample capacity on the hard drive for the decrypted files so that you can put them into a PSP format of the movie.
3. Don't try to go straight to the PSP, put it onto your hard drive first.
4. For the best visibiliity on the PSP screen for different formats of widescreen use the 'Best Quality - Zoom [1300kbps]' setting as this allows you to choose the screen size when playing back on the PSP and there is no real difference in visible quality with the full frame option which you cannot change while playing back.
5. Don't be fooled that this is a quick process. Any DVD will take a while to convert and if you choose the wrong settings, you will have to redo the process, however it works and now I have got used to it, I have no complaints or regrets.
The product works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling software, 16 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
It converts the visual movie fine but the sound quality of the end result is shocking. Do not buy this product but instead spend your money on 'PSP Movie Creator' or 'PSP Video 9' as its free and does the job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Realistic expectations, 17 Mar 2006
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
BR>I found this to be a cheap and very easy to use product. Sure, it takes more than the length of the movie to transfer and the sound level is low but neither are big enough downsides to distract from the ability to view every DVD you own on your PSP. I stand to be corrected, but I'm not sure the freeware versions have the direct transfer facility, which saves you using up hardrive space.
When you've installed the programme YOU ABSOLUTELY NEED TO DOWNLOAD THE mcldcrypt.exe FILE - Stick the file name in Google and you're away, otherwise Copy Protection (on just about every DVD) will stop you dead, and then it has been a waste of money.
Be realistic - plug your PSP in, click copy, walk away and let it get on with it. Watch the movie, keep it or delete it and do it all over again....just needs a bit of forward planning!! To give you a guide I've got a 1gb stick and can fit 2 90+min movies on it.
The saving in not having to rebuy your existing DVD library in UMD format makes up for the load-time and sound downsides so in short, for 20quid it's worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does the job, 1 Mar 2006
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
I have used other software that convert video files to your PSP (3GP Converte & pspvideo) but x-oom has to be the easiest. It's ideal for beginners/casual users, the menu is very easy to navigate and the great thing about this software is, it can convert just about any video file you might have on your PC including quicktime files...now with other "free" software apps out there you have to fiddle with the settings or download other apps just to convert a quiktime video.
Also with other "free" applications you can't just pop-in a DVD and click convert...again you have to rip the DVD and use about two or three other software apps to convert the DVD to your PSP...now with x-oom movies on psp, you only need to click convert and it will convert your DVD straight to your PSP, no messing around on google looking for other apps.
I converted a 80min DVD in under 40 minutes (AMD XP 3000+ &1GB RAM)so if you find the software a bit slow, you might want to upgrade your RAM...if you mainly convert 30min vido files then it shouldn't take no longer than 15-20min
The only bad thing is that you can't convert copy protected DVD's everything else works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in All - Good Product - However...., 11 Jan 2006
By 
Carter (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
Okay, I think, with the amount of reviews telling us, that most have established there is a slight problem with the copyright encryption (something that can be sorted in 2 minutes). But apart from that, it really is a good product. Does what it says on the box, and, contrary to what others say about you being able to do for free, putting a file on your psp using this software is great, and REALLY easy. You just select the target size you want the file to be down-sized to, and hey-presto, there you have it (albeit, an hour or so later). The reason I have not given it five stars is the update. DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE UPDATE. Once installed, you lose the option to choose what sound format you use, and as the PSP is Stero, 2 channels gives a very good listening experience. After the update, you cannot choose this option, and the sound format put on the psp is default, and because most dvd's defaults are now surround sound, 6 chanells, when the movie is played back on the stereo psp,it sounds terrible, like a pre-release pirate dvd. The orignal software thats installed is fine, and there is no need for an update. So, all in all, a great product, just do not download the update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Movies On PSP, 16 Aug 2005
By 
Christopher Barbour "Chris (CJBTIGER)" (Omagh (Northern Ireland)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
i bought this software for converting my dvd collection to my new psp!! i could not wait to see what this software could do. Little did i know that when i went to convert my first dvd it would not let me because the dvd was copy protected!!! it does not say anywhere on the packaging that it cannot copy dvds that you would buy in the shop, this software can only convert home made dvds.
I found a way around the copy protection i used slysoft any dvd and had it running in the background and then tried it again, this took away the copy protection for me letting me use this software to convert any dvd i want!! you could try this to
the software is quite good once you get round the copy protection, there is nothing more annoying than spending money on software to find that it does not do the job that it is intended to!!
all in all it is good enough software once you get around the copy protection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't install and support won't answer my email, 18 Dec 2006
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
I bought a copy of Photos on PSP and it won't install onto my computer. Then I can't find the product on the X-oom website support page and support won't respond to any of my emails or answer my questions.

A total waste of $[...]!

Like someone else wrote, a good idea but...

Don't waste you time with X-oom products when there are so many quality products to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple Program, 29 Aug 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
This program is relatively simple to use and quick to configure. However it will NOT copy off the shelf movies and DVDs. For legal reasons it is impossible for them to include the necessary file on the disc. They do however tell you the name of the file you need. A simple google for it should provide several sources for download.
Once downloaded the software is perfectly capable of what it claims. Be aware though that high quality copies, or full movies, will take a long time to convert. Obviously having a decent PC will help a bit too. I found a 2hr movie took around 1hr to convert at high quality on my PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy!, 19 Aug 2005
This review is from: X-oom Movies on PSP (CD-ROM)
All of the features of this product are avaliable for free if you are willing to put in a small amount of effort. Even the UK's official PSP magazine reccomends the use offree software to do the task. The freeware may be a little less user friendly, but the amount of guides for it and the saving involved far outweighs this. Do an internet search for "DVDshrink" and "3GP converter".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-oom Movies on PSP
X-oom Movies on PSP by X-oom (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / XP)
Used & New from: £4.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews